This is the ASL version of the video. Click here to see non-ASL version

Grand Acts of Theatre


Canadian Academy of Mask and Puppetry (Calgary, AB)
  Subtitles available in English French

Iniskim is an immersive, puppet-lantern, performance experience that lives upon the land in the area of Treaty 7, near to where the Blackfoot peoples call Mohkinstsis – which is now known also as Calgary, AB. The performance celebrates the reintegration of Bison into the natural ecosystem of Banff National Park, our country’s premiere National Park. It shares the inspiration of Canadian artists – both First Nations and non-First Nations people – together with local communities within the vicinity, embracing people of all ages, to remind us of what it means to be alive and in concert with one of the greatest gifts that we have – our robust and healthy natural world. 

Iniskim was performed for a live audience on Saturday, October 3, 2020 in Calgary, AB. This live performance adheres to the health and safety guidelines of the region in which it was recorded.

- - -

Produced by the Canadian Academy of Mask and Puppetry with additional assistance by Bison Belong, Parks Canada, Old Trout Puppet Workshop, Contemporary Calgary, Leighton Art Centre and the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

Performed at the Leighton Arts Centre, Alberta.


Core Creative Team: Amethyst First Rider, Troy Emery Twigg, David Lane, Nan Balkwill, Peter Balkwill

Guiding Elders: Tom Crane Bear, Raymond Many Bears, Patrick Twigg, Beverly Hungry Wolf, Peter Weasel Moccasin

Additional Guidance: Leroy Little Bear

Napi: Troy Emery Twigg

Drummers, Singers: Anders Hunter, Cato Hunter, Rod Hunter, Chris Pegram

Dancers: Chaz Ear, Shanda Hunter-Pegram, Noah Pegram

Caller: Raymond Many Bears

Kakatotsi (Star Song): Leroy Little Bear

Forest Song: Olivia Tailfeathers

Puppeteers: Nan Balkwill, Gemini Iron Shirt, David Lane, Elvira Lane, Bailey Parkinson, Zack Running Coyote, James T, Pauline Trudel, Pam Tzeng, Elaine Weryshko, Liz Windnagel

Design Team: Marie-Êve Cormier, Randi Edmundson, David Lane, Nan Balkwill, Peter Balkwill, Ian McFarlane, Geneviève Paré

CAMP Choir, under the direction of Jean-Louis Bleau:
Jacqueline Abbott, Maddie Aldridge, Sheila Bean, Cassandra Bessette, Jeremy Bizon, Alex Chumley, Lisa Collins, Clarin Cromartie, Kaitlin DeChastelain-Finnigan, Ina Dobrinski, Kaaren Finlay, Elizabeth Gieselmann, Yolande Hasselo, Katt Hryciw, Drew Kotchan, Bobbi Lintner, Greyson Mannella, David Matthies, Claire McKay, Freya Melax, Ken Melax, Rhiannon Smith, Sachia Sproule, Gisele Sweetland, Megan Vignal

Video Production

Director: Leanne Allison

Graphics, Camera: Dan Hudson

Location Sound: Gary Bruckner

Intern: Tanealle Shade


Conceived by: Amethyst First Rider, Troy Emery Twigg, Peter Balkwill, Nan Balkwill, Dave Lane, Celestine Many Bears, Peter Poole, Marie-Eve Marchand