NACOcast with Sean Rice

Exploring Beethoven Symphonies No. 4, 5 and 6

with Alexander Shelley

In this edition of the NACOcast, host Sean Rice (second clarinet, NAC Orchestra) and NAC Orchestra Music Director Alexander Shelley continue their three-episode series about the Beethoven Symphonies on the occasion of the NAC Orchestra’s Focus Beethoven Festival (Sept 13 - 22, 2018).

Symphonies 4, 5 and 6 were running in Beethoven’s head concurrently. He was a master of making a huge work out of just a scrap of a musical idea. These three symphonies are excellent examples of this methodology. Symphonies 5 and 6, forming in his mind before the fourth, were premiered on December 22, 1808.

Discover how that evening unravelled, and hear Sean and Alexander rave about Beethoven’s accomplishments and contributions to the world.

Watch episode 1: Symphonies No. 1, 2 and 3
Watch episode 3: Symphonies No. 7, 8 and 9