This livestream has ended

Northern Cadence

2022 International Jazz Series

Special Events Music Jazz
  • NAC Orchestra
  • Arts Alive

  Apr 2, 2022 - 8 PM EDT   1 hour and 30 minutes with no intermission.

Three mini jazz concerts from three schools in three different countries – hear them all now in this special event!

The NAC presents Northern Cadence International Jazz Series 2022, hosted by NACO Music Director Alexander Shelley. This special jazz concert, features students and faculty from the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki, Finland, the Manhattan School of Music in New York, USA, and the Schulich School of Music of McGill University in Montreal, Canada. Each school’s jazz ensemble will perform original compositions and standards.

Inspired by the NAC Orchestra’s 2022 Tour, Truth in Our Time, in which NACO presents the world premiere of Philip Glass’s newest work, each school’s jazz ensemble will select repertoire based around this theme.

The Kari Ikonen Ensemble


Luna 17B - Part I, Kari Ikonen

Varhaat, Lassi Friman

Joe’s Blues, Jesse Vilhomaa

Unreal, Antti Ahoniemi

Snowed in, Casimir Ekman

Quarter-Life Crisis, Juho Valjakka

Luna 17B - part II, Kari Ikonen


Kari Ikonen, leader, Moog

Juho Valjakka, piano

Lassi Friman, guitar

Jesse Vilhomaa, alto saxophone

Antti Ahoniemi, bass

Kasper Halttunen, drums

McGill Chamber Jazz Ensemble 1


Id3, Philippe Côté

Alternative Facts, Bryn Roberts

Circadia, Philippe Côté or A Tiny Prayer to Father Time, Philippe Côté

Satyagraha, Philip Glass, Constance De Jong*

*There will be three or four short interludes between pieces arranged by Philippe Côté.
© 1980 Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc. Used by Permission.  


Director: Philippe Côté

Alexandre Colas-Jeffrey, soprano and alto saxophone, flute

Matthew Souaid, baritone saxophone and bass clarinet

Anthony Paolini, tenor saxophone

Sarah Amahrit, French horn

Joseph Machak, trumpet

Nicolas Riverin, trumpet

Margaret Donovan, trombone

François Stevenson, vibraphone

Daniel Marmer, guitar

Bryn Roberts, piano

Felix Hartley, bass

Hugh Kline, drums  

The MSM Jazz Ambassadors


Trust, Dayna Stephens

Truth To Power, Dayna Stephens

Speak, Philip Dizack

Hues, Dayna Stephens


Dayna Stephens, saxophone

Yuko Kawasaki, voice

Nicola Caminiti, alto Saxophone

Remee Ashlee, trombone

Tommaso Perazzo, piano

Rafael Enciso, bass

Quinten Cain, drums

About NACO’s Truth In Our Time 2022 Tour

NACO is back on the road this spring with the Truth in Our Time 2022 Tour, making stops in Toronto, New York, and Ottawa.

Under the direction of Alexander Shelley, and featuring violin soloists James Ehnes (Gramophone Artist of the Year 2021) and Blake Pouliot, NACO presents the world premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13, a work commissioned by the Orchestra on the theme “Truth in Our Time”, as well as exhilarating and moving pieces by Canadian composer Nicole Lizée, Dmitri Shostakovich, and Erich Korngold. Celebrate with us this exciting orchestral experience!

Philip Glass’s moving Symphony No 13 is a tribute to Canadian-American journalist Peter Jennings. Mr. Jennings was not only a highly respected news anchor for ABC News, he was also a trustee of Carnegie Hall during his years in New York City, the founding director of the American chapter of the Friends of the NAC Orchestra, and served as a lifelong champion of Canadian artists.

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers