© Curtis Perry

A Valentine's Playlist

with the NAC Orchestra

2024-02-14 20:00 2024-02-14 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: A Valentine's Playlist

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33737

In-person event

Looking for love with strings attached? Celebrate Valentine’s Day with us as we welcome Ottawa-born mezzo soprano Wallis Giunta to Southam Hall for an evening of musical wine and roses. Giunta brings to life three lovely and romantic songs from Kurt Weill’s musical comedy One Touch of Venus (with lyrics by Ogden Nash), showcasing the rich range of emotion and vocal dexterity that have made her an international star. Felix Mendelssohn was just 17 years old when he composed his...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Wednesday, February 14, 2024
8 PM EST
This event has passed
© Curtis Perry
Wallis Giunta
Music Classical music Masterworks
  • FELIX MENDELSSOHN Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 21
  • GUSTAV MAHLER “Adagietto” from Symphony No. 5
  • KURT WEILL Three songs from One Touch of Venus
  • Sergei Rachmaninoff Vocalise, Op. 34, No. 14
  • PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY Romeo and Juliet Fantasy-Overture
  • In-person event

Looking for love with strings attached? Celebrate Valentine’s Day with us as we welcome Ottawa-born mezzo soprano Wallis Giunta to Southam Hall for an evening of musical wine and roses. Giunta brings to life three lovely and romantic songs from Kurt Weill’s musical comedy One Touch of Venus (with lyrics by Ogden Nash), showcasing the rich range of emotion and vocal dexterity that have made her an international star.

Felix Mendelssohn was just 17 years old when he composed his beguiling and beautiful Overture to Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, a comedy in which four young Athenians find themselves caught up in a tangled web of love and deceit. From its opening four chords, the Overture conjures up enchanting forests and elusive fairies, all in the name of love.

More often than not, a well-known composer’s symphony is performed in its entirety, but sometimes one particular movement sparkles enough to stand alone through the years. Gustav Mahler’s Adagietto from his Symphony No. 5 is such a piece—probably performed on its own more than any other movement from any other symphony. Mahler wrote it for his beloved wife Alma and filled it with equal parts contentment and searching.

Rachmaninov’s Vocalise conveys, in just a few short minutes, the exultant hope and beautiful agony of love. The original has been arranged for many instruments, but none will squeeze a tear from your eye quite the way this performance from NACO principal cellist Rachel Mercer will.

And what evening of romantic music would be complete without the sad tale of doomed lovers Romeo and Juliet? Peter Ilyich Tchaïkovsky’s Fantasy Overture from Romeo and Juliet is filled with longing and drama, perhaps reflecting the great composer’s own disappointments in love and life.

NACO performs tonight under the baton of Australian guest conductor Jessica Cottis, whose global credits include performances with BBC Proms, Sydney Symphony Orchestra, the LA Phil, and Singapore Symphony Orchestra. She is Conductor and Artistic Director of the Canberra Symphony Orchestra and, in her spare time, avidly studies butterflies all over the world.

© Wallis Giunta

Artists

  • Conductor Jessica Cottis
  • wallis-giunta-c-tim-dunk-2
    Mezzo-soprano Wallis Giunta
  • rachel-mercer
    Cello Rachel Mercer
  • Co-Host Marjolaine Lambert
  • Stage Manager Tobi Hunt McCoy
  • bio-orchestra
    Featuring NAC Orchestra

© Curtis Perry

Sélection de la Saint-Valentin

avec l’Orchestre du CNA

2024-02-14 20:00 2024-02-14 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Sélection de la Saint-Valentin

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33737

Événement en personne

Envie de musique qui fait vibrer les cœurs et les cordes? Pour la Saint-Valentin, nous accueillons la mezzo-soprano et Ottavienne d’origine Wallis Giunta à la Salle Southam pour une soirée romantique à souhait. La cantatrice interprète trois jolies chansons d’amour tirées de One Touch of Venus (Signé Vénus, en VF), une comédie musicale de Kurt Weill (paroles d’Ogden Nash); l’occasion de montrer la...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mercredi 14 février 2024
20 h HNE
Cet événement est passé
© Curtis Perry
Wallis Giunta
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre
  • FELIX MENDELSSOHN Ouverture du Songe d’une nuit d’été, op. 21
  • GUSTAV MAHLER « Adagietto », extrait de la Symphonie n° 5
  • KURT WEILL Trois chansons d’Un caprice de Vénus
  • SERGUEÏ Rachmaninov Vocalise, op. 34, n° 14
  • PIOTR ILITCH TCHAÏKOVSKI Ouverture-fantaisie, Roméo et Juliette
  • Événement en personne

Envie de musique qui fait vibrer les cœurs et les cordes? Pour la Saint-Valentin, nous accueillons la mezzo-soprano et Ottavienne d’origine Wallis Giunta à la Salle Southam pour une soirée romantique à souhait. La cantatrice interprète trois jolies chansons d’amour tirées de One Touch of Venus (Signé Vénus, en VF), une comédie musicale de Kurt Weill (paroles d’Ogden Nash); l’occasion de montrer la vaste palette émotive et la dextérité vocale qui ont fait d’elle une vedette internationale.

Felix Mendelssohn n’avait que 17 ans quand il a composé sa magnifique et envoûtante Ouverture du Songe d’une nuit d’été, s’inspirant d’une comédie de Shakespeare où quatre jeunes gens d’Athènes sont pris dans un imbroglio mêlant amour et faux semblants. Dès les quatre premiers accords, la musique évoque des forêts enchantées et des fées mystérieuses, le tout au nom de l’amour.

La plupart du temps, les grandes symphonies sont jouées intégralement. Mais il arrive qu’un mouvement sorte du lot et devienne une œuvre à part entière au fil des ans. C’est le cas de l’Adagietto tiré de la Symphonie no 5 de Gustav Mahler, probablement le mouvement symphonique le plus souvent joué isolément. Mahler l’a écrit pour sa tendre épouse Alma, y versant à parts égales dans le contentement et la quête.

En quelques minutes seulement, Vocalise de Rachmaninov évoque l’exultation de l’espoir et l’exquise agonie de l’amour. L’œuvre originale a été arrangée pour divers instruments, mais l’interprétation de Rachel Mercer, violoncelle solo de l’OCNA, vous tirera des larmes comme aucune autre.

Et que serait une soirée de musique romantique sans la tragique histoire des amants de Vérone? L’Ouverture-fantaisie de Roméo et Juliette de Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovsky est empreinte de désir et de drame, possible reflet des déceptions amoureuses et des infortunes du grand compositeur.

L’OCNA joue ce soir sous la baguette d’une cheffe invitée, l’Australienne Jessica Cottis, dont la carrière internationale comprend des prestations aux BBC Proms et avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Sydney, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Los Angeles et l’Orchestre symphonique de Singapour. Cheffe d’orchestre et directrice artistique de l’Orchestre symphonique de Canberra, elle consacre ses temps libres à l’étude passionnée des papillons du monde entier.

© Curtis Perry
Wallis Giunta

Artistes

  • Cheffe d’orchestre Jessica Cottis
  • Mezzo-soprano Wallis Giunta
  • Violoncelle Rachel Mercer
  • Animatrice Marjolaine Lambert
  • Régie Tobi Hunt McCoy
  • Avec Orchestre du CNA