October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 |
piano

Liz Upchurch

Pianist, vocal coach, and pedagogue Liz Upchurch is currently in her 23rd season as head of the Canadian Opera Company’s Ensemble Studio, Canada’s premier training program for young opera professionals. There she has now trained a generation of Canadian artists.

She is a recent recipient of Canada’s prestigious Ruby Award for her outstanding contribution to the world of opera.

She performed her first piano recital at the age of eight, one year after having accepted a coveted place at the Centre for Young Musicians, a music school for gifted children in London, England. It was here that her passion for playing with other instrumentalists truly began. Her love of the human voice and its marriage to text was soon to follow. She came to Canada to study art song at the Banff Centre, where she met her mentor, the late Martin Isepp.

Since then, she has curated, performed, and collaborated in hundreds of recitals across Canada, working alongside artists and composers such as Adrianne Pieczonka, Barbara Hannigan, Kaija Sariaaho, and Ana Sokolović.

Menu

Perturbations à la circulation - Fête du Canada
 |
piano

Liz Upchurch

Pianiste, professeure de chant et pédagogue, Liz Upchurch en est à sa 23e saison à la tête de l’Ensemble Studio de la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne, le programme de formation de jeunes artiste lyriques professionnels le plus reconnu au pays. Elle y a instruit toute une génération d’artistes canadiens.

Récemment, elle a reçu le prestigieux prix Ruby du Canada pour sa contribution remarquable au monde de l’opéra.

Liz Upchurch a joué son premier récital de piano à l’âge de huit ans, un an après avoir décroché une place au Centre for Young Musicians, une école de musique très prisée pour les jeunes virtuoses à Londres, en Angleterre. C’est là qu’est née sa passion de jouer avec la d’autres instrumentistes. Son amour pour la voix humaine et son mariage au texte a fleuri peu après. Elle est venue au Canada pour étudier la mélodie au Centre Banff, où elle a rencontré son regretté mentor Martin Isepp.

Depuis, Liz Upchurch compte des centaines de récitals à son actif au Canada, que ce soit à titre d’organisatrice, d’artiste ou de collaboratrice, aux côtés d’artistes et de compositrices comme Adrianne Pieczonka, Barbara Hannigan, Kaija Saariaho et Ana Sokolović.

Menu