Vision

Almost overnight, the COVID-19 crisis had a devastating impact on the performing arts sector, disrupting plans for creative artists round the globe. Deeply concerned about the enormous challenge artists were facing, NACO Music Director Alexander Shelley, NACO Managing Director Arna Einarsdóttir, and Creative Producer Donna Feore came together to create a project that would give voice to artists in an “undisrupted” way.

Through UNDISRUPTED, the NAC Orchestra (NACO) is throwing open the doors to the symphonic experience. This four-episode series takes the audience on a musical and visual journey with powerful, diverse and contemporary stories. Visionaries Measha Brueggergosman, Ana Sokoloviċ, Nicole Lizée and Shawnee Kish were each invited to draw on their own unique experiences using NACO as a megaphone to share their stories – stories that come to virtual life with the inclusion of mixed reality visual designs created by Montreal’s Normal Studio.

These four leading artists were offered a blank canvas to curate their 30-minute episode in which they each explored compelling narratives, offering unique and personal perspectives of the world. They were each empowered to collaborate with a wide variety of performing and visual artists to amplify their stories.   

More than a filmed performance, UNDISRUPTED immerses the audience with the orchestra and the concert hall with multiple camera angles captured by audiovisual production company ProdCan Inc. and mixed reality effects created by Montreal-based Normal Studio. Normal merges the real and the virtual worlds together to bring NAC’s Southam Hall to life in a way that has never been done before. UNDISRUPTED shows a reconfigured orchestra with conductor Alexander Shelley and musicians on risers placed overtop sections of the audience seating. This repositioning allowed for the nine cameras to capture unique viewpoints, thus inviting the audience to experience the Orchestra up close and personal.

  • arna-web
    Former Managing Director, NAC Orchestra Arna Einarsdóttir

“This project was born out of the desire to respond to these times of disruption, by pushing the boundaries and exploring the digital medium to present orchestral music in a completely new and unexpected way. UNDISRUPTED is an important step in fulfilling our commitment to engage with audiences across multiple platforms and work with artists from diverse backgrounds. UNDISRUPTED perfectly captures the collaborative nature of our Orchestra, which strives to explore and expand diversity in our musical genre.”

  • 2:32
    UNDISRUPTED: Keeping the orchestra relevant to our times
  • 1:28
    Selecting curators for UNDISRUPTED
  • 1:19
    UNDISRUPTED: Throwing open the doors to the orchestra
  • dscf9130-curtis-perry-2-cropped
    Music Director, NAC Orchestra Alexander Shelley

 “We wanted to create a project that engages in a profound way with the Canadian public and demonstrates how a symphony orchestra can become a vehicle for powerful storytelling and a tool for social inclusion. Our society has been confronted with fundamental questions about equity, representation, accessibility, and we at the NAC were interested in how an orchestra can be driving forward the conversation and become a catalyst for change. UNDISRUPTED serves to underscore the strength, the breadth and diversity of creative voices in this country.” 

  • 4:14
    The idea behind UNDISRUPTED
  • 2:17
    UNDISRUPTED: A project for the digital stage
  • 2:23
    Spacing out the orchestra during a pandemic
  • Creative producer Donna Feore

“This project has been specifically developed for a digital platform because the audience could not physically be present in the hall. The intent was to keep their seats warm and to bring Southam Hall to them with a virtual experience. We wanted to offer these artists complete artistic freedom, and it feels wonderful to give them the space and resources to bring their visions to life. It’s a collaboration in its highest form, working with so many artists, technicians and disciplines to make this large-scale project a success.”

  • 1:53
    Donna Feore describes her role in UNDISRUPTED
  • 2:50
    UNDISRUPTED: A response to our times
  • 1:19
    UNDISRUPTED: An immersive experience
  • 2:02
    UNDISRUPTED: The legacy

Join our email list for the latest updates!

Perturbations à la circulation - Fête du Canada

Vision

Comme un coup de tonnerre, la COVID-19 a eu des répercussions dévastatrices sur le secteur des arts du spectacle, perturbant les plans des créatrices et créateurs de la planète. Profondément touchés par les gigantesques défis auxquels le secteur doit faire face, Alexander Shelley, directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA, Arna Einarsdóttir, directrice administrative de l’ensemble, et Donna Feore, productrice du contenu créatif, se sont associés pour concevoir un projet donnant les coudées franches aux artistes, au-delà des conditions actuelles. 

