Bryan Cheng Plays Saint-Saëns

with the NAC Orchestra

2023-04-19 20:00 2023-04-20 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Bryan Cheng Plays Saint-Saëns

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30527

In-person event

This concert is made possible in part through the generous support of the Friends of the NAC Orchestra's Kilpatrick Fund. Ottawa’s own international award-winning (2nd Prize and Audience Prize, 2021 Geneva International Music Competition) cellist Bryan Cheng made his Carnegie Hall debut at 14 and has been captivating audiences with his vibrant musicality ever since. Under the baton of guest conductor Yan Pascal Tortelier, Cheng and the NAC Orchestra perform Saint-Saëns’s...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
April 19 - 20, 2023

≈ 1 hour and 30 minutes · With intermission

Our programs have gone digital.

Scan the QR code at the venue's entrance to read the program notes before the show begins.

Program

Last updated: April 17, 2023

LOUISE FARRENC Overture No. 2 in E-flat major, Op. 24 (7 min)

CAMILLE SAINT-SAËNS Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33 (19 min)
Allegro non troppo – Allegretto con moto – Tempo primo

INTERMISSION

CÉSAR FRANCK Symphony in D minor (41 min)
I. Lento – Allegro non troppo
II. Allegretto
III. Allegro non troppo

Repertoire

LOUISE FARRENC

Overture No. 2 in E-flat major, Op. 24

Louise Farrenc (1804–75) emerged as a French composer of note at a time when musicians of her gender were more often performers rather than writers of music. Her reputation was primarily established on her chamber music, for which she was hailed regularly in the French musical press, praised by composers such as Robert Schumann, Franz Liszt, and Johannes Brahms, and awarded prestigious prizes. In 1842, she became professor of piano at the Paris Conservatoire, a position she retained until 1873; as music scholar Bea Friedland has noted, Farrenc was the only woman musician in the 19th century to hold a permanent chair of this rank and importance.

In opera and salon music-obsessed 19th century Paris, Farrenc dared to defy prevailing musical fashion by venturing to compose for orchestra. In 1834, she completed two overtures, and during the 1840s, three symphonies, all of which received multiple performances in Paris, as well as presentations in Copenhagen, Brussels, and Geneva. However, she did not write more orchestral works than these, likely due to limited support for symphonic music within her cultural milieu and societal expectations for her gender. Since her lifetime, even the pieces she had written have been mostly absent from the performance repertory of orchestras, until recently.

From first hearing, Farrenc’s second overture in E-flat major makes a strong case for her merits as a composer for orchestra. It progresses in the standard concert overture structure: a slow, rather majestic introduction, followed by a fast and energetic sonata form, with the main sections of exposition (featuring two main themes—one light and rigorous, the other smooth and lyrical), development, and recapitulation. While it is an “abstract” work (that is, not conveying any kind of extra-musical subject, like a story or image), there’s certainly a great sense of drama throughout, reminiscent of grand opera overtures that set the tone for the action to come. Farrenc’s gift for orchestration is also evident, with the varied timbres of the ensemble’s instruments employed to brilliant effect, demanding technical virtuosity (such as in the work’s many quicksilver passages) and musical finesse from all players. Indeed, no less a figure than Hector Berlioz, whose landmark Symphonie fantastique premiered only four years before, commended Farrenc’s talents as an orchestrator in this overture.

CAMILLE SAINT-SAËNS

Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33

Allegro non troppo – Allegretto con moto – Tempo primo

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835–1921) composed his Cello Concerto No. 1 in 1872 for the eminent Belgian cellist Auguste Tolbecque, who performed the premiere at a Paris Conservatoire concert in January 1873. Since then, it has attained significant status within the cello repertoire, alongside the earlier cello concertos of Joseph Haydn and Robert Schumann, and the later ones by Edward Elgar and Antonín Dvořák. Long admired by many composers, it also remains one of the French composer’s most popular works with concert hall audiences. Its appeal, along with much of Saint-Saëns’s music, is well summed up by the French writer Romain Rolland, who penned in 1908, “[H]is music strikes us by its calm, its tranquil harmonies, its velvety modulations, its crystal clearness, its smooth and flowing style, and an elegance that cannot be put into words.” Furthermore, this distinctive “neoclassicism” is fused with a dramatic sense of narrative, aspects in this work that make it especially compelling emotionally.

Saint-Saëns eschewed the typical three-movement concerto form for something that unfolds more organically—a single movement in three parts, in which the musical material of the first section returns and is developed in the third. (He was likely influenced by composers like Robert Schumann and Franz Liszt who were experimenting with cyclic forms.) Overall, the work is characterized by a certain lyrical freedom, which shows off the cello’s capacity to be an instrument for virtuosic display as well as spotlighting its sonorous tone. Used subtly and delicately, the orchestra is in dynamic interaction with the soloist throughout.

A powerful shock of a chord from the orchestra opens this Concerto, to which the soloist immediately responds with the main theme—a cascade of notes ending in a bold gesture that’s echoed in the low register. After a rhapsodic moment, the theme is picked up by the woodwinds and then the violins. It’s developed urgently by the cello, eventually reaching a passionate yearning melody. The cascading first theme returns, which prompts a virtuosic episode for the cello. Further dialogue between strings and woodwinds on the main theme with fragmented phrases in the cello takes the orchestra to a climax, after which the soloist emerges singing the yearning second theme.

Lingering in reverie, the cello brings us to the concerto’s middle section: a rather prim little minuet introduced by muted strings. It has an otherworldly effect, as if a hazy flashback to the dance’s 18th-century courtly origins. The cello enters initially alone with the first notes of a gentle countermelody, then carries on hovering over the strings as they repeat the minuet. Its song intensifies, reaching a suspended peak; a short cadenza of a rapid chromatic descent ends on a trill, over which the minuet is reprised by the woodwinds. Cello then spins out lyrical phrases, reaches an ardent peak, and subsides, somewhat resigned. Like a tender remembrance, it sings alone in its low register the notes of the countermelody…

…and in its dissolution, the oboe creeps in with the return of the concerto’s opening theme. The cello picks it up, driven and determined, but it soon gives way to a poignant new theme of heartfelt melancholy. Thereafter, the music alternates between fiercely virtuosic music (listen for a sequence of daring bravura passages for the cello), and warm melodies exploiting the resonant depths of the instrument’s range. Eventually, we return to the melancholy theme, which has now taken on a new intensity. At the climax, the orchestra jumps in aggressively with the first theme, which leads into the brisk coda. The mode turns to bright major when the cello re-enters, waxing lyrically until its final flourish, and the orchestra drives to an enthusiastic finish.

CÉSAR FRANCK

Symphony in D minor

I. Lento – Allegro non troppo
II. Allegretto
III. Allegro non troppo

In 1871, Camille Saint-Saëns founded the Société Nationale de Musique to support and perform the music of living French composers. In 1886, he reluctantly resigned from it, as the organization became divided on the future aesthetic direction of French music—between the more “conservative” composers who endorsed the classical values of the music of Mozart and Beethoven (and with whom Saint-Saëns sided), and the “progressive” composers, who favoured a more “modern” approach, inspired by Richard Wagner. The latter camp was led by César Franck (1822–90), who, in that same year, began to sketch this symphony, which he completed two years later. Although he had previously written several symphonic poems (single movement orchestral works evoking images or narratives), the Symphony in D minor was his only foray into the “abstract”, multi-movement genre. It was premiered in February 1889, at one of the Paris Conservatoire’s concert series. Although initially criticized by the conservative faction of composers and critics, the piece has since been recognized as one of the key works of the French orchestral repertoire and is regularly performed today.

Franck’s Symphony exhibits several hallmarks of his compositional style, two of which show the strong influence of Wagner. For one, there’s frequent modulation—the main themes and motifs are typically reiterated in many different keys throughout a movement—and much use of chromaticism in the melodic line and in the underlying harmonies of melodies. The result is a kind of restless quality to the music, but also a kaleidoscopic effect in terms of the shifting harmonic colours.

Another Wagnerian-inspired feature is that of thematic transformation, in which the principal themes of the symphony return in various new versions at key points throughout a movement or in later movements, thus creating a sense of organic evolution as the music progresses. In this Symphony’s slow introduction (Lento), the main motifs are presented immediately: first, a series of searching phrases climbing upward in the lower strings, then, in the violins, a smooth falling line that partly winds down chromatically, supported by evocative harmonies. They soon turn fast and forceful in the ensuing Allegro non troppo section, with the falling line energized by assertive dotted rhythms. Later in the first movement, two new themes are presented: a sweetly singing melody, and a euphoric tune. These all undergo further transformation in the other movements: for example, the melancholy English horn solo in the second movement is a subtle variant of the first movement’s opening phrases; in the same movement, the euphoric tune has its angles smoothed out into a warm melody played by the violins; and the finale opens with yet another metamorphosis of the euphoric tune, introduced by the cellos as a straight-up joyful tune, with no chromaticisms to complicate its breezy mood. Also, changes in the character of musical materials are used to dramatic effect, like the new ferocity and intensity of the reprise of the first movement’s themes, or the English horn melody acquiring a new expressive power when boldly blared by trumpets in its last return in the finale.

The second movement deserves special mention for Franck’s organic presentation of several musical elements in turn—the English horn melody, a warm theme in the violins, a “buzzing” meandering line played by muted violins, and a sweeping version of the first movement’s sweet second theme—which are then ingeniously integrated together in their recapitulation. Notably, the “buzzing” line and the melancholy English horn solo combine and venture to new keys, after which the warm and sweeping melodies become intertwined, reaching a luminous climax that gradually melts into the twilight glow of the movement’s serene conclusion. 

Finally, Franck’s distinctive orchestration in this work often references the timbres, sonorities, and effects of the organ, the instrument on which he built a considerable reputation as a gifted improviser in his position at the basilica of Sainte Clotilde in Paris’s Saint-Germain-des-Prés. Notably, he considered the organ there, built by Aristide Cavaillé-Coll, as his “orchestra”. Certain combinations of woodwind instruments sound not unlike using particular stops on the organ, and the massive crescendos evoke the opening up of the instrument’s swell box. The brass chorale in the finale, first introduced quietly and later becoming bold and confident, has undoubtedly an organ-like sonority, as do the radiant conclusions of each of the Symphony’s movements.

Program notes by Hannah Chan-Hartley, PhD

Artists

  • yan-pascal-tortelier-2-cropped
    conductor Yan Pascal Tortelier
  • cello Bryan Cheng
  • bio-orchestra
    Featuring NAC Orchestra

Credits

NAC Orchestra

First Violins
Yosuke Kawasaki (concertmaster)
Jessica Linnebach (associate concertmaster)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistant concertmaster)
Emily Kruspe
Marjolaine Lambert
Frédéric Moisan
Carissa Klopoushak
Zhengdong Liang
*Martine Dubé
*Oleg Chelpanov
*Heather Schnarr
*Marc Djokic
*Soo Gyeong Lee

Second violins
Mintje van Lier (principal)
Winston Webber (assistant principal)
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Emily Westell
Manuela Milani
Leah Roseman
Karoly Sziladi
Mark Friedman
**Edvard Skerjanc
*Andréa Armijo Fortin
*Renée London
*Sara Mastrangelo

Violas
Jethro Marks (principal)
David Marks (associate principal)
David Goldblatt (assistant principal)
David Thies-Thompson
Paul Casey
*Alexander Moroz
*Kelvin Enns

Cellos
Rachel Mercer (principal)
**Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
Timothy McCoy
*Karen Kang
*Desiree Abbey
*Daniel Parker

Double basses
Max Cardilli (assistant principal)
Vincent Gendron
Marjolaine Fournier
**Hilda Cowie
*Paul Mach
*Brandyn Lewis

Flutes
Joanna G'froerer (principal)
Stephanie Morin

Oboes
Charles Hamann (principal)
Anna Petersen
*Anna Hendrickson

English Horn
Anna Petersen

Clarinets
Kimball Sykes (principal)
Sean Rice
*Shauna Barker

Bassoons
Darren Hicks (principal)
Vincent Parizeau

Horns
Lawrence Vine (principal)
Julie Fauteux (associate principal)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron

Trumpets
Karen Donnelly (principal)
Steven van Gulik
*Michael Fedyshyn
*Charles Watson

Trombones
*Gord Wolfe (guest principal)
Colin Traquair
*David Pell

Tuba
Chris Lee (principal)

Timpani
*Aaron McDonald (guest principal)

Percussion
Jonathan Wade

Harp
*Angela Schwarzkopf

Principal Librarian
Nancy Elbeck

Assistant Librarian
Corey Rempel

Personnel Manager
Meiko Lydall

Assistant Personnel Manager
Laurie Shannon

*Additional musicians
**On leave

Bryan Cheng joue Saint-Saëns

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

2023-04-19 20:00 2023-04-20 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Bryan Cheng joue Saint-Saëns

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30527

Événement en personne

Ce concert est rendu possible en partie grâce au généreux soutien du Fonds Kilpatrick des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA. Originaire d’Ottawa, le violoncelliste Bryan Cheng, couronné sur la scène internationale (2e prix et prix du public, Concours de Genève), captive les auditeurs par sa vibrante musicalité depuis ses débuts au Carnegie Hall, à 14 ans. Sous la baguette du chef d’orchestre invité Yan...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
19 - 20 avr 2023

≈ 1 heure et 30 minutes · Avec entracte

Nos programmes sont passés au numérique.

Balayez le code QR à l’entrée de la salle pour lire les notes de programme avant le début du spectacle.

Programme

Dernière mise à jour: 17 avril 2023

LOUISE FARRENC Ouverture n2 en mi bémol majeur, op. 24 (7 min)

CAMILLE SAINT-SAËNS Concerto pour violoncelle n1 en la mineur, op. 33 (19 min)
Allegro non troppo – Allegretto con moto – Tempo primo

ENTRACTE

CÉSAR FRANCK Symphonie en ré mineur (41 min)
I. Lento – Allegro non troppo
II. Allegretto
III. Allegro non troppo

Répertoire

LOUISE FARRENC

Ouverture no 2 en mi bémol majeur, op. 24

Louise Farrenc (1804-1875) s’est imposée comme une compositrice française de premier plan à une époque où les femmes musiciennes interprétaient la musique davantage qu’elles ne l’écrivaient. Elle s’est surtout signalée par sa musique de chambre, pour laquelle elle a été régulièrement saluée par la presse musicale française, louée par des compositeurs de la trempe de Robert Schumann, Franz Liszt et Johannes Brahms, et récompensée par des prix prestigieux. En 1842, elle devient professeure de piano au Conservatoire de Paris, poste qu’elle conservera jusqu’en 1873. Comme l’a fait remarquer la musicologue Bea Friedland, Farrenc est la seule femme musicienne du XIXsiècle à occuper une chaire permanente de ce rang et de cette importance.

Dans le Paris du XIXsiècle, obsédé par l’opéra et la musique de salon, Farrenc a osé défier le goût musical dominant en se risquant à composer pour l’orchestre. En 1834, elle achève deux ouvertures et, dans les années 1840, trois symphonies, qui sont toutes jouées à plusieurs reprises à Paris, ainsi qu’à Copenhague, Bruxelles et Genève. Cependant, sa production d’œuvres pour orchestre s’est arrêtée là, probablement en raison du peu de cas qui était fait de la musique symphonique dans son milieu culturel et des attentes genrées de la société du temps. Même les quelques pièces qu’elle avait écrites pour grand ensemble sont demeurées largement absentes des programmes des concerts jusqu’à tout récemment.

Dès la première écoute, la deuxième ouverture en mi bémol majeur de Farrenc met en évidence ses mérites en tant que compositrice pour orchestre. Elle se déploie selon la structure habituelle des ouvertures de concert : une introduction lente et plutôt majestueuse, suivie d’une forme sonate rapide et énergique, avec les sections principales de l’exposition (comportant deux thèmes principaux, l’un léger et rigoureux, l’autre doux et lyrique), du développement et de la reprise. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une œuvre « abstraite » (c’est-à-dire ne véhiculant aucun sujet extra-musical, comme une histoire ou une image), l’œuvre est tout entière imprégnée d’une atmosphère dramatique, rappelant les ouvertures des grands opéras qui donnent le ton de l’action à venir. Le don de Farrenc pour l’orchestration est également manifeste, les timbres variés des instruments de l’ensemble étant utilisés avec brio, ce qui exige une virtuosité technique (comme dans les nombreux passages d’une fulgurante vivacité) et une musicalité raffinée de chaque interprète. D’ailleurs, Hector Berlioz, dont la Symphonie fantastique avait été créée quatre ans auparavant, a loué les talents de Farrenc pour l’orchestration dans cette ouverture.

CAMILLE SAINT-SAËNS

Concerto pour violoncelle no 1 en la mineur, op. 33

Allegro non troppo – Allegretto con moto – Tempo primo

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) a composé son Concerto pour violoncelle n° 1 en 1872 pour l’éminent violoncelliste belge Auguste Tolbecque, qui l’a créé lors d’un concert au Conservatoire de Paris en janvier 1873. Depuis lors, ce concerto a acquis une place importante dans le répertoire pour violoncelle, aux côtés des concertos pour violoncelle de Joseph Haydn et Robert Schumann, et de ceux, plus tardifs, d’Edward Elgar et Antonín Dvořák. Admiré depuis longtemps par de nombreux compositeurs, ce concerto reste également l’une des œuvres les plus populaires du compositeur français auprès du public des salles de concert. Son attrait, comme celui d’une grande partie de la musique de Saint-Saëns, est bien résumé par l’écrivain français Romain Rolland, qui écrivait en 1908 : « [Sa] musique frappe par son calme, ses tranquilles harmonies, ses modulations veloutées, sa pureté de cristal, son style fluide et sans heurts, je ne sais quel atticisme. » De plus, ce « néoclassicisme » distinctif est fusionné avec un sens théâtral de la narration, aspects qui, dans cette œuvre, la rendent particulièrement convaincante sur le plan émotionnel.

Saint-Saëns délaisse ici la forme conventionnelle du concerto en trois mouvements pour une construction plus organique – un seul mouvement en trois parties, dans lequel le matériau musical de la première section est repris et développé dans la troisième. (Il a probablement été influencé par des compositeurs comme Robert Schumann et Franz Liszt qui expérimentaient des formes cycliques.) Dans l’ensemble, l’œuvre se caractérise par une certaine latitude lyrique, qui met en valeur les capacités virtuoses et la sonorité caractéristique du violoncelle. Utilisé subtilement et délicatement, l’orchestre entretient un dynamique dialogue avec le soliste tout au long de la pièce.

Un puissant et saisissant accord de l’orchestre ouvre ce concerto, auquel le violoncelle répond immédiatement par le thème principal – une cascade de notes qui s’achève de manière inattendue et se répercute dans le registre grave. Après un moment rhapsodique, le thème est repris par les vents puis par les violons. Il est développé fiévreusement par le violoncelle, pour aboutir à une mélodie passionnée et ardente. Le premier thème en cascade revient, ce qui donne lieu à un épisode virtuose pour le violoncelle. Un nouveau dialogue entre les cordes et les bois sur le thème principal, avec des phrases fragmentées au violoncelle, amène l’orchestre à un point culminant, après quoi le soliste émerge en entonnant l’ardent second thème.

Flânant dans la rêverie, le violoncelle nous amène à la section centrale du concerto : un petit menuet plutôt guindé, introduit par des cordes en sourdine. Ce menuet donne l’impression d’appartenir à une autre époque, comme un vaporeux retour aux sources de cette danse de cour du XVIIIe siècle. Le violoncelle entre d’abord seul avec les premières notes d’un doux contre-chant, puis continue à planer au-dessus des cordes qui répètent le menuet. Son chant s’intensifie, atteignant un sommet qui reste en suspens; une courte cadence d’une rapide descente chromatique se termine sur un trille, sur lequel le menuet est repris par les vents. Le violoncelle égrène alors des phrases lyriques, atteint un sommet bouillonnant, puis s’apaise dans une certaine résignation. Comme une tendre réminiscence, il chante seul, dans son registre grave, les notes du contre-chant…

…et dans sa dissolution, le hautbois s’insinue avec le retour du thème initial du concerto. Le violoncelle le reprend, avec force et détermination, mais il cède bientôt la place à un nouveau thème poignant, d’une mélancolie certaine. Par la suite, la musique alterne entre une extrême virtuosité (comme on peut l’entendre dans une séquence de passages audacieux pour le violoncelle) et des mélodies chaleureuses qui exploitent les profondeurs du registre de l’instrument. Finalement, on revient au thème mélancolique, qui revêt une intensité nouvelle. Au point culminant, l’orchestre s’empresse de reprendre le premier thème, débouchant sur une vive coda. Le mode passe en majeur de façon éclatante quand le violoncelle réintègre la pièce, s’exprimant avec lyrisme jusqu’à sa dernière envolée, et l’orchestre conclut sur une note exubérante.

CÉSAR FRANCK

Symphonie en ré mineur

I. Lento – Allegro non troppo
II. Allegretto
III. Allegro non troppo

En 1871, Camille Saint-Saëns fonde la Société nationale de musique pour promouvoir et interpréter la musique des compositeurs français vivants. En 1886, il démissionne à contrecœur, alors que l’organisation se divise sur l’orientation esthétique future de la musique française – entre les compositeurs les plus « conservateurs » qui prônent les valeurs classiques de la musique de Mozart et de Beethoven (et dans le camp desquels se range Saint-Saëns), et les compositeurs « progressistes » qui favorisent une approche plus « moderne », inspirée par Richard Wagner. Ce dernier camp est mené par César Franck (1822-1890) qui, la même année, commence à ébaucher cette symphonie qu’il achèvera deux ans plus tard. Bien qu’il ait déjà écrit plusieurs poèmes symphoniques (œuvres orchestrales en un seul mouvement évoquant des images ou des récits), la Symphonie en ré mineur est sa seule incursion dans le genre « abstrait », en plusieurs mouvements. Elle a été créée en février 1889, dans le cadre d’un concert du Conservatoire de Paris. D’abord décriée par le courant conservateur des compositeurs et des critiques, l’œuvre est aujourd’hui reconnue comme l’une des pièces maîtresses du répertoire orchestral français et est régulièrement interprétée.

La symphonie de Franck présente plusieurs caractéristiques de son style de composition, dont deux aspects témoignent plus particulièrement de la forte influence de Wagner. Tout d’abord, la modulation est fréquente – les thèmes et motifs principaux sont généralement répétés dans plusieurs tonalités différentes tout au long d’un mouvement – et le chromatisme est largement utilisé dans la ligne mélodique et dans les harmonies sous-jacentes des mélodies. Il en découle une certaine fébrilité dans la musique, mais aussi un effet kaléidoscopique dans les couleurs harmoniques changeantes.

Un autre trait d’inspiration wagnérienne est la transformation thématique, dans laquelle les thèmes principaux de la symphonie reviennent dans de nouvelles versions à des moments clés d’un mouvement ou dans les mouvements suivants, créant ainsi une impression d’évolution organique au fur et à mesure que la musique progresse. Dans l’introduction lente (Lento) de cette symphonie, les principaux motifs sont présentés d’emblée : tout d’abord, une série de phrases incisives qui montent dans les cordes graves, puis, dans les violons, une ligne descendante tout en douceur qui s’enroule en partie sur elle-même chromatiquement, soutenue par des harmonies évocatrices. Elles gagnent bientôt en rapidité et en dynamisme dans la section Allegro non troppo qui suit, la ligne descendante étant tonifiée par des rythmes pointés nettement définis. Plus loin dans le premier mouvement, deux nouveaux thèmes sont présentés : une douce mélodie et un air exubérant. Tous ces thèmes subissent d’autres transformations dans les mouvements subséquents : par exemple, le solo mélancolique du cor anglais dans le deuxième mouvement est une variante subtile des phrases d’ouverture du premier; dans le même mouvement, l’air exubérant voit ses angles adoucis en une mélodie chaleureuse jouée par les violons; et le finale s’ouvre sur une autre métamorphose de ce même air exubérant, présenté par les violoncelles comme une mélodie joyeuse et directe, sans chromatismes susceptibles de perturber son humeur joviale. Les changements de caractère des matériaux musicaux sont également utilisés à des fins dramatiques, comme en témoignent la férocité et l’intensité nouvelles de la reprise des thèmes du premier mouvement, ou la puissance expressive qu’acquiert la mélodie du cor anglais quand les trompettes l’entonnent hardiment, à son dernier retour dans la conclusion du mouvement.

Le deuxième mouvement mérite qu’on s’y arrête pour son exposition organique de plusieurs éléments musicaux présentés à tour de rôle – la mélodie du cor anglais, un thème chaleureux aux violons, une ligne sinueuse « bourdonnante » jouée par les violons en sourdine, et une version élargie de l’aimable second thème du premier mouvement – qui sont ensuite ingénieusement combinés dans leur récapitulation. Notamment, la ligne « bourdonnante » et le solo mélancolique du cor anglais s’associent et s’aventurent dans de nouvelles tonalités, après quoi les mélodies chaudes et enveloppantes s’entremêlent, atteignant un point culminant lumineux qui se fond progressivement dans la lueur crépusculaire de la sereine conclusion du mouvement. 

Enfin, l’orchestration caractéristique de Franck dans cette œuvre fait souvent écho aux timbres, aux sonorités et aux effets de l’orgue, instrument sur lequel il s’est forgé une réputation considérable d’improvisateur de talent dans son poste à la basilique Sainte-Clotilde de Saint-Germain-des-Prés, à Paris. Franck considérait d’ailleurs l’orgue de l’endroit, construit par Aristide Cavaillé-Coll, comme son « orchestre ». Le son de certaines combinaisons d’instruments à vent n’est pas sans évoquer l’utilisation de certains jeux de l’orgue, et les crescendos massifs évoquent l’ouverture de la boîte d’expression de l’instrument. Le choral des cuivres dans le finale, timidement introduit avant de gagner en assurance et en hardiesse, possède incontestablement une sonorité d’orgue, tout comme les radieuses conclusions de chacun des mouvements de la symphonie.

Notes de programme par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais)

Artistes

  • chef d'orchestre Yan Pascal Tortelier
  • violoncelle Bryan Cheng
  • Avec Orchestre du CNA

Crédits

Orchestre du CNA

Premiers violons
Yosuke Kawasaki (violon solo)
Jessica Linnebach (violon solo associée)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistante violon solo)
Emily Kruspe
Marjolaine Lambert
Frédéric Moisan
Carissa Klopoushak
Zhengdong Liang
*Martine Dubé
*Oleg Chelpanov
*Heather Schnarr
*Marc Djokic
*Soo Gyeong Lee

Seconds violons
Mintje van Lier (solo)
Winston Webber (assistant solo)
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Emily Westell
Manuela Milani
Leah Roseman
Karoly Sziladi
Mark Friedman
**Edvard Skerjanc
*Andréa Armijo Fortin
*Renée London
*Sara Mastrangelo

Altos
Jethro Marks (solo)
David Marks (solo associé)
David Goldblatt (assistant solo)
David Thies-Thompson
Paul Casey
*Alexander Moroz
*Kelvin Enns

Violoncelles
Rachel Mercer (solo)
**Julia MacLaine (assistante solo)
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
Timothy McCoy
*Karen Kang
*Desiree Abbey
*Daniel Parker

Contrebasses
Max Cardilli (assistant solo)
Vincent Gendron
Marjolaine Fournier
**Hilda Cowie
*Paul Mach
*Brandyn Lewis

Flûtes
Joanna G'froerer (solo)
Stephanie Morin

Hautbois
Charles Hamann (solo)
Anna Petersen
*Anna Hendrickson

Cor Anglais
Anna Petersen

Clarinettes
Kimball Sykes (solo)
Sean Rice
*Shauna Barker

Bassons
Darren Hicks (solo)
Vincent Parizeau

Cors
Lawrence Vine (solo)
Julie Fauteux (solo associée)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron

Trompettes
Karen Donnelly (solo)
Steven van Gulik
*Michael Fedyshyn
*Charles Watson

Trombones
*Gord Wolfe (solo invité)
Colin Traquair
*David Pell

Tuba
Chris Lee (solo)

Timbales
*Aaron McDonald (solo invité)

Percussion
Jonathan Wade

Harpe
*Angela Schwarzkopf

Musicothécaire principale
Nancy Elbeck

Musicothécaire adjoint
Corey Rempel

Chef du personnel
Meiko Lydall

Chef adjointe du personnel
Laurie Shannon

*Musiciens surnuméraires
**En congé