Truth in Our Time – Live Broadcast

NAC Orchestra 2022 Tour

2022-04-14 20:00 2022-04-14 22:14 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Truth in Our Time – Live Broadcast

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29972

NAC Livestream

*OTTAWA PREMIERE: NAC Orchestra commission of Philip Glass on the theme of Truth In Our Time in tribute to Canadian journalist Peter Jennings. NACO is back on tour! Under the direction of Alexander Shelley, and featuring violin soloist James Ehnes (Gramophone Artist of the Year 2021), NACO presents the world premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13, a work commissioned by the Orchestra on the theme of Truth in Our Time. Celebrate with us and be a part of this exhilarating orchestral...

Read more

Online
Thursday, April 14, 2022
8 PM EDT
NAC Livestream

≈ 2 hours · With intermission

Note from the composer

I started to compose Symphony No. 13 in the summer of 2020 in New York City. My life as a “symphonist” began 30 years ago in 1992 when, at the suggestion of conductor Dennis Russell Davies, I was commissioned to write my First Symphony. While I always thought of myself as a theater composer – which has the virtue of being true – it was Dennis that “didn’t want me to be one of those opera composers who never wrote a symphony.”

So while I have spent the majority of my creative life in theater in one form or another, through friendly coercion and also with great joy I have written a number of symphonies which were purely instrumental, as well as another group which included vocal materials or were based on outside material: poetry, wisdom traditions, and even popular music.

I first heard the National Arts Centre Orchestra live in 2016 at the Glenn Gould Prize concert when they performed my Symphony No. 8. I have had a home in Nova Scotia for over 50 years and come here every year. And a number of my pieces have premiered in Canada over the years. When invited by the NAC Orchestra to compose a new work, I began to think of a new full-scale instrumental symphony to be part of their program “Truth in Our Time.” The piece is part of the kind of music which I view to be a new body of work that started with Symphony No. 11 from five years ago.  The journey continues to explore my own ideas about the language of music as it has evolved for me in the form of these symphonies.

What can a piece of music express about the idea of truth? When we consider a figure like Peter Jennings, a Canadian by birth, an immigrant, a journalist, an American by choice, rather than making a proclamation about “what is truth,” for the composer we are on much better ground when we talk about “This is the music that I listen to, this is the music that I like, and this is the music that I write.”

Philip Glass, January 2022, New York City

Last updated: March 22, 2022

The world premiere of the work was given by the NAC Orchestra in Toronto on March 30, 2022; followed by the U.S. premiere at Carnegie Hall in New York on April 5, 2022. Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13 receives its Southam Hall debut on April 13 & 14, 2022.

Repertoire

Nicole Lizée

Zeiss After Dark

Canadian Nicole Lizée (b. 1973) is an award-winning composer and video artist who creates new music from an eclectic mix of influences, including the earliest MTV videos, turntablism, rave culture, Hitchcock, Kubrick, Alexander McQueen, thrash metal, early video game culture, 1960s psychedelia, and 1960s modernism. Hailed by the CBC as a “brilliant musical scientist”, she is fascinated by the glitches made by outmoded and well-worn technology and captures these glitches, notates them, and integrates them into live performance. Lizée’s compositions range from works for orchestra and solo turntablist featuring DJ techniques fully notated and integrated into a concert music setting, to other unorthodox instrument combinations that include the Atari 2600 video game console, omnichords, stylophones, Simon™, vintage board games, and karaoke tapes. In the broad scope of her evolving oeuvre, she explores such themes as malfunction, reviving the obsolete, and the harnessing of imperfection and glitch to create a new kind of precision. Her commission list to date is comprised of over 50 works for numerous distinguished artists and ensembles.

Zeiss After Dark was a co-commission of the National Arts Centre Orchestra and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, as one of 40 co-commissioned “Sesquies”—two-minute concert openers—to celebrate Canada’s Sesquicentennial in 2017. Premiered by the NAC Orchestra in Ottawa on February 23, 2017, it has since been performed by other ensembles. Lizée provides this description of her “Sesquie”:

Stanley Kubrick and cinematographer John Alcott filmed the unprecedented “candlelight scene” in Barry Lyndon using three-wick candles as the only light source. The resulting scene was unlike any other in cinema history for its look—gauzy and akin to a moving oil painting. The creativity and technical ingenuity required to capture this decidedly organic effect was considerable. Cameras with custom-mounted Zeiss lenses designed for NASA were Kubrick’s solution to an almost insurmountable problem of light. In writing this piece, I imagined a sonic equivalent: a musical work that brings sound into focus through techniques that emulate the conditions involved in ultra lowlight—glow, flicker, bokeh—reimagined for orchestra. 

