© John Hogg

Dada Masilo | The Dance Factory

The Sacrifice

2023-05-09 19:30 2023-05-10 20:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Dada Masilo | The Dance Factory

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31887

In-person event

Dada Masilo has always been fascinated by the study of unfamiliar dance forms and fusing these vocabularies with contemporary dance or classical ballet to create a new language that lets her body tell the stories.  Following the great success at NAC Dance in 2016 with her Swan Lake, we are thrilled to welcome her back with her newest creation.   In The Sacrifice, she explores her Motswana origins through the lens of Igor Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring having been...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
May 9 - 10, 2023
7:30 pm EDT

May 2023

  1. May 9 2023
    Tuesday

    7:30pm

  2. May 10 2023
    Wednesday

    7:30pm

Close schedule
© John Hogg
© John Hogg
© John Hogg
Dance Contemporary
“My approach is to show that contemporary African dance and ballet can co-exist. It is about finding an innovative way of fusing the two. I believe that we need to collapse barriers that exist between them because they are restrictions. And as dancers we don’t need restrictions.” Dada Masilo

Featured artists

  • Dada Masilo ©
    Choreographer Dada Masilo
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 60 minutes · No intermission

Dada Masilo has always been fascinated by the study of unfamiliar dance forms and fusing these vocabularies with contemporary dance or classical ballet to create a new language that lets her body tell the stories.  Following the great success at NAC Dance in 2016 with her Swan Lake, we are thrilled to welcome her back with her newest creation.  

In The Sacrifice, she explores her Motswana origins through the lens of Igor Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring having been intrigued by the complex rhythms of Stravinsky’s score. 

For the choreographer, who grew up in South Africa in a Xhosa environment, the question wasn’t just to bring together different dances, but to explore her own origins and to work on markers of identity: collective chants, rites, and beyond that, the desire for sacrifice. 

With four musicians and ten dancers, Masilo explores both the minimalism and animality of Tswana dance in relation to Stravinsky’s work. Mixed with contemporary dance, she studies for the first time the cultural dance of her heritage and what sacrifice meant to the Tswana people then and what it means now. The question must be asked: the evil that humans do to themselves, is it necessary to change? What must be sacrificed? How can we start afresh?  

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
May 8
May 9
  • 7:30pm
May 10
  • 7:30pm
May 11
May 12
May 13
May 14
video: Dada Masilo / The Dance Factory
Dada Masilo / The Dance Factory "THE SACRIFICE"
© John Hogg
© John Hogg
© John Hogg

Artists

  • Dada Masilo ©
    Choreographer Dada Masilo
  • Dancers Dada Masilo, Sinazo Bokolo, Refiloe Mogoje, Thandiwe Mqokeli, Lwando Dutyulwa, Thuso Lobeko, Songezo Mcilizeli, Steven Mokone, Lebo Seodigeng, Tshepo Zasekhaya
  • Musicians Ann Masina, Leroy Mapholo, Tlale Makhene, Nathi Shongwe
  • Composers Ann Masina, Leroy Mapholo, Tlale Makhene, Nathi Shongwe 
  • Costumes David Hutt
  • Lighting & Projection Suzette le Sueur
  • Sound Thabo Pule 
  • Production Assistant Thabiso Tshabalala
Menu

© John Hogg

Dada Masilo | The Dance Factory

Le Sacrifice

2023-05-09 19:30 2023-05-10 20:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Dada Masilo | The Dance Factory

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31887

Événement en personne

Fascinée par l’étude des danses qui nous sont peu familières, Dada Masilo amalgame ces vocabulaires à la danse contemporaine ou au ballet classique afin de créer un nouveau langage corporel pour raconter des histoires. Après le grand succès de son Lac des cygnes, présenté à Danse CNA en 2016, nous sommes heureux d’accueillir sa plus récente création.  Dans Le Sacrifice, elle explore ses origines...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
9 - 10 mai 2023
19 h 30 HNE
© John Hogg
© John Hogg
© John Hogg
Danse Contemporaine
« Mon intention est de démontrer que la danse africaine contemporaine et le ballet peuvent coexister. J’essaie de fusionner les deux de façon originale. Je crois que nous devons faire tomber les barrières qui les séparent parce qu’elles nous limitent. Les artistes de danse n’ont pas besoin de contraintes.  » Dada Masilo

Artistes en vedette

  • {image:fiel:2} ©
    Choréographe Dada Masilo
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 60 minutes · Sans entracte

Fascinée par l’étude des danses qui nous sont peu familières, Dada Masilo amalgame ces vocabulaires à la danse contemporaine ou au ballet classique afin de créer un nouveau langage corporel pour raconter des histoires. Après le grand succès de son Lac des cygnes, présenté à Danse CNA en 2016, nous sommes heureux d’accueillir sa plus récente création. 

Dans Le Sacrifice, elle explore ses origines tswanas à travers le prisme du Sacre du printemps d’Igor Stravinsky, une partition qui l’avait intriguée par ses rythmes complexes. 

Pour la chorégraphe, qui a grandi en Afrique du Sud dans un environnement xhosa, le but n’était pas uniquement de mélanger différentes danses, mais de partir à la rencontre de ses origines et de se pencher sur certains marqueurs identitaires : les chants collectifs, les rites et plus loin encore, le désir sacrificiel.  

Accompagnée de quatre instrumentistes et de dix interprètes, Masilo explore le minimalisme et l’animalité de la danse tswanaise en regard de l’œuvre de Stravinsky, et l’associe à la danse contemporaine. Pour la première fois, elle s’intéresse à la danse issue de son héritage culturel et à la définition passée et actuelle du sacrifice pour le peuple tswana. Plusieurs questions demeurent : le mal que les humains se font à eux-mêmes, est-il nécessaire pour changer? Que faut-il sacrifier? Comment pouvons-nous recommencer à zéro? 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
mai 8
mai 9
  • 19 h 30
mai 10
  • 19 h 30
mai 11
mai 12
mai 13
mai 14
video: Dada Masilo / The Dance Factory
Dada Masilo / The Dance Factory "THE SACRIFICE"
© John Hogg
© John Hogg
© John Hogg

Artistes

  • {image:fiel:2} ©
    Choréographe Dada Masilo
  • Danceurs Dada Masilo, Sinazo Bokolo, Refiloe Mogoje, Thandiwe Mqokeli, Lwando Dutyulwa, Thuso Lobeko, Songezo Mcilizeli, Steven Mokone, Lebo Seodigeng, Tshepo Zasekhaya
  • Musiciens Ann Masina, Leroy Mapholo, Tlale Makhene, Nathi Shongwe
  • Compositeurs Ann Masina, Leroy Mapholo, Tlale Makhene, Nathi Shongwe 
  • Costumes David Hutt
  • Lumières et Projection Suzette le Sueur
  • Son Thabo Pule 
  • Assistant à la production Thabiso Tshabalala
Menu