WolfGANG Session #20

Free livestream

2023-05-20 21:00 2023-05-20 22:45 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: WolfGANG Session #20

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33551

NAC Livestream

20th Edition!
Get ready for some surprises

WolfGANG Sessions at Club SAW is a night of music that is sure to entertain. Grab your adventurous friends and take them out for a wild night of Chamber Music with some of your favourite musicians from the NAC Orchestra.   Yuhwa (The Goddess of the Willow Trees) for solo flute, by Adolphus Hailstork - Copyright © 2020 by Theodore Presser Company. - All rights reserved. Used with Permission.

Read more

Online
Saturday, May 20, 2023
9 PM EDT
NAC Livestream

Program

Last updated: May 15, 2023

ADOLPHUS HAILSTORK Yuhwa (The Goddess of the Willow Trees) for solo flute

JOCELYN MORLOCK Blue Sun for violin and viola

SEAN RICE New work for bass clarinet

KATHERINE HOOVER Kokopeli for solo flute

ELEANOR ALBERGA Succubus Moon for oboe and string quartet

Repertoire

ADOLPHUS HAILSTORK

Yuhwa (The Goddess of the Willow Trees) for solo flute 

American composer Adolphus Hailstork (b. 1941) has a long-established reputation for works that masterfully blend eclectic elements from European, Euro-American, and African American music traditions, often emphasizing melody. A native of upstate New York, he earned degrees in composition from Howard University, the Manhattan School of Music, and Michigan State University. In 1963, Hailstork attended a course at the American Conservatory at Fontainebleau, France, taught by notable composer and pedagogue Nadia Boulanger. He currently resides in Virginia Beach, Virginia, and is professor emeritus of composition at Old Dominion University.

Hailstork composed Yuhwa (The Goddess of the Willow Trees) for solo flute in 2020, and it was given its world premiere online during the Covid pandemic by flutist Mimi Stillman in August of the same year. According to the piece’s accompanying description, it was inspired by the legend of the goddess Yuhwa in Korean mythology. “The daughter of a River God, Yuhwa was tricked into marrying the Sun God. She escaped back to her homeland and gave birth to a son who became the founder and monarch of Korea’s northern kingdom. The symbolic willow tree is considered a source of healing in Korean folklore and elsewhere around the world.”

Hailstork’s elegant piece highlights the lyrical and expressive possibilities of the flute, as it plays catchy melodic motifs that alternate with florid arpeggios and cascading notes.

Jocelyn Morlock

Blue Sun for violin and viola

Musicians have found that many of Morlock’s compositions allow them a certain expressive autonomy that makes them satisfying to play. Her piece Blue Sun for violin and viola, composed in 1998, is written in a way that encourages interpretative freedom between its two players, thereby creating a special kind of intimacy in its performance. As she instructed in the score:

This piece is in seven short sections, which are to be played without pause. Both players read from the score. At times proportional notation is used; sometimes one player has notated rhythms while the other plays more freely. Do not be too concerned about exactly where to play the proportionally notated music, just fit it in vertically between the other player’s notes.

As to the subject of the piece, Morlock says,

The name “Blue Sun” is a reference to the lingering image or ghost sun that persists in your field of vision after looking at the real one. These pieces were written after I’d encountered some folk music that wouldn’t let me be; although they are not based on folk music, the moods of that music permeate them nonetheless, lingering like the after-image of the sun.

SEAN RICE

New work for bass clarinet

WolfGANG host and NACO Second Clarinet Sean Rice performs a new work for bass clarinet, which he created especially for this concert. He will introduce the piece from the stage.

KATHERINE HOOVER

Kokopeli for solo flute 

American flutist Katherine Hoover (1937–2018) had a multifaceted career, active as a performer, composer, and a conductor in New York City. Following studies at the Eastman School of Music and the Manhattan School of Music (where she later taught), she began writing music in the early 1970s, at a time when few women attained success in the male-dominated world of contemporary classical composition. Her output ranges from solo and vocal pieces, chamber music, and orchestral works, in which she considered herself a storyteller—to evoke imagery, and stimulate listeners’ emotions and senses through her music. The flutist Zara Lawler has said Hoover’s music, “is challenging and satisfying for musicians to play, and yet at the same time beautiful and meaningful for audiences to hear. Her music leaves you lots of room to express yourself, and yet any performance of her music is indelibly hers.”

Several of Hoover’s works are inspired by the landscapes and the indigenous American cultures of the southwestern part of the United States, such as Arizona and New Mexico, having been drawn, she’s said, to the area’s “quiet spirituality, the colours of the sky, and the unusual topography.” Kokopeli for solo flute is one such piece; it’s probably her best-known work, and a contemporary classic of the flute repertoire since its composition in 1990.

In Hoover’s words,

Kokopeli, the flute player, was a great mahu, or legendary hero of the Hopi, and of other Native Americans living in the Southwestern area of the United States. He is said to have led the migrations through the mountains and deserts, the sound of his flute echoing through the great canyons and cliffs. In this piece I have tried to capture some of this sense of spaciousness, and of the Hopi's deep kinship with this land. This piece has also been influenced by Native American flute songs and sounds.

The soloist is given substantial freedom to shape the performance of Kokopeli, which has an open, improvisatory quality about it. This is fostered, in part, by the lack of barline divisions in the score. In a 2002 interview with Flute Talk, Hoover noted that “I wanted long flowing phrases to be performed freely without the walls that barlines create. With freedom from barlines musicians respond to the sounds of the piece, as well as the acoustics of the hall, which should influence the tempo, interpretation, and length of rests and fermatas [pauses].”

ELEANOR ALBERGA

Succubus Moon for oboe and string quartet

Born 1949 in Kingston, Jamaica, Eleanor Alberga is a highly regarded mainstream British composer with commissions from the BBC Proms and the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. With a substantial output ranging from solo instrumental works to full-scale symphonic works and operas, her music is performed all over the world. She studied piano and singing at the Royal Academy of Music in London, and a budding career as a solo pianist was soon augmented by composition with her arrival at the London Contemporary Dance Theatre in 1978, where she later became the company’s Musical Director—conducting, composing, and playing on LCDT’s many tours. After leaving LCDT, Alberga fully embarked on her calling as a composer, and since then, interest in her music across all genres has accelerated. In 2015 her commissioned work ARISE, ATHENA! for the opening of the Last Night of the BBC Proms cemented her reputation as a composer of significant originality and consummate skill. Alberga was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music in 2020, and was awarded an OBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2021 for services to British music.

Succubus Moon for oboe and string quartet was commissioned by the City of London Festival and was premiered there in 2007 by Alexei Ogrintchouk and the Psophos Quartet. In an interview on Sound Currents on 91.9 Classical Kansas City, Alberga said she was inspired to write the piece to help her overcome her childhood fears of the dark, which had resurfaced when she and her husband violinist Thomas Bowes had moved from London to a place in the English countryside. “It’s about the allure and beauty of night and the beauty of the moon, but also the fears, I think, that a lot of children and adults have about the dark and not knowing what’s out there.”

Here’s her description about Succubus Moon:

The romantic and the demonic lie side by side in this work. Over centuries, man has interpreted his fear of the dark and unknown as caused by beings and superstitions outside himself; one of these interpretations became Incubi and Succubi, evil presences doing harm to humans. The piece juxtaposes the ethereal, tranquil, and reflective moon against the impenetrable darkness of the night where the demonic and seductive Succubus reigns. The oboe is the main protagonist, leading the mood or taking over what the strings have set up. The strings have their own episodes, and sometimes join with the oboe in main material.

The music goes from sparse to more driven rhythmic sections, to dreamy moonstruck moments, and finally drifts away. Towards the end there is, unusually, a C major chord—a ray of hope as the moon shines out amidst the primal terror.

