Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

Presented by the Janice & Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence

Angela Hewitt in Recital

Great Performers Series

2024-01-16 20:00 2024-01-16 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Angela Hewitt in Recital

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33728

In-person event

Please note that, for this performance, as requested by the producer, latecomers will not permitted entry.   For one night only, Ottawa-born pianist Angela Hewitt makes clear why she is regarded as arguably the world’s best performer of J.S. Bach’s piano music. Hewitt flexes her classical piano muscles in this recital of music from Bach, Mendelssohn, Shostakovich, Barber, and Schumann.  Preludes and fugues are a musical combination that consists of two pieces...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Tue, January 16, 2024
8 PM EST
This event has passed
Angela Hewitt © Keith Saunders
Music Classical music Masterworks Piano
  • JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH Selected Preludes and Fugues from The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I
  • FELIX MENDELSSOHN Prelude and Fugue in E minor, Op. 35, No. 1
  • Dmitri Shostakovich Prelude and Fugue No. 18 in F minor
  • Samuel Barber Fugue from the Piano Sonata in E-flat minor, Op. 26
  • ROBERT SCHUMANN Sonata No. 1 in F-sharp minor, Op. 11

Featured artists

  • In-person event
  • ≈ 2 hours · With intermission

Please note that, for this performance, as requested by the producer, latecomers will not permitted entry.

For one night only, Ottawa-born pianist Angela Hewitt makes clear why she is regarded as arguably the world’s best performer of J.S. Bach’s piano music. Hewitt flexes her classical piano muscles in this recital of music from Bach, Mendelssohn, Shostakovich, Barber, and Schumann. 

Preludes and fugues are a musical combination that consists of two pieces written for keyboard, usually in the same key. Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I, which he wrote “for the profit and use of musical youth desirous of learning, and especially for the pastime of those already skilled in this study,” contains preludes and fugues in all 24 major and minor keys. Bach wasn’t the first composer to use the prelude–fugue format, but most who wrote in this form were inspired by him, including, undoubtedly, Mendelssohn, Shostakovich, and Barber

The recital comes full circle with Robert Schumann’s Sonata No. 1, which he wrote for his beloved wife Clara, calling it “a solitary outcry for you from my heart.” In the early days of their marriage, Robert and Clara had studied the Preludes and Fugues of J.S. Bach together. Robert once wrote to Clara: “Let The Well-Tempered Clavier be your daily bread. Then you will certainly become a solid musician." The Schumanns would undoubtedly be delighted to have the Sonata No. 1 presented in the same program as Bach’s glorious works.

Artists

  • angela-hewitt
    Piano Angela Hewitt

Angela Hewitt © Keith Saunders

Présenté par Le Fonds Janice et Earle O'Born pour l’excellence dans les arts de la scène

Angela Hewitt en récital

2024-01-16 20:00 2024-01-16 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Angela Hewitt en récital

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33728

Événement en personne

Veuillez noter que les retardataires pourraient se voir refuser l’accès à la salle pour ce spectacle.   Le temps d’une soirée, la pianiste ottavienne Angela Hewitt montre pourquoi elle est considérée comme la meilleure interprète au monde des œuvres pour piano de J. S. Bach. Elle déploie tout son savoir-faire de pianiste classique dans ce récital comprenant des œuvres de Bach, Mendelssohn, Chostakovitch,...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mardi 16 janvier 2024
20 h HNE
Cet événement est passé
Angela Hewitt © Keith Saunders
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Piano
  • JEAN-SÉBASTIAN BACH Sélection de préludes et fugues du Clavier bien tempéré, Livre 1
  • FELIX MENDELSSOHN Prélude et Fugue en mi mineur, op. 35, no 1
  • Dmitri Chostakovitch Prélude et Fugue no 18 en fa mineur
  • Samuel Barber Fugue tirée de la Sonate pour piano en mi bémol mineur, Op. 26
  • ROBERT SCHUMANN Sonate no 1 en fa dièse minor, Op. 11

Artistes en vedette

  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 2 heures · Avec entracte

Veuillez noter que les retardataires pourraient se voir refuser l’accès à la salle pour ce spectacle.

Le temps d’une soirée, la pianiste ottavienne Angela Hewitt montre pourquoi elle est considérée comme la meilleure interprète au monde des œuvres pour piano de J. S. Bach. Elle déploie tout son savoir-faire de pianiste classique dans ce récital comprenant des œuvres de Bach, Mendelssohn, Chostakovitch, Barber et Schumann.

Les préludes et fugues sont des combinaisons musicales qui se composent de deux œuvres pour piano, généralement dans une même tonalité. Bach a écrit le premier livre du Clavier bien tempéré pour « la pratique et le profit des jeunes musiciens désireux de s’instruire et pour la jouissance de ceux qui sont déjà rompus à cet art. » Il contient des préludes et fugues qui parcourent les 24 modes majeurs et mineurs. Bach n’était pas le premier compositeur à utiliser le format prélude-fugue, mais la majorité de ses successeurs se sont inspirés de ses œuvres, comme ce fut sans nul doute le cas pour Mendelssohn, Chostakovitch et Barber.

On boucle la boucle de ce récital avec la Sonate no1 de Robert Schumann. Composée pour son épouse bien-aimée Clara, cette œuvre est selon lui un cri solitaire que lui lance son cœur. Au début de leur mariage, Robert et Clara étudient ensemble les préludes et fugues de Bach. Robert écrira d’ailleurs à sa femme : « Fais du Clavier bien tempéré ton pain quotidien, et tu deviendras très certainement une musicienne digne de ce nom. » Il va ainsi sans dire que le couple Schumann serait enchanté de voir la Sonate no 1 dans le même programme que l’œuvre glorieuse de Bach. 

Angela Hewitt © Keith Saunders

Artistes

  • piano Angela Hewitt