October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Stray Birds

NACO at the Fourth
Kevin Lau

In the Garden of Endless Sleep for oboe and piano

Inspired by a fictitious place in Gene Wolfe’s science fiction novel The Book of the New Sun, Kevin Lau (b. 1982) was sparked by an image of “a garden that moves through time, flickering between present, past, and future” to create In the Garden of Endless Sleep for oboe and piano (2020). He notes that the piece explores the “idea of viewing the garden—a cultivated slice of natural beauty—through various stages of growth and decay.” He was also interested in capturing the juxtaposition of “simplicity versus impermeability,” as influenced by Wolfe’s elusive prose. In Lau’s words:

I tried to capture this in part by evoking musical memories from older time periods in a somewhat hazy fashion, and in part through texture—in particular, the use of the piano’s sustained pedal to blur certain harmonies together. The structure of the piece is “fuzzy” as well, invoking not so much rondo form as its afterimage. Although there is an earthy, organic aspect to the piece—the melodious but often asymmetric oboe lines, for example, suggesting the contours of vines and roots and the sprawl of overgrown vegetation—the music is otherwise steeped in a dream-like and uneasy vagueness. 

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

ALISON YUN-FEI JIANG

Stray Birds for wind quintet

In her recent works, Canadian composer Alison Yun-Fei Jiang (b. 1992) incorporates themes of cultural displacement, contemplating on the clashing and merging of cultural identities manifested in her own musical language. In 2020, she was announced as one of the NAC’s new Carrefour Composers, a program in partnership with the Canada Council. She shares the following description about her first commission as Carrefour composer, a composition for wind quintet, Stray Birds (2021):

Stray Birds is a musical meditation on the poetics of birds; it is a metaphorical narrative and a personal response to the topics of travel, diaspora, and home.
 

During the pandemic, with travel constrained and everything working remotely, I have spent more time at home in Toronto than I have in years. I have found myself increasingly appreciating and finding joy in simple things, such as birdwatching from my window and during my daily walks around the neighbourhood. Seeing the free-spirited birds around home brings me comfort and happiness; this piece celebrates such simple happiness. There are moments when the music sounds like birds taking off, flapping their wings, singing, and engaging in chatter. As I find an association between birds’ migration and the human immigration experience, this piece is also a metaphorical “flight”, where one travels and migrates from a bird’s-eye view, experiences a journey of diaspora and displacement, and finally lands at home. The journey is personal and transformative; memories from the past become broken, fragmented, and distorted, and one’s identity becomes reincarnated and reborn. In composing, I channelled the dramaturgy, lyricism, and storytelling from the southern Chinese opera that I grew up immersed in. To musically and metaphorically convey a sense of a fragmented past and a transformed identity, I made the piece sometimes collage-like, often childlike and direct, almost theatrical and, at one point, reiterative in a kind of flow state.
 

This piece also celebrates spring, as I wrote it around the time of the Lunar New Year and had the Chinese renao concept in mind (it literally translates to “hot and spicy” and is a word used to convey a sense of festivity, bustling activity, and liveliness). I hope that, with the help of our fantastic wind quintet, this music can “take flight” like the free-spirited birds. I hope it brings some comfort and joy to the listeners, just as the birds did for me.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

AMY BEACH

Pastorale for wind quintet, Op. 151

While Lau’s work considers nature’s more enigmatic qualities, Amy Beach’s Pastorale evokes the serene and idyllic aspects of nature and being out in nature. By the time Beach (1867–1944) wrote it in June 1941, she was a celebrated American composer and one of the most frequently performed of her generation. She completed it during what would be her final residence at the MacDowell Colony, an artist retreat located in Peterborough, New Hampshire, where she had regularly spent time to compose, close to nature, for the past 20 years. 

In substance, Pastorale is in fact a reworking of two earlier versions (the first for flute, cello, and piano, the second for cello and organ) that she had composed during her first residency at the MacDowell Colony in 1921. In this version, which is also her only work for woodwind quintet, motifs from the original theme are distributed between the instruments in counterpoint. It begins very softly in the warm lower registers of the clarinet and oboe, with the characteristic “drone” intoned by the horn and bassoon. A key change signals the middle section, during which the parts increase in volume and expand in pitch range, thus intensifying the mood before returning to the initial tranquility at the conclusion. 