Program notes compiled and edited by Hannah Chan-Hartley, PhD

Artists

  • paul-casey
    viola Paul Casey
  • flute Joanna G’froerer
  • anna-petersen-2
    oboe Anna Petersen
  • violin Marjolaine Lambert
  • mintje-small
    violin Mintje van Lier
  • zane-liang
    violin Zhengdong (Zane) Liang
  • cattroll-312-xl
    cello Leah Wyber
  • sean-rice-2
    Host and bass clarinet Sean Rice

Session WolfGANG #20

Webdiffusion gratuite

2023-05-20 21:00 2023-05-20 22:45 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Session WolfGANG #20

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33551

CNA en direct

20e édition!
Préparez vous à quelques surprises Les Sessions WolfGANG au Club SAW est une soirée musicale qui ne manquera pas de mordant. Invitez vos amis les plus aventureux et embarquez-les dans une soirée de Musique de Chambre surprenante avec vos musiciens préférés de l'Orchestre du CNA.   Yuhwa (The Goddess of the Willow Trees) pour flute solo, par Adolphus Hailstork - Copyright © 2020 , Theodore...

Read more

En ligne
samedi 20 mai 2023
21 h HAE
Diffusion en direct

Programme

Dernière mise à jour: 15 mai 2023

ADOLPHUS HAILSTORK Yuhwa (The Goddess of the Willow Trees) pour flûte seule

JOCELYN MORLOCK Blue Sun pour violon et alto

SEAN RICE Nouvelle œuvre pour clarinette basse

KATHERINE HOOVER Kokopeli pour flûte seule

ELEANOR ALBERGA Succubus Moon pour hautbois et quatuor à cordes

Répertoire

ADOLPHUS HAILSTORK

Yuhwa (The Goddess of the Willow Trees) pour flûte seule

Le compositeur américain Adolphus Hailstork (né en 1941) est renommé de longue date pour ses œuvres qui allient magistralement des éléments éclectiques issus des traditions musicales européennes, euro-américaines et afro-américaines, et qui mettent souvent la mélodie de l’avant. Originaire du nord de l’État de New York, il a obtenu des diplômes de composition à l’Université Howard, à la Manhattan School of Music et à l’Université de l’État du Michigan. En 1963, il a suivi un cours au Conservatoire américain de Fontainebleau, en France, dispensé par la célèbre compositrice et pédagogue Nadia Boulanger. Il réside actuellement à Virginia Beach, en Virginie, et est professeur émérite de composition à l’Université Old Dominion.

Il a composé Yuhwa (The Goddess of the Willow Trees) pour flûte seule en 2020, et la flûtiste Mimi Stillman l’a créée en ligne en août de la même année, pendant la pandémie de Covid. Selon la description de l’œuvre qui l’accompagne, elle s’inspire de la légende de la déesse Yuhwa dans la mythologie coréenne. « Fille d’un dieu de la rivière, Yuhwa fut amenée par la ruse à épouser le dieu du soleil. Elle s’est enfuie et a donné naissance à un fils qui est devenu le fondateur et le monarque du royaume du nord de la Corée. Le saule symbolique est considéré comme une source de guérison dans le folklore coréen et ailleurs dans le monde. »

L’élégante pièce de M. Hailstork met en lumière les possibilités lyriques et expressives de la flûte, à l’aide de motifs mélodiques entraînants qui alternent avec des arpèges florissants et des notes en cascade.

Jocelyn Morlock

Blue Sun pour violon et alto

Les interprètes ont pu constater que de nombreuses compositions de Morlock leur laissent une certaine autonomie expressive qui les rend agréables à jouer. Sa pièce Blue Sun pour violon et alto, composée en 1998, est écrite de manière à encourager la liberté d’interprétation entre les deux instruments, créant ainsi une sorte d’intimité particulière au moment de l’exécution. Comme elle l’indique dans la partition :

Cette pièce s’articule en sept courtes sections, qui doivent être jouées sans pause. Les deux interprètes lisent la partition. Parfois, la notation proportionnelle est utilisée; à d’autres moments, les rythmes sont indiqués pour l’un des instruments tandis que l’autre dispose d’une plus grande liberté de jeu. Ne vous préoccupez pas trop de l’endroit exact où vous devez jouer la musique notée de façon proportionnelle : insérez-la verticalement entre les notes de l’autre instrumentiste, tout simplement.

En ce qui concerne le sujet de l’œuvre, Morlock le présentait ainsi :

L’expression Blue Sun (« soleil bleu ») fait référence à l’image persistante ou au soleil fantôme qui subsiste dans votre champ de vision après avoir regardé l’astre du jour. Ces pièces ont été écrites à la suite d’une rencontre avec de la musique folklorique qui me hantait; bien qu’elles ne soient pas basées sur elle, les états d’âme caractéristiques de la musique folk les imprègnent néanmoins, s’attardant comme l’image rémanente du soleil.

SEAN RICE

Nouvelle œuvre pour clarinette basse

Animateur des Sessions WolfGANG et deuxième clarinette de l’OCNA, Sean Rice interprète une nouvelle œuvre pour clarinette basse, qu’il a créée spécialement pour ce concert. Il présentera la pièce sur scène.

KATHERINE HOOVER

Kokopeli pour flûte seule

La flûtiste américaine Katherine Hoover (1937-2018) a connu une carrière à multiples facettes, œuvrant à la fois comme interprète, compositrice et chef d’orchestre à New York. Après des études à l’Eastman School of Music et à la Manhattan School of Music (où elle a ensuite enseigné), elle a commencé à écrire de la musique au début des années 1970, à une époque où peu de femmes connaissaient le succès comme compositrices dans le monde de la musique classique contemporaine, dominé par les hommes. Sa production va de compositions pour instruments solistes et de pièces vocales à la musique de chambre et aux œuvres orchestrales, dans lesquelles la compositrice, qui se considérait comme une conteuse d’histoires, évoque des images et stimule les émotions et les sens des auditoires. La flûtiste Zara Lawler a déjà décrit la musique de Hoover comme étant « stimulante et satisfaisante pour les interprètes, tout en étant belle et significative pour le public. Sa musique vous laisse beaucoup d’espace pour vous exprimer, et pourtant, elle est indéniablement reconnaissable à chaque interprétation. »

Plusieurs des œuvres de Hoover s’inspirent des paysages et des cultures autochtones américaines du sud-ouest des États-Unis, comme l’Arizona et le Nouveau-Mexique, car elle était attirée, disait-elle, par « le calme spirituel de la région, les couleurs du ciel et la topographie inusitée ». Kokopeli pour flûte seule est l’une de ces pièces; c’est probablement son œuvre la plus connue, et un classique contemporain du répertoire pour flûte depuis qu’elle a été composée en 1990.

Voici en quels termes elle évoquait elle-même cette œuvre :

Kokopeli, le joueur de flûte, était un grand mahu, ou héros légendaire des Hopis, et d’autres peuples autochtones vivant dans la région du sud-ouest des États-Unis. On dit qu’il a mené les migrations à travers les montagnes et les déserts, le son de sa flûte résonnant dans les grands canyons et les falaises. Dans cette pièce, je me suis efforcée de capturer une partie de cette sensation d’espace et de la profonde parenté des Hopis avec cette terre. Cette œuvre a également été influencée par les mélodies et les sons de la flûte traditionnelle autochtone.