Scored for woodwind, brass, timpani, and percussion, Lizée draws on their distinctive timbres (as well as requiring the musicians to hand clap) to musically capture this cinematic low light technique.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

YAO

Strange Absurdity

Shostakovich

Symphony No. 9 in E-flat major, Op. 70

I. Allegro
II. Moderato
III. Presto –
IV. Largo – 
V. Allegretto

After Dmitry Shostakovich’s (1906–1975) Ninth Symphony premiered on November 3, 1945, by the Leningrad Philharmonic conducted by Yevgeny Mravinsky, it was clear by critical reaction that what was heard was not what had been expected. To be sure, the composer initially projected a kind of “heroic victory symphony”, one that could effectively memorialize the contributions of the Soviet people in the war effort against Nazism. In the end, the Ninth seemed to fall short; its comparatively lighthearted character was deemed to be an inappropriate response to—and reflection of—the post-war mood. The Soviet cultural authorities appeared to have felt this, and in 1948, they barred the Ninth Symphony (and other works by Shostakovich) from further performance. Only after Stalin’s death in 1953 was the ban lifted; the work was featured in concerts again beginning in 1955. 

It’s possible that it was thought the Ninth Symphony would display, for example, a clearly defined emotional arc of victory over suffering. However, even such tropes are never just what they are at face value in Shostakovich’s music. There is frequently embedded a subtext of dark irony, which the composer honed from years of writing music under the deep scrutiny of Stalin and his Party. It’s worth considering that Shostakovich was aware that writing a “heroic victory symphony” would mean celebrating Stalin and his Party, who had previously murdered thousands, and whose oppressive regime, under which the composer had already suffered a very public denunciation in 1936, would resume after the war. Thus, it seemed impossible to create such a work while providing an authentic emotional outlet for what the Soviet people had been through. Perhaps, then, the bitter irony of this situation can only be expressed by the darkly humorous music of the Ninth.

The opening Allegro is a comic affair with two main themes: a jaunty motif introduced by the first violins, and later, a cheeky tune piped by the piccolo, announced boisterously by the trombone with timpani and snare drum. (One can’t help but hear circus music in the latter.) Tension builds as the themes develop, becoming caricatures of themselves as they reach a frenzied climax. The key melodies are reprised but given new instrumentation and context, the movement’s darker edge becomes more evident.

Solo clarinet begins the second movement with a kind of melancholy, off-kilter waltz melody, which is then taken up by the flute, along with the bassoon. The strings lumber in with an anxious ascending passage, over which oboe and clarinet rise in lament. Solo flute brings back the main theme, after which the strings’ lumbering passage also returns, but at a higher register; they break through to an ethereal peak. The piccolo closes the movement with a plaintive final rendition of the opening melody.

The last three movements are played through without pause. The Presto is a highly theatrical Scherzo of mercurial brilliance. Solo clarinet takes the lead again, this time with a sparkling theme, which is then played by woodwinds, and later, strings. In the trio, the trumpet blasts a lampoon of a song tune. After the Scherzo’s return, the pace slows and the mood takes a solemn turn, leading into the fourth movement, which begins with a stentorian passage of menacing dotted rhythms played by trombones and tuba. This ominous “announcement” alternates with a meditative bassoon solo of elegiac quality. Is this music looking back at the war or forward, as a portent of things to come? Whatever it is, it doesn’t dwell here for long. As if shaking off bad memories or future concerns, the bassoon starts the finale with a charming tune, which is reprised throughout in various guises. The strings later present a robust theme. Gradually, the orchestra advances with the main melody; the pace suddenly quickens, eventually reaching a climax—the light-stepping tune now a military march. (Whether this is an authentic or forced celebration is open to interpretation). The tempo picks up again, and the orchestra scampers to the symphony’s end.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Korngold

Concerto in D Major, Opus 35, for Violin and Orchestra (James Ehnes, soloist)

I. Moderato nobile
II. Romance
III. Finale

Erich Korngold (1897–1957) composed his Violin Concerto during the summer of 1945. At the time, he was living in Hollywood with his family, in exile from his native Vienna since 1938, away from the Second World War being fought in Europe. He dedicated the work to Alma Mahler-Werfel, a friend, and also a recent émigré to Los Angeles with her husband, the writer Franz Werfel. The Concerto was premiered on February 15, 1947 by soloist Jascha Heifetz with the St. Louis Symphony directed by Vladimir Golschmann.

After a childhood as a celebrated musical prodigy and a burgeoning career as a leading composer of opera and concert music in Europe, since 1935, Korngold had been writing almost exclusively film scores for Hollywood. While this was a career move that ultimately helped save him (he was Jewish), his family, and his music from Nazi persecution, he intended to return to what he was doing before, back in Vienna, once the war was over. The Violin Concerto was intended to facilitate his “comeback”. He finally returned in 1949 (following a major heart attack in 1947) but soon found himself an outsider: the younger generation seemed to not know of him, and he was dismissed for being “merely” a film composer. Furthermore, his post-war concert works, including his Violin Concerto, were criticized for being “old fashioned”—their sumptuous harmonies and passionate melodies characteristic of late Romantic, fin-de-siècle style were felt to be out of touch with more modern idioms and the traumas of the Second World War. He died thinking he’d be largely forgotten, but in the 1970s, interest his film scores sparked renewed attention to his concert works. Today, his Violin Concerto is now an established work in the concert hall and on recordings, beloved by violinists and enjoyed by audiences everywhere.

In his own introductory note to the Violin Concerto, Korngold wrote, in 1947, “I have always remained true to my own beliefs; that music should be melodic, and as an old Viennese master used to preach and teach to me—‘wohllautend’ (well sounding).” It suggests that Korngold strongly felt that even after the horrors of war, there is still a place for music that is beautiful and hopeful, full of adventure and fantasy, like his symphonic film scores. In fact, the Concerto itself draws on music he composed for four movies in the late 1930s. The first movement’s noble opening theme, introduced by the solo violin, is from Another Dawn (1936). It becomes a refrain throughout, structurally delineating key sections: a quicksilver transition, followed by a tenderly passionate second theme, this one from the score to Juarez (1939); then another fast section, including the solo violinist’s cadenza, after which the main themes are reprised, inventively rescored. The movement closes with a flourish. 

The Romance is a dreamy, rhapsodic song for violin on a melody from Korngold’s score to Anthony Adverse (1936), which had earned him an Oscar. It bookends an atmospheric contrasting section evocative of night. A vigorous dance of a finale follows. Based on music from another film score, The Prince and the Pauper (1937), this is a virtuosic tour-de-force for the soloist, giving this Concerto a dazzling finish. 

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Philip Glass

Symphony No. 13*

Through his operas, his symphonies, his compositions for his own ensemble, and his wide-ranging collaborations with artists ranging from Twyla Tharp to Allen Ginsberg, Leonard Cohen to David Bowie, American composer Philip Glass has had an extraordinary and unprecedented impact upon the musical and intellectual life of his times. He is the first composer to win a wide, multi-generational audience in the opera house, the concert hall, the dance world, in film, and in popular music—simultaneously. Over the last 25 years, he has completed over 25 operas, 12 symphonies, 13 concertos, film soundtracks, nine string quartets, and a growing body of work for solo piano and organ. 

Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13 was commissioned for Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra by the Jennings family as a tribute to the late Toronto-born Canadian journalist Peter Jennings. A highly respected news anchor for ABC News, Jennings was also a trustee of Carnegie Hall during his years in New York City, the founding director of the American chapter of the Friends of the NAC Orchestra, and served as a lifelong champion of Canadian artists generally. The world premiere of the work was given by the NAC Orchestra in Toronto on March 30, 2022; tonight’s performance is the Symphony’s U.S. premiere.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

NAC Orchestra

FIRST VIOLINS
Yosuke Kawasaki (concertmaster)
Jessica Linnebach (associate concertmaster)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistant concertmaster)
Elaine Klimasko**
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Leah Roseman**
Marc Djokic*
Martine Dubé*
Amy Hillis*
Soo Gyeong Lee*
Erica Miller*
Heather Schnarr* 

SECOND VIOLINS
Mintje van Lier (principal)
Winston Webber (assistant principal)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
Frédéric Moisan
Edvard Skerjanc**
Karoly Sziladi
Emily Westell
Andréa Armijo-Fortin*
Renée London*
Sara Mastrangelo*

VIOLAS
Jethro Marks (principal)
David Marks (associate principal)
David Goldblatt (assistant principal)
Paul Casey
Ren Martin-Doike
David Thies-Thompson
Mary-Kathryn Stevens*

CELLOS
Rachel Mercer (principal)
Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)
Timothy McCoy
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
Karen Kang*
Thaddeus Morden*

DOUBLE BASSES
Max Cardilli (guest principal)*
Hilda Cowie (acting assistant principal)
Marjolaine Fournier
Vincent Gendron
Paul Mach*

FLUTES
Joanna G’froerer (principal)
Stephanie Morin
Dakota Martin*

OBOES
Charles Hamann (principal)
Anna Petersen

ENGLISH HORN
Anna Petersen

CLARINETS
Kimball Sykes (principal)
Sean Rice
Shauna Barker*

BASSOONS
Darren Hicks (guest principal)*
Vincent Parizeau

HORNS
Lawrence Vine (principal)
Julie Fauteux (associate principal)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron

TRUMPETS
Karen Donnelly (principal)
Steven van Gulik
Michael Fedyshyn*

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (principal)
Colin Traquair

BASS TROMBONE
Douglas Burden

TUBA
Chris Lee (principal)

TIMPANI
Feza Zweifel (principal)

PERCUSSION
Jonathan Wade
Julia Chien*

HARP
Angela Schwarzkopf*

CELESTE
Olga Gross*
 

PRINCIPAL LIBRARIAN
Nancy Elbeck

ASSISTANT LIBRARIAN
Corey Rempel

PERSONNEL MANAGER
Meiko Lydall

ASSISTANT PERSONNEL MANAGER
Laurie Shannon

*Additional musicians
**On leave
Non-titled members of the Orchestra are listed alphabetically

Menu

La vérité à l’ère moderne – Diffusion en direct

Tournée 2022 de l’Orchestre du CNA

Mot du compositeur

J’ai commencé à composer la Symphonie no 13 durant l’été 2020 à New York. Ma vie en tant que « symphoniste » a commencé 30 ans plus tôt, en 1992, lorsque le chef d’orchestre Dennis Russel Davies m’a demandé d’écrire ma première symphonie. Même si je me suis toujours vu comme un compositeur de théâtre, ce qui a le mérite d’être vrai, c’est Dennis qui « ne voulait pas que je devienne un de ces compositeurs d’opéra qui n’ont jamais écrit de symphonie ».

J’ai donc passé la majorité de ma vie créative dans le théâtre, sous une forme ou une autre. Toutefois, par la force d’une pression amicale et aussi avec une grande joie, j’ai écrit quelques symphonies, qui étaient purement instrumentales. J’ai aussi composé d’autres groupes, qui comportaient des éléments vocaux ou se basaient sur du matériel extérieur : la poésie, la sagesse traditionnelle et même la musique populaire.

J’ai entendu l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts en direct pour la première fois en 2016 au concert du Prix Glenn Gould. Il avait alors joué ma Symphonie no 8. Je possède une maison en Nouvelle-Écosse depuis plus de 50 ans et je viens ici chaque année. Un bon nombre de mes œuvres ont eu fait leurs débuts au Canada au fil des années. Lorsque l’Orchestre du CNA m’a demandé de composer une nouvelle œuvre, j’ai pensé à une nouvelle symphonie instrumentale d’envergure qui s’inscrirait dans le programme « La vérité à l’ère moderne ». L’œuvre fait partie du genre musical que je considérais comme une nouvelle matière de travail commencée cinq ans plus tôt avec Symphonie no 11. C’est un voyage pour continuer à explorer mes propres idées sur le langage de la musique, qui a, pour moi, évolué sous la forme de ces symphonies.