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

SAMUEL BARBER

Summer Music for wind quintet, Op. 31

American composer Samuel Barber (1910–1981) wrote Summer Music in 1955, to fulfill a commission from the Chamber Music Society of Detroit (it was financed, remarkably for the time, through public donations similar to today’s crowdfunding campaigns). Although the work was premiered in March 1956 by the principal players of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, Barber composed it with the New York Wind Quintet in mind. After initially meeting the group’s members in January 1955, he observed them working in rehearsal, during which they explored techniques of producing unique sonorities as an ensemble. When the Quintet read through the finished work for the first time, flutist Samuel Baron expressed delight at what the composer had created for them: “We were completely gassed! What a wonderful new quintet conception. [Barber] has written some of our favourite effects.” After the premiere, Barber decided to shorten the piece, in consultation with the Quintet, to the final version that is performed today.

Summer Music unfolds continuously in one movement, structured as a series of episodes during which main themes are presented and return. It opens with a slow introduction featuring  a gentle pulsating theme first introduced by the horn and bassoon, evoking the languor of a hot summer’s day or night. A tender melody of darker character follows, a kind of melancholy serenade played by the oboe. The mood lifts, with the instruments “chattering” on a playful rhythmic motive, after which an even livelier section of shifting rhythmic patterns ensues. The principal themes are then reintroduced in reverse order. Later, a new urgency takes hold, intensifying to a grand climax; it eventually dissolves, returning to the opening mood before the ensemble closes with a virtuosic flourish. 

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

POULENC

Trio for oboe, bassoon and piano

I. Presto
II. Andante
III. Rondo

Tonight’s concert closes with a witty sparkler by Parisian composer Francis Poulenc (1899–1963): his Trio for oboe, bassoon, and piano. He began work on it in 1924 (following the sensational success of his ballet score Les biches for Sergei Diaghilev and the Ballet russes) and, through a rather painstaking creative process, finally completed it in 1926. The composer himself performed the piano part at the Trio’s premiere at Paris’s Salle des Agriculteurs on May 2, 1926.

Poulenc considered this work to be one of importance for him, and later in his life, expressed that “I’m rather fond of my Trio because it sounds well and its sections balance each other.” Along with textural clarity and formal balance, the Trio displays other signature Poulencian aspects from the early period of his compositional career—clever twists on 18th century European music styles; a tonal harmonic palette though spiked with acerbic dissonances; and expressive melodies for which he had an evident gift. After an introduction of somewhat mock seriousness and grandeur, a vivacious theme begins the first movement proper. This melody bookends a sequence of sections, each presenting a new tune or motive, unfolding like vignettes of an operatic drama in which the oboe and bassoon are the main characters.

The Andante is the emotional heart of the piece, with the oboe and bassoon singing a “sweet and melancholic” (Poulenc’s words) duet. Shifting harmonies in the piano part create a dreamy and poignant atmosphere. A perky theme of unrelenting good cheer launches the concluding Rondo; it alternates with contrasting moments of martial spirit and lyrical tenderness, the latter incorporating lush romantic harmonies and rhapsodic piano writing. 

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Menu

Oiseaux errants

L'OCNA à la Quatrième
Kevin Lau

In the Garden of Endless Sleep pour hautbois et piano

Inspiré par un lieu fictif dans la nouvelle de science-fiction de Gene Wolfe Le livre du Nouveau Soleil, Kevin Lau (né en 1982) crée In the Garden of Endless Sleep après avoir été frappé par l’image d’un « jardin qui se déplace dans le temps, alternant entre présent, passé et avenir… » Il mentionne que l’œuvre explore « l’idée de voir le jardin, une tranche cultivée de beauté naturelle, passer par différentes phases de croissance et de déclin. » Il voulait également encapsuler la juxtaposition de « la simplicité et de l’imperméabilité », comme le lui inspirait la prose insaisissable de Wolfe. Dans les mots de Lau : 

Je voulais refléter cela d’une part en évoquant des souvenirs musicaux de périodes plus anciennes d’une manière un peu floue, et d’autre part en me servant de la texture, surtout en utilisant la pédale forte pour fondre certaines harmonies. La structure de l’œuvre est « trouble » elle aussi, n’évoquant pas tant la forme d’un rondo que son écho. L’œuvre est imprégnée d’un côté naturel et organique – où par exemple les lignes mélodieuses, mais souvent asymétriques, du hautbois tracent les contours des vignes, des racines et de la végétation surabondante –, mais autrement, la musique est infusée d’un vague à la fois onirique et dérangeant. 

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

ALISON YUN-FEI JIANG

Stray Birds pour quintette à vent

Dans ses œuvres récentes, la compositrice canadienne Alison Yun-Fei Jiang (née en 1992) intègre le thème du déracinement culturel, contemplant le choc et le mélange des identités culturelles qui se retrouvent dans son propre langage musical. En 2020, elle a été choisie parmi les compositrices de la nouvelle résidence Carrefour du CNA, un programme conçu en partenariat avec le Conseil des arts du Canada. Voici la description qu’elle fait de sa première commande en tant que compositrice Carrefour, Stray Birds (2021), une œuvre pour quintette à vent :

Stray Birds est une méditation musicale sur la poésie des oiseaux; c’est un récit métaphorique et une réponse personnelle sur les sujets du voyage, de la diaspora et de la maison.
 

Durant la pandémie, avec les contraintes liées aux déplacements et le fait que tout fonctionnait à distance, j’ai passé plus de temps chez moi, à Toronto, que ces dernières années. Je me suis surprise à apprécier de plus en plus les choses simples et à y puiser de la joie, comme en regardant les oiseaux ou en marchant dans mon quartier. Je trouvais du réconfort et du bonheur dans ces oiseaux libres autour de la maison, et cette œuvre célèbre ce genre de petits bonheurs. Il y a des moments où la musique reproduit le son des oiseaux prenant leur envol, battant des ailes, chantant ou gazouillant entre eux. Puisque je vois un lien dans la migration des oiseaux et dans l’immigration humaine, cette œuvre est aussi un « vol » métaphorique, où l’on migre et voyage comme eux, où l’on chemine entre diaspora et déracinement, avant d’atterrir enfin à la maison. Le voyage est personnel et transformateur; les souvenirs du passé se brisent, se fragmentent et se déforment; l’identité se réincarne et renaît. En composant, j’ai canalisé la dramaturgie, le lyrisme et l’art de raconter de l’opéra chinois méridional, dans lequel j’ai baigné en grandissant. Pour que le passé fragmenté et l’identité transformée transparaissent dans la musique et la métaphore, j’ai donné des airs de collage à cette œuvre, la faisant parfois enfantine et directe, presque théâtrale, et à un moment donné, réitérative tout en étant fluide.
 

Cette œuvre célèbre également le printemps, car je l’ai écrite aux environs du Nouvel An lunaire tout en ayant le concept chinois du renao en tête (ce qui signifie littéralement « chaud et piquant » et sert à décrire un sentiment festif, de grande animation et de vivacité). J’espère que, grâce à ce magnifique quintette à vent, la musique pourra « prendre son envol » comme ces oiseaux si libres. J’espère qu’il apportera de la joie et du réconfort aux auditeurs, tout comme les oiseaux m’en ont apporté. 

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

AMY BEACH

Pastorale pour quintette à vent, op. 151

Si l’œuvre de Lau reflète le caractère plus énigmatique de la nature, la Pastorale d’Amy Beach rappelle les côtés sereins et idylliques de la nature et des grands espaces. Lorsqu’Amy Beach (1867–1944) compose cette œuvre en juin 1941, elle est une compositrice américaine acclamée, et l’une des plus jouées de sa génération. Elle la termine durant ce qui serait sa dernière résidence à la MacDowell Colony, un lieu de retraite artistique à Peterborough, au New Hampshire, où elle se rendait régulièrement, depuis 20 ans, pour composer, entourée par la nature.  

Concrètement, Pastorale est en fait une version retravaillée de deux versions précédentes (la première pour flûte, violoncelle et piano, la deuxième, pour orgue et violoncelle) qu’elle avait composées durant sa première résidence à la MacDowell Colony en 1921. Dans cette version, qui est d’ailleurs sa seule œuvre pour quintette à vent, les motifs du thème original sont répartis entre les instruments en contrepoint. La Pastorale commence doucement dans les registres graves et chaleureux de la clarinette et du hautbois, couplés au « bourdonnement » caractéristique entonné par le cor et le basson. Un changement de tonalité marque la section intermédiaire, durant laquelle certaines parties prennent du volume et présentent un plus grand registre, intensifiant l’ambiance avant de revenir à la tranquillité initiale vers la fin. 

