Grand Acts of Great Hope

Across the Back Forty

Narrative Design Collective
  Subtitles available in English French

Narrative Design Collective (Regina, SK)

Connect Across the Back Forty! Join Narrative Design Collective, Globe Theatre Regina, and the National Arts Centre in this grand act of hope. NDC sent 3,000 letters asking people to share what connection means to them. These responses inspired the collective of theatre designers to build eight interactive installations using sound, voice, set and light, and form a live interactive event in Regina’s Victoria Park which invites participants to experience and animate senses of connectivity. Video of this performance event extends these connections and shares our hopes through the NAC with people everywhere. 

Across the Back Forty took place on Treaty 4 lands. These are the territories of the nêhiyawak, Anihšināpēk, Dakota, Lakota, and Nakoda, and the homeland of the Métis/Michif Nation. Today, these lands continue to be the shared Territory of many diverse peoples from near and far. Narrative Design Collective draws together voices from across Turtle Island, including on Lekwungen Traditional Territory, Treaty 13 Territories that include Anishnabeg, Chippewa, Haudenosaunee and Wendat Territories, and in Mi’kma’ki.

Across the Back Forty was performed for a live audience on Saturday, June 26, 2021 in Regina, SK. This live performance adheres to the health and safety guidelines of the region in which it was recorded. 


Narrative Design Collective Team: 
: Nick Bottomley, Eryn Griffith, Graham McMonagle, Michael Wanless, Damien James Webb 
Mentee Artists: Aren Okemaysim, MacKenzy Vida 
Maker Artists: Catherine Bridge, John Cody, Patrick Fitzsimmons, Brian Ganong,  Riley Richter
Contributors: Anonymous (many), Neil Argue, Phil Argue, Mel B, Nick Bottomley, Dan, Dana Griffith, Eryn Griffith, Gerry Hill, Kathy Kyle, Spencer Maxwell, Gloria Mok, Aren Okemaysim, Eileen Sproule, Bob Stuart, Geoffrey Whynot, Yolanda Yobb, Zuzu the dog

Munz Media Video Production Team: Desiree Ates, Tanner Goetz, Jakub Kostura, Zak Neilson, Andrew Parry

Thank you to the NAC, Globe Theatre and Staff, and to all Humans