Presented by Audi

Beethoven’s Ninth

& Shelley conducts Andrew Balfour and Anna Clyne

2024-06-19 20:00 2024-06-20 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Beethoven’s Ninth

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33733

In-person event

Ludwig van Beethoven rocked the world of classical music in many ways, and his Symphony No. 9, with its spine-tingling “Ode to Joy,” was a radical work that introduced singing into a symphony for the first time—and what singing it was! Anna Clyne’s Glasslands, a co-commission of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, BBC Radio 3, the National Arts Centre Orchestra, Artis-Naples, Naples Philharmonic and the Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
June 19 - 20, 2024
8:00 pm EDT

June 2024

  1. Jun 19 2024
    Wednesday

    8:00pm

    8:00pm

  2. Jun 20 2024
    Thursday

    8:00pm

Close schedule
renew-now-28
Jess Gilliam
Music Classical music Masterworks Vocal
  • ANDREW BALFOUR ᓂᔭ niya (I Am)
  • ANNA CLYNE Glasslands
  • Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125, “Choral”
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

Ludwig van Beethoven rocked the world of classical music in many ways, and his Symphony No. 9, with its spine-tingling “Ode to Joy,” was a radical work that introduced singing into a symphony for the first time—and what singing it was!

Anna Clyne’s Glasslands, a co-commission of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, BBC Radio 3, the National Arts Centre Orchestra, Artis-Naples, Naples Philharmonic and the Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y León, “conjures an imaginary world of three realms governed by the banshee—a female spirit who, in Irish folklore, heralds the death of a family member, usually by wailing, shrieking, or keening in the silence of the night.” Featured soloist British saxophonist Jess Gillam is musical lightning in a bottle, animating the world with her outstanding talent and infectious personality, every ounce of which she shares for this performance.

ᓂᔭ niya (I Am), by Winnipeg-based composer Andrew Balfour, was commissioned by the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra as a companion piece to Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9.  Of Cree descent, Balfour is an innovative, multi-faceted composer/conductor with a  large body of choral, instrumental, electro-acoustic and orchestral works. 

There are no program notes for this event.
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Jun 17
Jun 18
Jun 19
  • 8:00 pm
  • 8:00 pm
Jun 20
  • 8:00 pm
Jun 21
Jun 22
Jun 23
© Jess Gilliam

Artists

  • dscf9130-curtis-perry-2-cropped
    Conductor Alexander Shelley
  • Saxophone Jess Gillam
  • Featuring Ottawa Choral Society
  • bio-orchestra
    Featuring NAC Orchestra
  • Stage Manager Tobi Hunt McCoy
  • director Gabrielle Gaudreault
  • guest chorus master Duain Wolfe

présenté par Audi

La Neuvième de Beethoven

Shelley dirige Andrew Balfour et Anna Clyne

2024-06-19 20:00 2024-06-20 22:20 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : La Neuvième de Beethoven

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33733

Événement en personne

Ludwig van Beethoven a chamboulé le monde de la musique classique de multiples façons. Sa Symphonie no 9, l’« Ode à la joie », est une œuvre radicale : la première symphonie à comporter du chant. Et quel chant cela a été! Glasslands d’Anna Clyne est une commande conjointe de l’Orchestre symphonique de Detroit, de BBC Radio 3, l’Orchestre du Centre national des...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
19 - 20 jun 2024
20 h 00 HAE

juin 2024

  1. jun 19 2024
    Aujourd'hui

    20 h 00

  2. jun 20 2024
    Demain

    20 h 00

Fermer
Jess Gilliam
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Voix
Jess Gilliam
  • ANDREW BALFOUR ᓂᔭ niya (« Je suis »)
  • ANNA CLYNE Glasslands
  • LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Symphonie no 9 en ré mineur, op. 125
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • ≈ 2 heures et 20 minutes · Avec entracte

Ludwig van Beethoven a chamboulé le monde de la musique classique de multiples façons. Sa Symphonie no 9, l’« Ode à la joie », est une œuvre radicale : la première symphonie à comporter du chant. Et quel chant cela a été!

Glasslands d’Anna Clyne est une commande conjointe de l’Orchestre symphonique de Detroit, de BBC Radio 3, l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, Artis-Naples, le Philharmonique de Naples, et Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y León, qui « invoque un monde imaginaire où trois mondes sont gouvernés par une banshee – un esprit féminin qui, dans le folklore irlandais, annonce la mort d’un membre de la famille généralement en gémissant, en hurlant ou en pleurant dans le silence de la nuit. » Jess Gillam, la saxophoniste solo invitée, est le génie de la lampe pour la musique. Elle anime le monde avec son talent incroyable et sa personnalité contagieuse, qu’elle montrera sans retenue pendant ce spectacle.

ᓂᔭ niya (Je suis) du compositeur Andrew Balfour est une œuvre commandée par l’Orchestre philharmonique de Calgary pour accompagner la Symphonie no 9 de Beethoven. Habitant à Winnipeg, Andrew Balfour est un compositeur et chef d’orchestre d’origine crie innovant et doté de multiples facettes qui a créé un grand nombre d’œuvres chorales, instrumentales, électroacoustiques et orchestrales.

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
jun 17
jun 18
jun 19
  • 20 h 00
jun 20
  • 20 h 00
jun 21
jun 22
jun 23

Artistes

  • Chef d’orchestre Alexander Shelley
  • Saxophone Jess Gillam
  • Soprano Kirsten MacKinnon
  • Mezzo-Soprano Allyson McHardy
  • Ténor Andrew Haji
  • Basse William Thomas
  • Avec Société chorale d’Ottawa
  • Gabrielle-gaudreault
    Cheffe de choeur Gabrielle Gaudreault
  • Avec Orchestre du CNA
  • Régisseuse Tobi Hunt McCoy
  • Direction Gabrielle Gaudreault