Qu’est-ce qu’une œuvre musicale peut bien dire sur l’idée de la vérité? Quand on se penche sur une personnalité comme Peter Jennings, un Canadien de naissance, un immigrant, un journaliste et un américain par choix, au lieu de se prononcer sur « ce qui est la vérité », en tant que compositeur, il est plus juste de dire : « Voici la musique que j’écoute, voici la musique que j’aime et voici la musique que je compose ».

Philip Glass, janvier 2022, New York City

L’œuvre a été présentée en première mondiale par l’Orchestre du CNA à Toronto le 30 mars 2022, puis en première américaine au Carnegie Hall (New York) le 5 avril 2022. La Symphonie no 13 de Philip Glass fera ses débuts à la Salle Southam les 13 et 14 avril 2022.

Nicole Lizée

Zeiss After Dark

La Canadienne Nicole Lizée (née en 1973) est une compositrice et vidéaste primée qui crée de la musique nouvelle à partir d’un mélange éclectique d’influences, dont les premières vidéos MTV, le platinisme, la culture rave, Hitchcock, Kubrick, Alexander McQueen, le thrash metal, les débuts de la culture des jeux vidéo, et le psychédélisme et le modernisme des années 1960. Saluée par la CBC comme une « brillante scientifique musicale », elle est fascinée par les dysfonctionnements de la technologie défraîchie et surannée, qu’elle capte, note et intègre à ses prestations en direct. Ses compositions vont des œuvres pour orchestre et platiniste combinées à des techniques de mixage entièrement transcrites et intégrées à un concert de musique, à des combinaisons d’instruments assez inusités comme la console de jeu Atari 2600, l’omnichord, le stylophone, le Simon™, des jeux de société vintage et des bandes de karaoké. Dans le large éventail de son œuvre en constante évolution, elle explore des thèmes comme le dysfonctionnement, l’idée de donner une nouvelle vie à ce qui est obsolète, et l’exploitation de l’imperfection et de la défaillance pour créer un nouveau type de précision. La liste des commandes qu’elle a honorées à ce jour comprend plus de 50 œuvres pour de nombreux artistes et ensembles de renom.

Zeiss After Dark est le fruit d’une commande conjointe de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts et de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, et figurait parmi les 40 ‘Sesquies’ – des pièces d’ouverture de concert de deux minutes chacune – commandées conjointement à différents compositeurs pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire (« sesquicentenaire ») du Canada en 2017. Créée par l’Orchestre du CNA à Ottawa le 23 février 2017, l’œuvre a été jouée par d’autres ensembles par la suite. Mme Lizée décrit sa composition en ces termes :

Dans le film Barry Lyndon, Stanley Kubrick et le directeur photo John Alcott n’ont utilisé comme éclairage que trois bougies pour la fameuse « scène à la chandelle ». Le résultat : une scène comme nulle autre dans l’histoire du cinéma, un aspect diaphane rappelant un tableau à l’huile en mouvement. La créativité et l’ingéniosité technique requises pour créer cet effet pour le moins organique étaient considérables. Des caméras dotées de lentilles Zeiss conçues pour la NASA se sont avérées la solution au problème d’éclairage quasi insurmontable de Kubrick. En composant cette pièce, je me représentais un équivalent sonique : une œuvre musicale qui met en lumière le son au moyen de techniques imitant les conditions de très faible luminosité – incandescence, papillotement, bokeh – recréées pour un orchestre.

Composée pour les instruments à vent, les cuivres, les timbales et les percussions, l’œuvre s’appuie sur les timbres distinctifs de ces instruments (et demande aux musiciens de frapper dans les mains) pour capturer musicalement cette technique cinématographique de faible éclairage.

Notes de programme par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais)

YAO

Strange Absurdity

Chostakovitch

Symphonie nº 9 en mi bémol majeur, opus 70

I.   Allegro
II.  Moderato
III. Presto –
IV. Largo – 
V.  Allegretto

Après la création de la Neuvième symphonie de Dmitri Chostakovitch (1906-1975), le 3 novembre 1945, par l’Orchestre philharmonique de Leningrad sous la direction d’Evgueni Mravinski, la réaction de la critique a montré clairement qu’on n’avait pas entendu l’œuvre qu’on attendait. Certes, le compositeur avait initialement prévu une sorte de « symphonie de la victoire héroïque », qui pourrait commémorer avec éloquence la contribution du peuple soviétique à l’effort de guerre contre le nazisme. Mais pour finir, la Neuvième n’a pas comblé ces attentes; son caractère relativement léger a été considéré comme une réponse inappropriée à l’humeur de l’après-guerre, et comme un reflet de ce climat particulier. Les autorités culturelles soviétiques l’ont fort probablement ressenti et, en 1948, elles ont interdit toute nouvelle exécution de la Neuvième symphonie (et d’autres œuvres de Chostakovitch). Ce n’est qu’après la mort de Staline, en 1953, que l’interdiction a été levée; l’œuvre a été jouée de nouveau en concert à partir de 1955. 

Sans doute avait-on espéré que la Neuvième symphonie allait épouser, par exemple, un arc narratif clairement défini relatant la trajectoire émotionnelle qui mène de la souffrance à la victoire. Cependant, même de tels tropes ne sont jamais ce qu’ils paraissent être à première vue dans la musique de Chostakovitch. On y trouve souvent un sous-texte d’une sombre ironie, que le compositeur a affiné au fil des années passées à écrire de la musique sous le regard inquisiteur de Staline et de son parti. Il faut savoir que Chostakovitch était conscient qu’écrire une « symphonie de la victoire héroïque » reviendrait à célébrer Staline et son parti, qui avaient auparavant assassiné des milliers de personnes et dont le régime oppressif, sous lequel le compositeur avait déjà subi une dénonciation très publique en 1936, allait reprendre après la guerre. Il semblait donc impossible de créer une telle œuvre tout en offrant un authentique exutoire émotionnel à ce que le peuple soviétique avait vécu. L’amère ironie de cette situation ne pouvait être mieux exprimée, peut-être, que par l’humour noir de la Neuvième.

L’Allegro d’ouverture, résolument comique, présente deux thèmes principaux : un motif jovial introduit par les premiers violons et, plus tard, un air irrévérencieux exposé par le piccolo, annoncé de façon tapageuse par le trombone avec timbales et caisse claire. (Ce dernier thème évoque irrésistiblement de la musique de cirque.) La tension monte à mesure que les thèmes se développent, devenant des caricatures d’eux-mêmes lorsqu’ils atteignent un point culminant frénétique. Les mélodies clés sont reprises, mais dans une nouvelle instrumentation et un nouveau contexte qui font apparaître l’aspect plus sombre du mouvement.

La clarinette solo amorce le deuxième mouvement avec un genre d’air de valse mélancolique et décalé, qui est ensuite repris par la flûte et le basson. Les cordes se lancent dans un passage ascendant angoissant, sur lequel se découpent les plaintes du hautbois et de la clarinette. La flûte solo ramène le thème principal, après quoi les cordes reviennent également, mais dans un registre plus aigu, jusqu’à atteindre un sommet éthéré. Le piccolo clôt le mouvement avec une dernière interprétation plaintive de la mélodie d’ouverture.

Les trois derniers mouvements sont enchaînés sans pause. Le Presto est un scherzo hautement théâtral à l’éclat chatoyant. La clarinette solo prend à nouveau les devants, cette fois avec un thème étincelant qui est ensuite joué par les vents, puis par les cordes. Dans le trio, la trompette fait éclater la caricature d’une mélodie. Après le retour du scherzo, le rythme ralentit et le climat prend un tour solennel, menant au quatrième mouvement qui s’amorce avec un passage retentissant et menaçant joué par les trombones et le tuba sur des rythmes pointés. Cette sinistre « annonce » alterne avec un solo de basson méditatif de caractère élégiaque. Cette musique pose-t-elle un regard rétrospectif sur la guerre ou prospectif sur la suite des choses? Quoi qu’il en soit, elle ne s’y attarde pas longtemps. Comme pour secouer les mauvais souvenirs ou les inquiétudes face à l’avenir, le basson entame le finale sur un air plein de charme, qui est repris tout au long du mouvement sous diverses formes. Les cordes présentent ensuite un thème robuste. Peu à peu, l’orchestre progresse avec la mélodie principale; le rythme s’accélère soudainement, pour finalement atteindre un point culminant – l’air léger devient une marche militaire. (Quant à savoir s’il s’agit d’une célébration authentique ou forcée, ça reste ouvert à l’interprétation). Le tempo s’accélère à nouveau, et l’orchestre s’élance vers la conclusion de la symphonie.

Notes de programme par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais)

Korngold

Concerto pour violon et orchestre en ré majeur, opus 35 (James Ehnes, soliste)

I.   Moderato nobile
II.  Romance
III. Finale

Erich Korngold (1897-1957) a composé son Concerto pour violon au cours de l’été 1945. À l’époque, il vivait à Hollywood avec sa famille, exilé de sa Vienne natale depuis 1938 pour échapper à la Seconde Guerre mondiale qui se déroulait en Europe. Il a dédié l’œuvre à Alma Mahler-Werfel, une amie récemment émigrée à Los Angeles, elle aussi, avec son mari, l’écrivain Franz Werfel. Le Concerto a été créé le 15 février 1947 par le violoniste Jascha Heifetz avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Saint-Louis dirigé par Vladimir Golschmann.

Après une enfance de musicien prodige qui l’avait rendu célèbre, et une carrière florissante de compositeur d’opéra et de musique de concert de premier plan en Europe, Korngold n’écrivait presque plus, depuis 1935, que des musiques de film pour Hollywood. Bien que ce changement de carrière lui ait permis d’échapper, de même que sa famille et sa musique, aux persécutions nazies (il était juif), il comptait bien revenir, une fois la guerre terminée, à ce qu’il faisait auparavant à Vienne. Le Concerto pour violon était destiné à faciliter son « retour ». Il est finalement rentré au bercail en 1949 (après avoir subi une grave crise cardiaque en 1947), mais il s’est vite retrouvé exclu : la jeune génération semblait ne pas le connaître et on le mettait à l’écart parce qu’il n’était « que » compositeur de musique de film. Qui plus est, ses œuvres de concert d’après-guerre, notamment son Concerto pour violon, ont été critiquées pour leur caractère « démodé » – leurs somptueuses harmonies et leurs mélodies passionnées, caractéristiques du style romantique tardif de la fin du XIXe siècle, ont été jugées déconnectées des idiomes plus modernes et des traumatismes de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il est mort en se disant qu’on allait certainement l’oublier, mais dans les années 1970, l’intérêt pour ses musiques de film a suscité un regain d’attention pour ses œuvres de concert. Aujourd’hui, son Concerto pour violon est une œuvre établie tant dans les salles de concert que sur disque, aimée des violonistes et appréciée par les auditoires du monde entier.

Dans sa propre note d’introduction au Concerto pour violon, Korngold écrivait, en 1947 : « Je suis toujours resté fidèle à mes convictions, à savoir que la musique doit être mélodique et, comme un vieux maître viennois avait l’habitude de me le prêcher et de me l’enseigner, wohllautend (bien sonner). » Cela donne à penser que Korngold croyait fermement, même après les horreurs de la guerre, qu’il y avait toujours une place pour une musique belle et remplie d’espoir, débordant d’aventure et de fantaisie, à l’image de ses musiques de film symphoniques. En fait, le Concerto lui-même s’inspire de la musique qu’il a composée pour quatre films à la fin des années 1930. Le noble thème d’ouverture du premier mouvement, introduit par le violon solo, est tiré d’Another Dawn (« La tornade » en v.f., 1936). Il devient un refrain tout au long du mouvement, délimitant structurellement des sections clés : une transition vive, suivie d’un second thème tendrement passionné, celui-ci tiré de la partition de Juarez (1939); vient ensuite une autre section rapide, comportant la cadence du violon solo, après laquelle les thèmes principaux sont repris de manière inventive. Le mouvement s’achève sur un passage ornementé. 

La Romance est une mélodie rêveuse et rhapsodique pour violon sur un air tiré de la partition de Korngold pour Anthony Adverse (1936), pour laquelle il avait reçu un Oscar. Elle conclut une section atmosphérique contrastée qui évoque la nuit. Une vigoureuse danse finale s’ensuit. Basé sur une autre musique de film, The Prince and the Pauper (« Le Prince et le Pauvre » en v.f., 1937), c’est un tour de force virtuose pour le soliste, qui donne à ce concerto une éclatante conclusion. 

Notes de programme par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais)

Philip Glass

Symphonie n° 13*

Avec ses opéras, ses symphonies, ses compositions pour son propre ensemble et ses abondantes collaborations avec des artistes allant de Twyla Tharp à Allen Ginsberg, de Leonard Cohen à David Bowie, le compositeur américain Philip Glass a exercé une influence extraordinaire et sans précédent sur la vie musicale et intellectuelle de son époque. Il est le premier compositeur à avoir conquis simultanément un large public multigénérationnel à l’opéra, dans les salles de concert, dans le monde de la danse, au cinéma et dans la musique populaire. Au cours des vingt-cinq dernières années, il a composé plus de vingt-cinq opéras, douze symphonies, treize concertos, des bandes originales de films, neuf quatuors à cordes, et un nombre croissant d’œuvres pour piano et orgue solo. 

La Symphonie no 13 de Philip Glass a été commandée pour l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada par la famille Jennings, en hommage au regretté journaliste canadien Peter Jennings, né à Toronto. Présentateur de nouvelles très respecté pour ABC News, Jennings a également été administrateur du Carnegie Hall pendant les années qu’il a passées à New York, directeur fondateur de la section américaine des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, et s’est fait toute sa vie l’ardent promoteur des artistes canadiens en général. L’œuvre a été présentée en première mondiale par l’Orchestre du CNA à Toronto le 30 mars 2022; le concert de ce soir marque la première américaine de la symphonie.

Notes de programme par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais)


Orchestre du CNA

PREMIERS VIOLONS
Yosuke Kawasaki (violon solo)
Jessica Linnebach (violon solo associée)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistante violon solo)
Elaine Klimasko**
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Leah Roseman**
Marc Djokic*
Martine Dubé*
Amy Hillis*
Soo Gyeong Lee*
Erica Miller*
Heather Schnarr*

SECONDS VIOLONS
Mintje van Lier (solo)
Winston Webber (assistant solo)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
Frédéric Moisan
Edvard Skerjanc**
Karoly Sziladi
Emily Westell
Andréa Armijo-Fortin*
Renée London*
Sara Mastrangelo*

ALTOS
Jethro Marks (solo)
David Marks (solo associé)
David Goldblatt (assistant solo)
Paul Casey
Ren Martin-Doike
David Thies-Thompson
Mary-Kathryn Stevens*

VIOLONCELLES
Rachel Mercer (principal)
Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)
Timothy McCoy
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
Karen Kang*
Thaddeus Morden*

CONTREBASSES
Max Cardilli (solo invite)*
Hilda Cowie (assistante solo par intérim)
Marjolaine Fournier
Vincent Gendron
Paul Mach*

FLÛTES
Joanna G’froerer (solo)
Stephanie Morin
Dakota Martin*

HAUTBOIS
Charles Hamann (solo)
Anna Petersen

COR ANGLAIS
Anna Petersen

CLARINETTES
Kimball Sykes (solo)
Sean Rice
Shauna Barker*

BASSONS
Darren Hicks (solo invité)*
Vincent Parizeau

CORS
Lawrence Vine (solo)
Julie Fauteux (solo associée)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron

TROMPETTES
Karen Donnelly (solo)
Steven van Gulik
Michael Fedyshyn*

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (solo)
Colin Traquair

TROMBONE BASSE
Douglas Burden

TUBA
Chris Lee (solo)

TIMBALES
Feza Zweifel (solo)

PERCUSSIONS
Jonathan Wade
Julia Chien*

HARPE
Angela Schwarzkopf* 

CELESTE
Olga Gross*
 

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE PRINCIPALE
Nancy Elbeck

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE ADJOINT
Corey Rempel

CHEF DU PERSONNEL
Meiko Lydall

CHEF ADJOINTE DU PERSONNEL
Laurie Shannon

*Musiciens surnuméraires
** En congé
Les membres de l’Orchestre sans fonction attitrée sont cités en ordre alphabétique

Menu