L’interprète dispose d’une grande liberté pour façonner sa lecture de Kokopeli, une œuvre très ouverte qui laisse place à l’improvisation. Cette liberté est favorisée, en partie, par l’absence de divisions en barres de mesure dans la partition. Dans un entretien qu’elle accordait à Flute Talk en 2002, Hoover s’en expliquait comme suit : « Je voulais que les longues phrases fluides puissent être interprétées librement, sans les murs que créent les barres de mesure. En l’absence de barres de mesure, les interprètes réagissent aux sons de l’œuvre ainsi qu’à l’acoustique de la salle, ce qui devrait influencer le tempo, l’interprétation et la durée des silences et des fermatas [pauses]. »

ELEANOR ALBERGA

Succubus Moon pour hautbois et quatuor à cordes

Née en 1949 à Kingston, en Jamaïque, Eleanor Alberga est une compositrice britannique très appréciée, qui a reçu des commandes des BBC Proms et de la Royal Opera House, à Covent Garden. Sa musique, qu’il s’agisse de pièces pour instruments solos, d’œuvres symphoniques de grande envergure ou d’opéras, est jouée dans le monde entier. Après avoir étudié le piano et le chant à la Royal Academy of Music de Londres, elle a entamé une carrière de pianiste soliste qui s’est rapidement enrichie de la composition avec son arrivée, en 1978, au London Contemporary Dance Theatre (LCDT), dont elle allait devenir ultérieurement la directrice musicale, dirigeant, composant et se produisant dans le cadre des nombreuses tournées de la compagnie. Après avoir quitté le LCDT, elle s’est consacrée entièrement à sa vocation de compositrice et, depuis lors, l’intérêt suscité par sa musique, tous genres confondus, a pris rapidement de l’ampleur. En 2015, son œuvre de commande ARISE, ATHENA!, écrite pour l’ouverture de la dernière soirée de la saison des BBC Proms, a consolidé sa réputation de compositrice d’une grande originalité et d’un art consommé. Elle a été élue membre de la Royal Academy of Music en 2020 et a été reçue au sein de l’Ordre de l’Empire britannique (OBE) sur la liste d’honneur de l’anniversaire de la Reine, en 2021, pour services rendus à la musique britannique.

Succubus Moon, pour hautbois et quatuor à cordes, a été commandée par le City of London Festival et créée en 2007 par Alexei Ogrintchouk et le Psophos Quartet. Dans un entretien accordé à Sound Currents sur les ondes du 91,9 Classical Kansas City, la compositrice racontait que ce qui l’avait inspirée pour écrire cette pièce était le désir de surmonter sa peur enfantine de l’obscurité, qui avait refait surface lorsqu’elle et son mari, le violoniste Thomas Bowes, avaient quitté Londres pour s’installer à la campagne anglaise. « Il s’agit de l’attrait et de la beauté de la nuit et de la lune, mais aussi des craintes, je pense, que beaucoup d’enfants et d’adultes éprouvent à l’égard de l’obscurité et du fait de ne pas savoir ce qui se trouve dehors. »

Voici en quels termes elle décrit elle-même Succubus Moon :

Le romantique et le démoniaque se côtoient dans cette œuvre. Au fil des siècles, l’humanité a interprété sa peur de l’obscurité et de l’inconnu comme étant causée par des êtres et des superstitions extérieures à elle; l’une de ces interprétations a donné lieu au mythe des incubes et des succubes, des présences maléfiques qui font du mal aux humains. La pièce juxtapose la lune éthérée, impassible et miroitante, à l’obscurité impénétrable de la nuit, où règne la succube démoniaque et séduisante. Le hautbois est le principal protagoniste, dictant l’ambiance ou reprenant ce que les cordes ont mis en place. Les cordes ont leurs propres épisodes, et se joignent parfois au hautbois dans le matériau principal.

La musique passe d’une faible densité à des sections rythmiques plus appuyées, à des moments oniriques et lunaires, pour finalement se perdre dans le lointain. Vers la fin, on peut entendre un accord inattendu de do majeur – comme une lueur d’espoir tandis que la lune brille au cœur de la terreur primitive.

Notes de programme compilées et rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais)

Artistes

  • Paul Casey
    alto Paul Casey
  • flûte Joanna G’froerer
  • hautbois Anna Petersen
  • violon Marjolaine Lambert
  • violon Mintje van Lier
  • violon Zhengdong (Zane) Liang
  • violoncelle Leah Wyber
  • Hôte et clarinette basse Sean Rice