Autorickshaw | Cameron Ogilvie

Autorickshaw

“…When their forces are combined, the results are utterly unique and musically pioneering” The Record

Autorickshaw’s music lies on the cultural cutting edge, as pop, jazz, funk and folk easily rub shoulders with the music of India. Formed in 2003, Autorickshaw is one of the most intriguing acts on the world music and jazz landscapes, garnering 2004, 2007 and 2017 JUNO nominations for World Music Album of the Year, the John Lennon Songwriting Competition Grand Prize in World Music and numerous other national and international awards. 

Their sound showcases the sultry, sophisticated vocals of Suba Sankaran, anchored by the melodic bass-lines & beatboxing of Dylan Bell over a bed of intricate Indian percussion by Ed Hanley. The group’s diverse repertoire and range of Eastern and Western elements could only come from musicians with deep roots in both traditions. 

Autorickshaw has toured extensively across Canada, the US, Europe, the UK, Nepal and several tours to India. They have received numerous grants for their efforts over their 19-year history though the Toronto Arts Council, Ontario Arts Council and Canada Council for the Arts, among others. 

Widely covered within Canada, Autorickshaw has also been featured in international media, including BBC Radio, NPR’s Weekend America, Global Rhythm Magazine and All About Jazz (USA); World Music Magazine (Italy), fRoots (UK), Rave Magazine and The Hindu (India); Deutschland Radio Kultur (Germany) as well as appearing on the European World Music Charts. 

Autorickshaw is committed to their role as music educators through school performances, lecture demonstrations, workshops and masterclasses on topics as diverse as jazz improvisation, south Indian and western vocal/choral technique as well as percussion from around the world. Autorickshaw has conducted workshops for Jazz FM91, Branksome Hall and others, and they have created numerous prerecorded performances for educational institutes, online festivals and more. 

Autorickshaw features: 
Suba Sankaran
- voice 
Ed Hanley - tabla, voice 
Dylan Bell - electric bass, beatboxing, voice 

Menu

Autorickshaw | Cameron Ogilvie

Autorickshaw

« Lorsqu’ils unissent leurs forces, le résultat est tout à fait exceptionnel et avant-gardiste sur le plan musical. » The Record

Autorickshaw se situe à l’avant-garde de la création culturelle : sa musique pop, jazz, funk et folk côtoient aisément la musique de l’Inde. Formé en 2003, Autorickshaw est l’un des groupes les plus intrigants des scènes de musique du monde et jazz actuelles. Il a été finaliste au prix JUNO en 2004, 2007 et 20017 dans la catégorie Album de musique du monde de l’année, et a récolté le Grand Prix dans la catégorie musique du monde de la John Lennon Songwriting Competition ainsi que de nombreux autres prix à l’échelle nationale et internationale. 

Leur son met en valeur la voix voluptueuse et sophistiquée de Suba Sankaran, accompagnée des lignes de basse mélodiques et des percussions vocales de Dylan Bell, et des percussions indiennes complexes d’Ed Hanley. Ce répertoire varié et cette quantité d’éléments culturels orientaux et occidentaux ne pouvaient qu’émaner de musiciens profondément enracinés dans les deux traditions.  

Autorickshaw a effectué de nombreuses tournées au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe, au Royaume-Uni, au Népal ainsi qu’en Inde. Le groupe a reçu plusieurs subventions de création en 19 ans d’existence, entre autres du Conseil des arts de Toronto, du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et du Conseil des arts du Canada.  

Le travail d’Autorickshaw est largement couvert par les médias canadiens et a fait l’objet de reportages à l’international, notamment à la radio de la BBC, à l’émission Weekend America de la NPR, à la radio Deutschland Kultur (Allemagne), et dans les magazines Global Rhythm et All About Jazz (É.-U.), le World Music Magazine (Italie), le magazine fRoots (R.-U.), le Rave Magazine et The Hindu (Inde). Les compositions d’Autorickshaw ont également figuré dans les palmarès européens de musique du monde. 

Autorickshaw s’investit dans le domaine de l’éducation musicale en offrant des spectacles dans les écoles, des conférences-démonstrations, des ateliers et des classes de maître sur des sujets aussi variés que l’improvisation jazz, les techniques vocales et chorales sud-indiennes et occidentales, ainsi que les percussions de partout dans le monde. Autorickshaw a animé des ateliers pour la station JAZZ.FM91 et le Branksome Hall, notamment, et créé de nombreux spectacles préenregistrés pour des établissements d’enseignement, des festivals en ligne et autres. 

Membres d’Autorickshaw : 
Suba Sankaran
– voix 
Ed Hanley – tabla, voix 
Dylan Bell – basse électrique, percussions vocales, voix 

Menu