Genetikos II

Richard Heikkilä-Sawan

In June and August 2023, Richard Heikkilä-Sawan’s artwork, Genetikos II, was featured on the Kipnes Lantern to celebrate National Indigenous History Month and Pride. 

Richard Heikkilä-Sawan is a Two-Spirit artist known for his vibrant and thought-provoking artwork. Born in Vancouver, he was adopted into a Mennonite family, unaware of his Indigenous heritage until later in life. Richard explores themes of identity, race, and social ideologies, often incorporating LGBTQ pride colours. His work, influenced by artists like Durham and Monkman, employs geometric shapes and Gestalt principles to engage viewers. Richard’s art aims to evoke new insights and inspire change, challenging the notion of “coming out” within a strict religious upbringing. 

The exterior view of the National Arts Centre (NAC) from Elgin Street reveals the iconic Kipnes Lantern prominently featuring the artwork "Genetikos II." The lantern showcases the intricate and multicolored indigenous mask, creating a capti
Genetikos II on the Kipnes Lantern. David Leclerc
The exterior view of the National Arts Centre (NAC) from Elgin Street reveals the iconic Kipnes Lantern prominently featuring the artwork "Genetikos II." The lantern showcases the intricate and multicolored indigenous mask, creating a capti
Genetikos II on the Kipnes Lantern. David Leclerc
The exterior view of the National Arts Centre (NAC) from Elgin Street reveals the iconic Kipnes Lantern prominently featuring the artwork "Genetikos II." The lantern showcases the intricate and multicolored indigenous mask, creating a capti
Genetikos II on the Kipnes Lantern. David Leclerc

Explore more Kipnes lantern projects

  • Videovirus-01982-web

    VideoVirus

    AA Bronson is a Canadian artist and member of General Idea, a collaboration with Felix...

  • Chosen-family-5-margot-durling

    Chosen Family

    This summer, an animation of Chosen Family, a permanent installation in Halifax/Kjipuktuk by non-binary, transgender and...

  • Chh thumb

    Colour, Health, Hope

    The NAC recently commissioned the art installation called Colour, Health, Hope from Jacquie Comrie, an acclaimed Toronto-based multidisciplinary...

Genetikos II

Richard Heikkilä-Sawan

En juin et août 2023 l’œuvre de Richard Heikkilä-Sawan, Genetikos II, a été présentée sur la Lanterne Kipnes.

Richard Heikkilä-Sawan est un artiste bispirituel connu pour ses œuvres inspirantes et éclatantes. Adopté par une famille mennonite, ce natif de Vancouver a longtemps ignoré ses racines autochtones. Dans ses œuvres, il explore les thèmes de l’identité, de la race et des idéologies sociales en intégrant les couleurs de la Fierté. Influencé par des artistes comme Durham et Monkman, Richard Heikkilä-Sawan s’amuse avec les formes géométriques et les principes de la théorie de la Gestalt pour établir une complicité avec le public. Par son art, il cherche à apporter un nouvel éclairage et à inspirer le changement, contestant ainsi la notion de « révélation de son orientation sexuelle » au sein d’une famille fervente à l’éducation stricte.

La vue extérieure du Centre national des Arts (CNA) depuis la rue Elgin révèle la lanterne Kipnes, qui met en évidence l'œuvre d'art "Genetikos II". La lanterne met en valeur le masque autochtone complexe et multicolore, créant un spectacle visuel captivant pour les passants.
Genetikos II sur la Lanterne Kipnes du CNA. David Leclerc
La vue extérieure du Centre national des Arts (CNA) depuis la rue Elgin révèle la lanterne Kipnes, qui met en évidence l'œuvre d'art "Genetikos II". La lanterne met en valeur le masque autochtone complexe et multicolore, créant un spectacle visuel captivant pour les passants.
Genetikos II sur la Lanterne Kipnes du CNA. David Leclerc
La vue extérieure du Centre national des Arts (CNA) depuis la rue Elgin révèle la lanterne Kipnes, qui met en évidence l'œuvre d'art "Genetikos II". La lanterne met en valeur le masque autochtone complexe et multicolore, créant un spectacle visuel captivant pour les passants.
Genetikos II sur la Lanterne Kipnes du CNA. David Leclerc

Explorez d’autres projets de la Lanterne Kipnes

  • Journée internationale de la danse : Dansez de joie

    Célébrez la Journée internationale de la danse avec la sensation des réseaux sociaux, Gurdeep Pandher du Yukon. … Célébrez la Journée internationale de… Célébrez la Journée internationale de la danse avec la sensation des réseaux sociaux, Gurdeep Pandher du Yukon. …

  • Couleurs, bien-être et espoir

    L’installation Couleurs, bien-être et espoir a été commandée par le CNA à Jacquie Comrie,… L’installation Couleurs, bien-être et espoir a… L’installation Couleurs, bien-être et espoir a été commandée par le CNA à Jacquie Comrie,…

  • Jungle Book reimagined d’Akram Khan

    Notre Lanterne Kipnes s’illumine avec de superbes animations conçues par YeastCulture pour le spectacle du Jungle Book reimagined.… Notre Lanterne Kipnes s’illumine avec de superbes animations… Notre Lanterne Kipnes s’illumine avec de superbes animations conçues par YeastCulture pour le spectacle du Jungle Book reimagined.…