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

SAMUEL BARBER

Summer Music pour quintette à vent, op. 31

Le compositeur américain Samuel Barber (1910–1981) compose Summer Music en 1955, sur commande de la Société de musique de chambre de Detroit (le projet a été financé, ce qui est remarquable pour l’époque, grâce à des dons du public, à l’image des financements participatifs d’aujourd’hui). Même si l’œuvre est jouée pour la première fois en mars 1956 par les premières chaises de l’Orchestre Symphonique de Detroit, Barber l’a composée en pensant au Quintette à vent de New York. Après avoir rencontré les membres du groupe en 1955, il avait observé leur répétition, durant laquelle les musiciens exploraient des techniques pour produire des sons uniques en tant qu’ensemble. Lorsque le Quintette parcourt l’œuvre pour la première fois, le flûtiste Samuel Baron se dit enchanté par ce que le compositeur a créé pour eux : « Nous étions totalement soufflés! Quelle magnifique nouvelle conception pour quintette. [Barber] a écrit certains de nos effets préférés. » Après la première, en consultation avec le Quintette, Barber décide de raccourcir l’œuvre à sa version finale qui est jouée aujourd’hui. 

Summer Music se déploie continuellement en un mouvement, qui est structuré en une série d’épisodes où des thèmes principaux sont présentés, puis reviennent. L’œuvre s’ouvre sur une lente introduction, un thème aux douces pulsations d’abord entonné par le cor et le basson. Cette introduction évoque la langueur d’une nuit ou d’une journée chaude d’été. S’ensuit une mélodie tendre au caractère assombri, une sorte de sérénade mélancolique portée par le hautbois. L’atmosphère s’allège, alors que les instruments « conversent » sur un motif rythmé et joueur, puis arrive une section de trames rythmiques changeantes plus animée encore. Les thèmes principaux font alors leur retour en sens inverse. Plus loin, un nouveau sentiment d’urgence s’insinue et s’intensifie jusqu’à atteindre son apogée; il se diffuse finalement, retournant à l’ambiance de l’introduction, avant que l’ensemble ne termine sur un bouquet de virtuosité. 

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

POULENC

Trio pour hautbois, basson et piano

I. Presto
II. Andante
III. Rondo

Le concert de ce soir se termine par une œuvre vive et pétillante du compositeur parisien Francis Poulenc (1899–1963) : le Trio pour hautbois, basson et piano. Poulenc commence à travailler dessus en 1924 (après le succès sensationnel remporté par sa partition de ballet Les biches, pour Sergei Diaghilev et les Ballet russes), et à l’issue d’un processus créatif plutôt douloureux, il l’achève finalement en 1926. Le compositeur lui-même joue la partie du piano lors de la première du Trio à la Salle des Agriculteurs, à Paris, le 2 mai 1926. 

Poulenc accorde une importante toute particulière à cette œuvre et, plus tard dans sa vie, en parle en ces termes : « Je suis plutôt attaché à mon Trio parce qu’il sonne bien et que ses sections s’équilibrent entre elles ». En plus de sa clarté texturale et de son équilibre formel, le Trio porte certaines autres signatures poulenciennes des débuts de la carrière du compositeur : des interprétations pleines d’esprit des styles musicaux européens du XVIIIe siècle; une palette d’harmonies et de tons qui semblent ponctués de dissonances acerbes et des mélodies expressives, pour lesquelles il avait un talent indéniable. Après une introduction, qui se moque en quelque sorte du sérieux et de la grandeur, un thème exubérant commence le premier mouvement. Cette mélodie s’intercale entre une série de sections, qui présentent chacun une nouvelle mélodie ou un nouveau motif et qui se déploient comme un drame opératique où le hautbois et le basson campent les personnages principaux. 

L’Andante est le cœur émotif de l’œuvre, avec le hautbois et le basson qui entonnent un duo « doux et mélancolique » (selon Poulenc). Les harmonies changeantes dans la partie du piano créent une atmosphère poignante et onirique. Un thème d’une gaieté incessante lance le Rondo de fin; il alterne entre des moments d’esprit martial et de tendresse lyrique, ces derniers ajoutant de luxuriantes harmonies romantiques et une rhapsodie au piano.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Menu