L’Orchestre du CNA fait éclater les limites de l’expérience symphonique avec INCONDITIONNEL, une série spéciale de quatre épisodes présentée en première dès le 27 août sur les plateformes de diffusion en continu TOUT.TV et CBC Gem ainsi que sur le site Web du CNA à une date ultérieure. INCONDITIONNEL transporte les auditoires dans un voyage musical et visuel au cœur d’histoires actuelles, diverses et percutantes. On a invité les visionnaires Measha Brueggergosman, Shawnee Kish, Nicole Lizée et Ana Sokoloviċ à puiser dans leurs propres expériences et à concevoir l’Orchestre comme un porte-voix pour transmettre des récits qui prennent vie virtuellement par l’entremise des conceptions médiatiques de réalité mixte créées par le studio montréalais Normal.  

On a donné carte blanche aux quatre visionnaires afin de leur permettre de créer de captivants récits et de présenter des perspectives originales et individuelles sur le monde dans le cadre de leur épisode de 30 minutes. Ces récits ont été amplifiés grâce à la collaboration avec une variété de visualistes et d’interprètes en arts du spectacle. 

Dépassant la captation vidéo d’un spectacle, INCONDITIONNEL plonge les auditoires au cœur même de l’orchestre et de la salle de concert avec des prises de vue de caméras multiples de la maison de production audiovisuelle ProdCan Inc. et des effets de réalité mixte du studio montréalais Normal. Réalité et monde virtuel se confondent, et la Salle Southam prend vie comme jamais auparavant. Avec INCONDITIONNEL, même la configuration de l’Orchestre est repensée : les instrumentistes et le chef d’orchestre Alexander Shelley se produisent sur des plateformes surélevées placées au-dessus de sections du parterre. Grâce à cette reconfiguration, neuf caméras offrent des prises de vue exceptionnelles qui permettent aux auditoires de découvrir de près l’Orchestre du CNA. 

« Ce projet est né d’un désir de répondre à cette période de perturbations en repoussant les limites et en ayant recours au numérique pour présenter la musique orchestrale de manière complètement nouvelle et inattendue. INCONDITIONNEL est un pas important dans la réalisation de notre engagement à mobiliser les auditoires par l’entremise de plateformes multiples et à collaborer avec des artistes de divers milieux. INCONDITIONNEL représente bien l’esprit de collaboration de notre orchestre, qui cherche à explorer et enrichir la diversité de notre genre musical. » 

  • 2:32
    INCONDITIONNEL : Garder l’orchestre d’actualité à notre...
  • 1:28
    Selectionner les collaborateurs pour INCONDITIONNEL
  • 1:19
    INCONDITIONNEL: Ouvrir en grand les portes pour...

« Nous voulions créer un projet captivant pour le public canadien et démontrant que l’orchestre symphonique peut être un puissant outil de communication narrative et d’inclusion sociale. Notre société a été confrontée à des questions fondamentales concernant l’équité, la représentation et l’accessibilité, et, au CNA, nous voulons voir comment l’orchestre pourrait mener le débat et être catalyseur du changement. INCONDITIONNEL met en lumière la vigueur, l’ampleur et la diversité des voix créatives du pays. »  

  • 4:14
    L’idée derrière INCONDITIONNEL
  • 2:17
    INCONDITIONNEL : Un projet pour la scène digitale
  • 2:23
    Espacer un orchestre pendant une pandémie

« Ce projet a été expressément développé pour une plateforme numérique, puisqu’il ne pouvait y avoir de public dans la salle. Nous avions l’intention de rapprocher nos auditoires de la Salle Southam avec cette expérience virtuelle. Nous souhaitions offrir une liberté artistique complète aux artistes, et c’était merveilleux de pouvoir mettre à leur disposition un espace et des ressources pour réaliser leur vision. Il s’agit d’un travail de collaboration de haut niveau : plusieurs départements, artistes et équipes techniques ont œuvré ensemble pour faire un succès de ce projet de grande envergure ». 

  • 1:53
    Donna Feore décrit son rôle dans INCONDITIONNEL
  • 2:50
    INCONDITIONNEL: Une réponse à notre époque
  • 1:19
    INCONDITIONNEL: Une expérience immersive
  • 2:02
    INCONDITIONNEL: L’Héritage

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre pour être les premiers informés!

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu