Conductor

Gustavo Gimeno

Last updated: février 9, 2023

Gustavo Gimeno’s tenure as Music Director of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (TSO) began in 2020–21. He has also held the position of Music Director with Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg (OPL) since 2015, and will assume it in 2025–26 with Teatro Real, Madrid, where he is currently Music Director Designate.

In the 2022–23 season, continuing their 100th anniversary, Gimeno and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra celebrate with major symphonic works including Bruckner’s Symphony No. 4, Prokofiev’s Suite from Romeo and Juliet, and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade. They also share the stage with, among other soloists, Yo-Yo Ma, Yuja Wang, Yefim Bronfman, and Jean-Guihen Queyras. Further, the Orchestra will embark on its first tour with Gimeno in winter 2023, including a return visit to New York’s Carnegie Hall, their annual orchestra exchange with Ottawa’s NAC Orchestra, and the TSO’s debut at Chicago’s Symphony Center.

With Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Gimeno explores repertoire including Strauss’s Ein Heldenleben, Mahler’s Symphony No. 6 “Tragic”, Lutosławski’s Concerto for Orchestra, and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5. In 2022–23, he tours with the OPL to Switzerland, Austria, and Hungary, and together they tour South Korea for the first time.

This season, Gimeno and the TSO will record, for Harmonia Mundi, Messiaen’s Turangalîla-Symphonie, with pianist Marc-André Hamelin and ondes Martenot player Nathalie Forget. This builds on Gimeno’s new relationship, since April 2022, with the HM label, which commenced with a recording of Rossini’s Stabat Mater, featuring OPL with Maria Agresta (soprano), Daniela Barcellona (mezzo-soprano), René Barbera (tenor), Carlo Lepore (bass), and the Wiener Singverein. In August 2022, the OPL’s second album for HM was devoted to two ballets by Stravinsky (L’oiseau de feu and Apollon Musagète). Gimeno and OPL also have an extensive discography with Pentatone. Releases include a Francisco Coll monography featuring the Violin Concerto with Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 1, Bruckner’s Symphony No. 1, Ravel’s complete ballet music to Daphnis et Chloé, Mahler’s Symphony No. 4, Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, Rossini’s Petite messe solennelle, and César Franck’s Symphony in D Minor.

As an opera conductor, he is invited for major titles at great houses such as the Liceu Opera Barcelona; Opernhaus Zürich; Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia, Valencia; and Teatro Real, Madrid. He is also much sought-after as a symphonic guest conductor worldwide: debuts in 2022–23 include Staatskapelle Berlin and Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France. Gimeno is also regularly reinvited to the Concertgebouworkest, and touring projects have included concerts as far afield as Japan and Taiwan.

Upcoming events

Chef d'orchestre

Gustavo Gimeno

Dernière mise à jour: 9 février 2023

Gustavo Gimeno est directeur musical depuis la saison 2020-2021 à l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto (TSO) et depuis 2015 à l’Orchestre philharmonique du Luxembourg (OPL). À partir de la saison 2025-2026, il occupera le même poste au Teatro Real de Madrid, où il est présentement le directeur musical désigné.

Pour la saison 2022-2023, qui coïncide avec le 100e anniversaire de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, Gustavo Gimeno propose au public de grandes œuvres symphoniques comme la Symphonie no 4 de Bruckner, une suite tirée de Roméo et Juliette de Prokofiev et Schéhérazade de Rimski-Korsakov. L’Orchestre et lui partagent également la scène avec les solistes Yo-Yo Ma, Yuja Wang, Yefim Bronfman et Jean-Guihen Queyras. Par ailleurs, le TSO part en tournée avec Gimeno pour la première fois à l’hiver 2023 : il sera de retour au Carnegie Hall de New York, participera à son échange annuel avec l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada à Ottawa et jouera pour la première fois au Symphony Center de Chicago.

Aux côtés de l’Orchestre philharmonique du Luxembourg, Gimeno explore les répertoires, comme avec Une vie de héros de Strauss, la Symphonie no 6, « Tragique », de Mahler, le Concerto pour orchestre de Lutosławski et la Symphonie no 5 de Tchaïkovsky. Pour la saison 2022-2023, il part en tournée avec l’OPL en Suisse, en Autriche, en Hongrie et, pour la première fois, en Corée du Sud.

Cette saison, Gimeno et le TSO enregistreront la Turangalîla-Symphonie de Messiaen pour Harmonia Mundi, aux côtés du pianiste Marc-André Hamelin et de la joueuse d’ondes Martenot Nathalie Forget. Cette collaboration renforce les liens qui existent entre Gimeno et l’étiquette HM depuis avril 2022, lorsqu’il a enregistré le Stabat Mater de Rossini avec l’OPL, Maria Agresta (soprano), Daniela Barcellona (mezzo-soprano), René Barbera (ténor), Carlo Lepore (basse) et le Wiener Singverein. En août 2022, le second album de l’OPL sous l’étiquette HM comportait les deux ballets de Stravinsky (L’oiseau de feu et Apollon Musagète). Gimeno et l’OPL ont également une discographie conséquente chez Pentatone : une monographie du Concerto pour violon de Francisco Coll avec Patricia Kopatchinskaja, la Symphonie no 1 de Chostakovitch, la Symphonie no 1 de Bruckner, l’intégralité du ballet Daphnis et Chloé de Ravel, la Symphonie no 4 de Mahler, Le sacre du printemps de Stravinsky, la Petite messe solennelle de Rossini et la Symphonie en ré mineur de César Franck.

À l’opéra, Gimeno est invité à diriger les plus grandes œuvres dans des salles de renom comme le Liceu Opera de Barcelone, l’Opernhaus de Zürich, le Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia de Valence et le Teatro Real de Madrid. Il parcourt également le monde en tant que chef d’orchestre symphonique invité. Il se produira pour la première fois en 2022-2023 aux côtés de la Staatskapelle Berlin et de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France. De plus, on réinvite régulièrement Gimeno à l’Orchestre royal du Concertgebouworkest. Ses projets de tournée l’amènent jusqu’au Japon ou à Taiwan.

Événements

  1. En personne
    Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve

    L'Orchestre symphonique de Toronto monte sur la scène du Southam Hall, accompagné de la célèbre mezzo-soprano italo-canadienne Emily D'Angelo