This event ended on: Jun 4, 2022

WolfGANG Sessions

NACO at the Fourth

Music Classical music

Watch more in this series

  • NAC Orchestra

  Jun 4, 2022 - 8 PM EDT   1 hour and 30 minutes including intermission

REENA ESMAIL Tuttarana for brass quintet Andrew Staniland Allusions for oboe and clarinet Kelly-Marie Murphy Glacial Ablations Jacob ter Veldhuis The Garden of Love for oboe and soundtrack SIMON BOURGET Élegie and Toccata from Trio pour cor, violoncelle et piano, Op. 7

Wolfgang invites you to take another walk on the wild side with the next NACO at the Fourth: WolfGANG Sessions, featuring stellar NAC musicians in an intimate evening of musical surprises! 

Indian-American composer Reena Esmail’s Tuttarana for brass quintet is the third movement of a larger work called “khirkiyaan.” Originally written for performance by a women’s choir, Tuttarana is like lightning in a bottle, flushed with energy and drive to the last chord.  

Allusions for oboe and clarinet by composer Andrew Staniland is a co-commission by Chamberfest, the NAC and Sean Rice (clarinet) and Anna Petersen (oboe). Andrew is a long-time friend of the NAC Orchestra, known for his many other works performed in WolfGANG Sessions over the years, and for his JUNO-nominated PhiCaelestis from Encount3rs.

From Ottawa-based composer Kelly-Marie Murphy comes the world premiere of Glacial Ablations for oboe and piano, a new work written expressly for NACO’s principal oboe, Charles “Chip” Hamann

Jacob ter Veldhuis is a Dutch avant-garde classical composer, also known as Jacob TV. His The Garden of Love for oboe and soundtrack is a cheeky work based on a poem by William Blake. The “soundtrack” is a playful mix of spoken word, bird song, harpsichord, and more, with the oboe soloist dancing in, out, and on top of the mix. 

Hailing from Dieppe, New Brunswick, Simon Bourget has been composing since he was 11, inspired by Mahler, Shostakovich, and Prokofiev. His Élégie was commissioned by Ottawa Chamberfest, and from that work, Simon drew the inspiration to compose the rest of his Trio Op. 7


  • lpb
    horn Louis-Pierre Bergeron
  • charles-hamann-2
    oboe Charles Hamann
  • trumpet Karen Donnelly
  • fred-lacroix-photo-william-meekins-2-e1612898539101
    piano Frédéric Lacroix
  • chris-lee-cropped-ks
    tuba Chris Lee
  • cello Marc-André Riberdy
  • oboe, English horn Anna Petersen
  • trombone Donald Renshaw
  • sean-rice-2
    host, clarinet, bass clarinet Sean Rice
  • trumpet Steven van Gulik
  • horn Lawrence Vine

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers