Rachel Mercer |
Principal Cello

Rachel Mercer

Described as a "pure chamber musician" (Globe and Mail) creating "moments of pure magic" (Toronto Star), Canadian cellist Rachel Mercer has appeared as a soloist and chamber musician across five continents.

Grand prize winner of the 2001 Vriendenkrans Competition in Amsterdam, Rachel is Principal Cello of the National Arts Centre Orchestra in Ottawa and Artistic Director of the "5 at the First" Chamber Music Series in Hamilton. Rachel regularly collaborates with her longtime duo partner, pianist Angela Park, and was cellist of JUNO award-winning piano quartet Ensemble Made In Canada (2008-2020), AYR Trio (2010-2020), and the Aviv Quartet (2002-2010). Rachel has given masterclasses across North America, South Africa and in Israel and has given talks on performance, careers and the music business. An advocate for new Canadian music, Rachel has commissioned and premiered over 25 solo and chamber works, including cello concertos by Stewart Goodyear and Kevin Lau.

She can be heard on the Naxos, Naxos Canadian Classics, Centrediscs, Analekta, Atma, Dalia Classics and EnT-T record labels, and released a critically acclaimed album of the Bach Suites on Pipistrelle in March 2014, recorded on the 1696 Bonjour Stradivarius Cello from the Canada Council for the Arts Musical Instrument Bank. Rachel plays a 17th century cello from Northern Italy.

www.rachelmercercellist.com

Menu

Rachel Mercer |
Violoncelle solo

Rachel Mercer

Qualifiée de « chambriste dans l’âme » (The Globe and Mail), qui sait créer des « moments de pure magie » (The Toronto Star), la violoncelliste canadienne Rachel Mercer s’est produite comme soliste et chambriste sur cinq continents.

Lauréate du Grand Prix Vriendenkrans d’Amsterdam (2001), elle est violoncelle solo de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts et directrice artistique de la série de concerts de musique de chambre 5 at the First à Hamilton. Rachel Mercer se produit régulièrement en duo avec sa partenaire de longue date, Angela Park, et a été membre du quatuor pour piano Ensemble Made in Canada (2008-2020), lauréat d’un prix Juno, du trio AYR, (2010-2020) et du quatuor Aviv (2002-2010). Elle a donné des classes de maître en Amérique du Nord, en Afrique du Sud et en Israël, et des conférences sur l’interprétation, la carrière et l’industrie de la musique. Passionnée de musique canadienne contemporaine, elle a commandé et joué plus de 25 œuvres pour violoncelle solo et ensembles de chambre, y compris des concertos pour violoncelle solo de Stewart Goodyear et Kevin Lau.

Rachel a collaboré à des enregistrements sous les étiquettes Naxos, Naxos Canadian Classics, Centredisques, Analekta, ATMA, Dalia Classics et EnT-T. Encensé par la critique, son album de suites pour violoncelle seul de Bach a été enregistré avec le violoncelle Stradivarius Bonjour (v. 1696) provenant de la Banque d’instruments de musique du Conseil des arts du Canada. Rachel joue sur un violoncelle fabriqué au 17e siècle en Italie du Nord.

www.rachelmercercellist.com

Menu