Creative Camp for Kids

Family programming Music Theatre Dance Children

Ages 5-11

Our week-long camps are the best way to spend the summer. There is plenty to see, hear, and do, with inspiration around every corner. Your child will sing, dance, act and laugh their way through fun-filled activities led by our experienced instructors and assistants. No audition is required — just an imagination! 

English camps
July 4-8, ages 10-11
July 18-22, ages 5-7
July 25-29, ages 8-9

French camps
July 11-15, ages 5-7
August 1-5, ages 10-11
August 8-12, ages 8-9

Bilingual Camp
August 15 - 19, ages 5-7

 


 

Hours
9am - 4pm with drop off starting at 8:30am and pick up possible until 4:30

Entrance
Our main camp entrance is the NAC’s Canal doors (accessed via Lawrence Freiman Lane). Campers will be met by camp staff inside the building at the escalator and taken down the hall to the Atelier Shenkman Smith. Short-term parking is available out front for drop-offs and pick-ups. 

What to expect 
At our camps, we will get creative using a mix of dance and drama activities, all led by our camp counselors and guest artists. Alongside a foundational knowledge of dance, drama, and music, campers will be introduced to basic terminology, routines, instruments and so much more!  

Our campers will learn about performing arts through spotlights on English, French and Indigenous works. We'll divide our day into art blocks and make every day a little different. These art blocks will explore your child’s creative side through theatre making both on and off stage, curated workshops, and backstage tours that will all offer campers a glimpse into the exciting world of theatre production! Plus, campers will have the opportunity to create their own projects in small groups. Overall, we aim to help your child discover their unique creative voice in a fun, and positive environment! 

 


Frequently asked questions

When and at what time are the camps?
Camps are Monday to Friday, 9 am to 4 pm. Drop off and pick up times will be coordinated with your camp director via email this spring. 

Will lunch be provided? 
Participants are expected to bring their own lunch and water bottle with them to camp. 

Will supplies be provided? 
Yes, all creative and artistic supplies for activities will be provided for by the NAC. 

Which language group should my child attend? 
This depends on your child’s comfort level in language immersion, and whether you think they will thrive and stretch themselves in a creative environment where instructors and other campers will be speaking one language. 

Is there financial support available for campers? 
Yes! If you need financial support, you may be eligible for subsidies to help cover the cost of attending. In order to be considered for financial support, please apply using our application form. We will let you know the status of your application as soon as we can. Limited spots are available for these subsidized camp sessions, so get your application in early.

I’ve been waitlisted! 
Our Creative Camps are popular! We may have last-minute cancellations, and you may be contacted to fill a spot with your camper. We will be in touch only if a spot opens. 

I’ve registered, now what?
Thanks for registering! Our Camp Director will be in touch with all relevant camp details. They will share with your important information about our day camps such as drop-off and pick-up times, and all you’ll need to know before your camper’s week ahead. If you have a pressing question, please write to camp@nac-cna.ca — otherwise, we will be in touch!

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. The Music Alive Program is made possible thanks to the leadership support of National Partner, The Azrieli Foundation, and Major Supporters, The Slaight Family Foundation and TD Bank Group. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Camps de jour artistiques 

Famille Musique Théâtre Danse Enfance

5-11 ans

Rien de tel que nos camps de jour à la semaine pour passer un bel été! Au programme, beaucoup de découvertes : de la danse, du chant, du théâtre et surtout du rire! Nos activités remplies de surprises seront encadrées par du personnel expérimenté. Aucune audition requise, juste un peu d’imagination! 

Camps français
Du 11 au 15 juillet : enfants âgés de 5 à 7 ans
Du 1er au 5 août : enfants âgés de 10 et 11 ans*
Du 8 au 12 août : enfants âgés de 8 et 9 ans

Camps anglais
Du 4 au 8 juillet : enfants âgés de 10 à 11 ans
Du 18 au 22 juillet : enfants âgés de 5 à 7 ans
Du 25 au 29 juillet : enfants âgés de 8 à 9 ans

 


 

Horaires
De 9 h à 16 h. Arrivée à partir de 8 h 30 et départ accepté jusqu’à 16 h 30.

Arrivée et départ
L’accès au camp se fait par les portes du CNA situées près du canal (accessibles par l’allée Lawrence Freiman). Le personnel du camp accueillera tous les enfants à l’intérieur du bâtiment au niveau de l’escalier, avant de les conduire à l’Atelier Shenkman Smith. Des espaces de stationnement de courte durée sont disponibles devant le CNA pour déposer les enfants le matin et les récupérer en fin de journée.

Au programme du camp
Au camp, les enfants auront l’occasion de développer leurs talents artistiques par la danse et l’art dramatique. Toutes les activités proposées seront encadrées par l’équipe d’animation nos animateurs et animatrices, ainsi que des artistes invités. En plus de découvrir les rudiments de la danse, du théâtre et de la musique, les enfants apprendront du nouveau vocabulaire, des routines, des instruments, et bien plus encore!

Les enfants seront immergés dans le monde des arts de la scène au travers d’œuvres d’artistes francophones, anglophones et autochtones. Chaque journée sera différente et divisée en blocs artistiques. Ils pourront découvrir les joies de la scène, participer à des ateliers dirigés et découvrir les dessous de la production théâtrale depuis les coulisses! De plus, les enfants pourront réaliser leurs propres projets en petits groupes. En bref, notre objectif est de permettre aux enfants de laisser libre cours à leur créativité dans un environnement amusant et convivial!

 


Foire aux questions

Quand et à quelle heure ont lieu les camps?
Les camps sont du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 16 h. Les heures pour déposer et récupérer vos enfants seront coordonnées avec la direction du camp par courriel ce printemps. 

Un repas est-il offert?
Les enfants doivent apporter leur propre repas, ainsi qu’une bouteille d’eau. 

Le matériel est-il fourni?
Oui, tout le matériel artistique sera fourni par le Centre national des Arts. 

Dans quel groupe dois-je inscrire mon enfant?
Tout dépend de la langue dans laquelle votre enfant se sent le plus à l’aise. Les enfants doivent être en mesure de s’amuser dans un environnement artistique en compagnie d’enfants et de personnel d’animation parlant une langue.

Une aide financière est-elle offerte aux participants?
Oui!
Si vous avez besoin d’une aide financière vous pourriez être admissible à une subvention couvrant la totalité des frais d’inscription. Pour déposer une demande, veuillez remplir notre formulaire de subvention. Nous vous informerons de l’état de votre demande dans les meilleurs délais. Nos camps d’été subventionnés ayant un nombre de places limité, nous vous recommandons de vous inscrire le plus tôt possible.

Mon enfant est sur la liste d’attente. Que faire?
Nos camps de jour artistiques sont très prisés! Des annulations de dernière minute sont toujours possibles. Nous communiquerons avec vous seulement si une place se libère.

Que se passe-t-il une fois l’inscription faite? 
Merci de votre inscription. La personne responsable du camp vous transmettra tous les renseignements importants, par exemple les horaires des camps. Bref, tout ce que vous devez savoir avant le début du camp. D’ici là, si vous avez une question urgente, veuillez envoyer un courriel à camp@nac-cna.ca. À très bientôt!

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Le programme Vive la musique est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation Azrieli, partenaire national, ainsi que de la Fondation de la famille Slaight et du Groupe Banque TD, souscripteurs majeurs. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu