This livestream is no longer on sale

Driven By Melody

with the NAC Orchestra

Music Classical music
  • NAC Orchestra

  Oct 21, 2021 - 8 PM EDT   90 minutes with no intermission.

M. Arnold Three Shanties, Op. 4a, arr. Philip Lane JOSEPH HAYDN Symphony No. 100 in D major, “Military” John Adams Violin Concerto

The NAC Orchestra is elated to have Principal Guest Conductor John Storgårds back onstage for the first time in over 2 years.  His affinity for the late symphonies of Franz Josef Haydn and for the momentum intrinsic to John Adams’s music will guarantee a thrilling concert experience for performers audience alike.  

More than 225 years after it was composed in London, Haydn’s Symphony No. 100 in D major is as fresh and innovative as ever. Despite the symphony’s slow and gentle opening, the name “Military” was assigned to it almost from the moment of its premiere, thanks to a second movement that conjures the clash of arms and the sounds of marching into battle. 

Composer John Adams’s Concerto for Violin, written in 1993, requires, in his own words, “feats of focus and strength from the violinist,” something Canadian-American artist Leila Josefowicz has in spades, having performed the work more than 100 times. Always a passionate champion of contemporary works and new composers, Leila has been bringing that passion to glorious life at the NAC since her debut here in 1995.

The NAC Foundation would like to acknowledge Mark Motors Group, Official Car of the NAC Orchestra, for their support of the NACO Live and NACO Playlist series.


  • Featuring NAC Orchestra
  • Featuring Leila Josefowicz
  • Featuring John Storgårds
  • john-adams-credit-deborah-ogrady
    Composer John Adams
  • Composer Malcolm Arnold
  • Composer Franz Joseph Haydn

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers