NACO Live: The Rite of Spring

with the NAC Orchestra

2022-06-09 20:00 2022-06-10 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: NACO Live: The Rite of Spring

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30031

In-person event

NACO Spring Offer: Bring a friend to a NACO concert in the 2021-2022 season and receive 50% off both of your tickets – that’s two seats for the price of one! Offer valid for a limited time and only for select NACO performances. Discount available on regular priced tickets only and cannot be combined with other offers. Conductor: Alexander Shelley 
Guest artist: Colin Currie (chamber percussionist) World premiere; Commissioned for Colin Currie by...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
June 9 - 10, 2022

Program

Last updated: June 16, 2022

ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR Aeriality
NICOLE LIZÉE Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes
STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

Repertoire

ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR

Aeriality

Aeriality is Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdóttir’s second work for large orchestra. Commissioned by the Iceland Symphony Orchestra, it was composed between 2010 and 2011, with the world premiere given by the ensemble conducted by Ilan Volkov in November 2011, at Harpa concert hall in Reykjavík. The piece has since been performed internationally and has established Thorvaldsdóttir as a striking and distinctive voice in contemporary music.

On the work’s subject and title, Thorvaldsdóttir notes:

Aeriality refers to the state of gliding through the air with nothing or little to hold on to—as if flying—and the music both portrays the feeling of absolute freedom gained from the lack of attachment and the feeling of unease generated by the same circumstances. The title draws its essence from various aspects of the meaning of the word ‘aerial’ and refers to the visual inspiration that such a view provides. ‘Aeriality’ is also a play on words, combining the words ‘aerial’ and ‘reality’, so as to suggest two different worlds; ‘reality’, the ground, and ‘aerial’, the sky or the untouchable.

Musically, she describes Aeriality as being “on the border of symphonic music and sound art,” with “sound-textures combined—and contrasted with—various forms of lyrical material.” As she further elaborates:

Parts of the work consist of thick clusters of sounds that form a unity as the instruments of the orchestra stream together to form a single force—a sound-mass. The sense of individual instruments is somewhat blurred, and the orchestra becomes a single moving body, albeit at times forming layers of streaming materials that flow between different instrumental groups. These chromatic layers of materials are extended by the use of quartertones to generate vast sonic textures. At what can perhaps be said to be the climax in the music, a massive, sustained ocean of quartertones slowly accumulates and is then released into a brief lyrical field that almost immediately fades out at the peak of its own urgency, only to remain a shadow.

In line with her commentary, the piece traces a long arc from “reality” to “aerial”—as composer-musician Anne Lanzilotti has aptly described—through a slow-moving progression from one tone (F-sharp) to another (C) and finally to air sound. Enroute to the climax, the orchestra’s players contribute individually to the overall soundscape, with each holding a sustained pitch that Thorvaldsdóttir instructs in the score to be thought of “as a fragile flower that you have to carry in your hands and walk the distance on a thin rope without dropping it or falling.” After accumulating on 46 distinct pitches, the chord discharges into the “lyrical field”, a moment of passionate release that the composer likens “to clouds clearing up the sky, revealing the beauty that lies behind the mass.” Gradually, the orchestra shifts towards a drone pitch of C, ultimately dissipating into air at the work’s close.

Nicole Lizée

Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes

As her current biography notes, Canadian composer Nicole Lizée explores in her works such themes as “malfunction, reviving the obsolete, and the harnessing of imperfection and glitch to create a new kind of precision.” She’s particularly fascinated by “the glitches made by outmoded and well-worn technology and captures these glitches, notates them, and integrates them into live performance.” These topics of interest are taken up again in her latest piece for solo percussion and orchestra, a NACO and BBC co-commission for Colin Currie entitled Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes,

Tonight’s performance is the work’s world premiere; it will have its European premiere this summer at the BBC Proms, by Currie and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra led by Alpesh Chauhan.

Lizée shares the following description of her piece:

Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes is inspired by certain techniques found in stop motion, film, and photography—particularly those that have potential for corruption and error, i.e., freezing, extreme and misuse of zoom and blur, dropped frames, image burn-in/ghost images, light leaks, and multiple exposures. This concerto uses percussion and orchestra to sonically represent and embrace these erroneous ‘events’.

Stop motion is an animation technique in which objects are physically manipulated in small increments between photographed frames to create the illusion of independent motion. While the art form has become slick through the use of computer-generated imagery (CGI), it is the earliest forms of stop motion that I find the most fascinating. Central to creating stop motion is the black frame where the ‘trickery’ is carried out, unseen. Motion or animation is made possible by interruptions in the chain of images. During this interruption the animator modifies the objects off camera in tiny increments, which the audience does not see. The darkness is necessary to create the illusion of continuity. But the goings-on during those unseen moments, which can extend for an indefinite amount of time, can be the most interesting. This work celebrates that darkness or black frame.

Stravinsky

The Rite of Spring

In his 1936 autobiography, Igor Stravinsky recalled having a “fleeting vision” in 1910 as he was completing his ballet score The Firebird for Serge Diaghilev’s Ballet Russes: “I saw in my imagination a solemn pagan rite: sage elders, seated in a circle, watched a young girl dance herself to death. They were sacrificing her to propitiate the god of spring.” He proposed it to Diaghilev as the subject for another ballet, then turned to Russian painter Nikolai Roerich to help him flesh it out. Also an archaeologist with a deep fascination for early Slavic history and ancient religion, Roerich was instrumental in the shaping and creation of the ballet’s narrative, and designed the sets and costumes for the original production.

On May 29, 1913, The Rite of Spring premiered at Paris’s Théâtre de Champs-Elysées. It provoked strong reactions from the audience, though, as music scholars have proved, not to the extent of a violent riot—a much-exaggerated claim by critics and concert promoters that has been perpetuated as a myth, even to this day. While accounts conflict on various details, what’s clear is that much of the performance was obscured by the audience’s noisy protestations—laughter, yelling, whistling, booing, and the like—to Vaslav Nijinsky’s choreography. Featuring jerky gestures, stamping, and bizarrely complex group movements, it went against the aesthetics of traditional ballet. Stravinsky’s score was deemed brutal and incomprehensible, even though his command of the orchestra and his gifts for rhythm and melody were undeniable. More troubling and problematic was the racist commentary the dancing and the music elicited, with connections drawn to “primitive” and “savage” non-European cultures.

Since its premiere, The Rite of Spring has been performed primarily in the concert hall and is regarded as an icon of 20th century musical modernism. It bears noting what aspects make it a landmark work for its time. For one, it uses an expanded orchestral palette, with autonomous instrumental groups—including an enlarged woodwind section—juxtaposed and layered to create a vast variety of textures and sonorities. Players are also sometimes required to play at the limits of their instruments—for example, the opening melody is set in the bassoon’s high register, giving it an unusually strained timbre. The insistent repetition and development of melodic cells (fragments of Slavic folk song or approximations of it) alongside constantly driving rhythms, often with irregularly placed accents cutting across regular beat patterns, create a hypnotic atmosphere. Chords are combined and recombined to form complex, jarring dissonances that are applied with memorable effect—listen for the “stomping chord”, repeated no less than 32 times in succession, in “The Augurs of Spring”. In sum, the orchestra isn’t merely a backdrop for the ritualistic events occurring on stage, but an active participant.

Tonight, you’ll experience The Rite of Spring afresh in the Canadian premiere of a new critical edition of the score, completed in 2021 by Clinton F. Nieweg and James Chang. To help guide your listening and stimulate imagination, an outline of the ballet’s episodes is provided below, with Stravinsky’s descriptions taken from his notes to conductor Serge Koussevitsky for the 1914 Russian premiere of the work as a concert piece.

First Part: Adoration of the Earth

Introduction
Quoted in an interview published the day after the premiere, Stravinsky described the Introduction as “the fear of nature before the arising of beauty, a sacred terror at the midday sun, a sort of pagan cry…And the whole orchestra, all this massing of instruments, should have the significance of The Birth of Spring.”

The Augurs of Spring: Dances of the Young Girls
“Some adolescent boys appear with a very old woman, whose age and even whose century is unknown, who knows the secret of nature, and who teachers her sons Prediction. She runs, bent over the earth, half-woman, half-beast. The adolescents at her side are Augurs of Spring, who mark in their steps the rhythm of spring, the pulse beat of spring.”

Ritual of Abduction
“Young girls arrive from the river in single file. They begin the Dance of the Abduction.”

Spring Rounds
Groups of young men and women confront each other, with the girls “forming a circle which mingles with the boys’ circle.”

Ritual of the Rival Tribes
“The groups separate and compete; messengers come from one to the other and they quarrel. It is the defining of forces through struggle, that is, through games.”

Procession of the Sage
“A holy procession leads to the entry of the wise elders, headed by the Sage, who brings the games to a pause and blesses the earth”

The Sage
“The games stop and the people wait, trembling, for the blessing of the earth. The Sage makes a sign to kiss the earth.”

Dance of the Earth
“The people break into a passionate dance, sanctifying and becoming one with the earth.”

Second Part: The Sacrifice

Introduction
Mystic Circles of the Young Girls
“Night. The young girls engage in mysterious games, walking in circles. One of the maidens is chose for the Sacrifice. Fate points to her twice: twice she is caught in one of the circles without an exit.”

Glorification of the Chosen One
“The girls dance a martial dance honouring the Chosen One.”

Evocation of the Ancestors
“In a brief dance, the young girls evoke the ancestors.”

Ritual Action of the Ancestors
“The Chosen One is entrusted to the care of the wise old men.”

Sacrificial Dance (The Chosen One)
“The Chosen One dances to death in the presence of the Ancestors. When she is on the point of falling exhausted, the Ancestors recognize it, and glide towards her like ravenous monsters, so that she may not touch the ground in falling; they raise her and hold her towards the sky.”

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

NAC Orchestra

FIRST VIOLINS
Yosuke Kawasaki (concertmaster)
Jessica Linnebach (associate concertmaster)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistant concertmaster)
**Elaine Klimasko
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Frédéric Moisan
*Oleg Chelpanov
*Martine Dubé
*Erica Miller
◊Katelyn Emery
◊Marianne Di Tomaso
◊Danielle Greene
◊Zhengdong Liang
◊Maria-Sophia Pera
◊Yu Kai Sun

SECOND VIOLINS
Mintje van Lier (principal)
Winston Webber (assistant solo)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
**Edvard Skerjanc
Karoly Sziladi
Leah Roseman
Emily Westell
*Andéa Armijo Fortin
*Renée London
*Heather Schnarr
◊Jeanne-Sophie Baron
◊Kimberly Durflinger
◊Lindsey Herle
◊Austin Wu
◊Jingpu Xi
◊Xueao Yang

VIOLAS
Jethro Marks (principal / solo)
David Marks (associate principal / solo associé)
David Goldblatt (assistant principal / assistant solo)
Paul Casey
**Ren Martin-Doike
David Thies-Thompson
◊Tovin Allers
◊Daniel McCarthy
◊Alexander Moroz
◊Emily Rekrut Pressey

CELLOS
Rachel Mercer (principal)
Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)
Timothy McCoy
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
*Karen Kang
◊Peter Ryan
◊Tsung Yu Tsai

DOUBLE BASSES
*Joel Quarrington (guest principal)
Hilda Cowie (acting assistant principal)
Vincent Gendron
Marjolaine Fournier
*David Fay
*Paul Mach
◊Philippe Chaput
◊Logan Nelson
◊Hector Ponce

FLUTES
Joanna G'froerer (principal / solo)
Stephanie Morin
◊Christian Paquette
◊Arin Sarkissian

OBOES
Charles Hamann (principal)
Anna Petersen
◊Myriam Navarri
◊Kira Shiner

CLARINETS
Kimball Sykes (principal)
Sean Rice
◊Juan Olivares
◊Timothy Yung

BASSOONS
​Christopher Millard (principal)
Vincent Parizeau
*Joelle Amar
◊Chia Yu Hsu
◊Thalia Navas

HORNS
Lawrence Vine (principal)
Julie Fauteux (associate principal)
Lauren Anker
Elizabeth Simpson
Louis-Pierre Bergeron
◊Connor Landers
◊Corine Chartré Lefebvre
◊Roberto Rivera
◊Shin Yu Wang

TRUMPETS
Karen Donnelly (principal)
Steven van Gulik
◊Jose Juan Hernandez Torres
◊Daniel Lehmann

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (principal)
Douglas Burden
Colin Traquair
*Steve Dyer
◊Micah Kroeker
◊Wing Kwong Tang
◊Collins Sanders

TUBA
Chris Lee (principal)
◊Alec Rich

TIMPANI
Feza Zweifel (principal)
*Alexander Cohen

PERCUSSION
**Jonathan Wade
*Andrew Johnson
◊Michael Carp 
​◊Jacob Kryger

HARP
Angela Schwarzkopf*
 

PRINCIPAL LIBRARIAN
Nancy Elbeck

ASSISTANT LIBRARIAN
Corey Rempel

PERSONNEL MANAGER
Meiko Lydall

*Additional musicians
**On leave
Non-titled members of the Orchestra are listed alphabetically
◊ Mentorship Program Participants

Menu

OCNA en direct: Le Sacre du printemps

avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Progamme

ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR Aeriality
NICOLE LIZÉE Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes
STRAVINSKY Le Sacre du printemps

ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR

Aeriality

Aeriality est la deuxième œuvre pour grand orchestre de la compositrice islandaise Anna Thorvaldsdóttir. Commande de l’Orchestre symphonique d’Islande, elle a été composée en 2010 et 2011, et sa première mondiale a eu lieu en novembre 2011 dans la salle de concert Harpa, à Reykjavík, avec un ensemble dirigé par Ilan Volkov. Depuis, la pièce a été jouée à l’international et a fait de Thorvaldsdóttir une voix remarquable et singulière dans le monde de la musique contemporaine.

Au sujet du thème et du titre de l’œuvre, la compositrice note ceci :

Aeriality « évoque le fait de planer sans avoir rien, ou presque, à quoi s’accrocher ». Comme si on volait. De la musique émane à la fois le sentiment de liberté absolue, d’absence d’attaches et le sentiment de malaise que peut provoquer une telle situation. Le titre puise son essence de différents aspects de la signification du mot aérien et renvoie à l’inspiration visuelle offerte. Il s’agit aussi d’un jeu de mots qui combine aérien et réalité et suggère deux mondes différents : la réalité représente la terre, et l’aérien représente le ciel, ou l’intouchable.

Sur le plan musical, Thorvaldsdóttir décrit l’œuvre comme étant « à la croisée de la musique symphonique et de l’art sonore. Ses textures sonores se marient et contrastent avec différents éléments lyriques. » Elle ajoute :

Certaines parties de l’œuvre sont en fait de grosses grappes sonores qui viennent s’unir lorsque les instruments de l’orchestre sont joués ensemble et créent une force unique, une masse sonore. On ne perçoit plus la distinction entre les instruments. L’orchestre devient un seul corps qui se meut et qui, parfois, semble constituer un flux sonore se déplaçant d’un groupe d’instruments à l’autre. Ces couches chromatiques sont diffusées à l’aide des quarts de ton qui créent un vaste éventail de textures soniques. Au point possiblement culminant de la pièce, un océan de quarts de ton, immense et soutenu, commence lentement à s’accumuler jusqu’à ce qu’il soit relâché dans un petit champ lyrique qui s’estompe presque aussitôt, dès qu’il atteint son propre paroxysme, puis reste dans l’ombre.

Dans le même ordre d’idée, la pièce trace un long arc entre la réalité et l’aérien – comme l’a si bien décrit la compositrice et musicienne Anne Lanzilotti – en se déplaçant tout doucement d’un ton (fa dièse) à un autre (do) pour arriver, enfin, au son de l’air. En route vers le point culminant, les membres de l’orchestre contribuent individuellement à l’ensemble du paysage sonore. Chacun d’eux maintient un ton soutenu, lequel doit, selon les instructions de Thorvaldsdóttir dans la partition, être perçu comme « une fleur délicate que l’on tient dans nos mains alors que l’on marche sur un fil de fer et qu’il faut à tout prix éviter de tomber ou d’échapper la fleur ». Après une accumulation de 46 tons distincts, l’accord se déverse dans le « champ musical », un moment de libération passionnée que la compositrice compare à « un ciel nuageux qui se dégage, dévoilant toute la beauté qui s’y cachait ». Graduellement, l’orchestre poursuit avec un ton en do bourdonnant qui se dissipe dans l’air à la fin de la pièce.

Nicole Lizée

Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes

Selon sa biographie, la compositrice canadienne Nicole Lizée explore dans son travail « le dysfonctionnement, la revitalisation du désuet et l’exploitation des imperfections et des petits pépins dans le but de créer une nouvelle sorte de précision ». Elle a une fascination marquée pour « les petits pépins causés par un appareil usé et dépassé et les intègre aux représentations ». Ces thèmes ont été revisités dans sa dernière pièce pour percussionniste solo et orchestre Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes, une commande conjointe de l’Orchestre du CNA et de la BBC pour Colin Currie. Ce soir a lieu la première de cette pièce.

La première européenne sera donnée cet été aux BBC Proms, par Colin Currie et l’Orchestre symphonique écossais de la BBC dirigé par Alpesh Chauhan.

Voici comment Lizée décrit sa pièce :

Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes puise son inspiration dans les techniques de prise de vues image par image, de film et de photographie – surtout les techniques qui risquent d’être corrompues ou d’avoir des erreurs, comme le gel d’images, l’utilisation abusive du zoom et de l’effet flou, les sauts d’images, les images fantômes, l’infiltration de lumière et l’exposition multiple. Ce concerto utilise percussions et orchestre pour mettre en valeur ces petits pépins et les représenter avec le son.

La prise de vues image par image est une technique d’animation qui prévoit la manipulation physique et très progressive d’objets entre chaque image pour créer l’illusion d’un mouvement indépendant. Avec l’imagerie informatisée, cet art produit maintenant un résultat impeccable. Mais ce sont ses premières formes qui me fascinent le plus. Un des éléments clés de cette technique est l’image noire, celle qui permet de réaliser le tour de magie. Le mouvement, ou l’animation, est obtenu grâce à des interruptions dans l’enchaînement des images. Pendant l’interruption, c’est-à-dire lorsqu’on cesse de filmer, l’animateur modifie très légèrement les objets, sans que le spectateur puisse voir. La noirceur est nécessaire pour créer l’illusion de continuité. Mais ce qui s’y passe, ce qu’on ne voit pas et qui peut s’échelonner sur une période indéfinie est possiblement ce qu’il y a de plus intéressant. Mon œuvre célèbre cette noirceur, ou image noire.

Stravinsky

Le Sacre du Printemps

Dans son autobiographie de 1936, Igor Stravinsky se rappelle avoir eu, en 1910, une « vision fugitive » alors qu’il terminait la partition du ballet Oiseau de feu pour les Ballets Russes de Serge Diaghilev. « J’entrevis dans mon imagination le spectacle d’un grand rite païen : les vieux sages, assis en cercle, et observant la danse à la mort d’une jeune fille, qu’ils sacrifient pour leur rendre propice le dieu du printemps. » Il propose sa vision à Diaghilev comme sujet d’un autre ballet, puis se tourne vers le peintre russe Nikolai Roerich pour mettre le tout en image. Roerich, qui est aussi un archéologue des plus fascinés par les débuts de l’histoire slave et les religions anciennes, joue un rôle très important dans la conception et la création du récit de ce ballet. Il conçoit également les décors et les costumes de la toute première représentation.

Le 29 mai 1913 a lieu la première du Sacre du printemps au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, à Paris. Les vives réactions qu’elle suscite chez les spectateurs ont été exagérées par les critiques et les promoteurs de concerts de l’époque. Encore aujourd’hui, la légende dit qu’une violente émeute s’en est suivi. Or, les musicologues ont prouvé que ce n’est pas le cas. Si les différentes versions se contredisent, une chose est certaine : une bonne partie de la prestation est obscurcie par les protestations bruyantes de l’auditoire – rires, cris, sifflements, huées, etc. – en réponse à la chorégraphie de Vaslav Nijinski. Avec des gestes saccadés, des piétinements et des groupes de mouvements bizarrement complexes, la chorégraphie va à l’encontre du style traditionnel de la danse classique. Quant à la partition de Stravinsky, elle est perçue comme brutale et incompréhensible, et ce, même si sa maîtrise de l’orchestre et son don pour le rythme et la mélodie sont indéniables. Les protestations les plus troublantes et les plus problématiques sont les commentaires racistes provoqués par la danse et la musique inspirées de cultures non européennes dites « primitives » et « sauvages ».

Depuis sa première, les représentations du Sacre du printemps ont principalement lieu dans la salle de concert, et l’œuvre est considérée comme un monument de la musique moderne du 20e siècle. Il importe de souligner les aspects qui en font un monument. Tout d’abord, elle s’appuie sur une palette orchestrale plus vaste et composée de groupes instrumentaux autonomes, y compris d’une section des bois. Le tout est juxtaposé et se superpose de sorte à créer un vaste éventail de textures et de sonorités. Les musiciens doivent parfois repousser les limites de leur instrument. Par exemple, la mélodie d’ouverture est jouée dans le registre supérieur du basson, ce qui confère un timbre tendu inhabituel. Les répétitions constantes et le développement de cellules mélodieuses (des fragments ou des approximations de pièces slaves folkloriques) s’accompagnent de rythmes dynamiques incessants et, souvent, d’accents irréguliers qui contrastent avec les rythmes réguliers et créent une atmosphère hypnotique. Les accords sont combinés et recombinés pour former des dissonances complexes, déconcertantes et tout à fait mémorables, comme la succession des 32 accords dans Augures printaniers. En bref, l’orchestre constitue bien plus que l’arrière-plan des rituels sur scène : il y participe activement.

Ce soir, vous voyez Le Sacre du printemps sous un nouveau jour, lors de la première canadienne de la nouvelle édition critique de la partition terminée en 2021 par Clinton F. Nieweg et James Chang. Pour guider votre écoute et stimuler votre imagination, vous trouverez ci-dessous les descriptions des épisodes de ballet tirées des notes que Stravinsky avait préparées pour le chef d’orchestre Serge Koussevitsky en vue de la première russe de l’œuvre, qui a eu lieu en 1914 sous forme de concert.

Premier tableau : L’Adoration de la Terre

Prélude
Cité dans une entrevue publiée au lendemain de la première, Stravinsky décrit l’introduction comme suit : « La crainte “panique” de la nature pour la beauté qui s’élève, une terreur sacrée devant le soleil de midi, une sorte de cri du dieu Pan… Et tout l’orchestre doit posséder l’énergie du printemps qui naît ».

Augures printaniers – Danses des adolescentes
« Des adolescents se montrent avec une vieille, très vieille femme, dont on ne connaît ni l’âge ni le siècle, qui connaît les secrets de la Nature et apprend à ses fils la Prédiction. Elle court courbée sur la terre, ni femme, ni bête. Les adolescentes auprès d’elle sont les “Augures printaniers”. Elles marquent de leurs pas sur place, le rythme du Printemps, le battement du pouls du Printemps. »

Jeu du rapt
« Pendant ce temps, les adolescentes arrivent de la rivière. Elles entament la danse du rapt. »

Rondes printanières
Les groupes d’adolescents et d’adolescentes se confrontent. Les adolescentes « composent de leur nombre une couronne qui se mêle à la couronne des garçons ».

Jeu des cités rivales
« Les groupes se séparent et entrent en lutte, des messagers vont des uns aux autres et se querellent. C’est la définition des forces par la lutte, c’est-à-dire par le jeu. »

Cortège du Sage
« Mais on entend l’arrivée du cortège. C’est celui du Sage, l’homme le plus âgé du clan. Et le Sage interrompt le jeu et donne la bénédiction à la terre. »

Le Sage
« Les jeux s’arrêtent, et les gens attendent, tremblant, la bénédiction de la terre. Le Sage fait un signe de baiser à la terre. »

Danse de la Terre
« Les gens dansent avec passion. Sanctification. Ils font un avec la terre. »

Second tableau : Le sacrifice

Prélude

Cercles mystérieux des adolescentes
« C’est la nuit. Un chant mystérieux accompagne les danses des jeunes filles. Celles-ci marquent par leurs rondes l’endroit où, à la fin, sera enfermée l’Élue. L’Élue est celle qui doit être consacrée pour rendre sa force au Printemps. »

Glorification de l’Élue
« Les jeunes filles dansent autour de l’Élue, immobile, une sorte de gratification. »

Évocation des Ancêtres
« Lors d’une courte danse, les adolescentes évoquent les Ancêtres. »

Action rituelle des Ancêtres
« L’Élue est confiée aux vieux sages. »

Danse sacrale (l’Élue)
« Et les Ancêtres se regroupent autour de l’Élue qui commence à exécuter la “Danse sacrale”. Lorsqu’elle est sur le point de tomber épuisée, les Ancêtres glissent vers elle comme des monstres rapaces. Pour qu’elle ne touche pas le sol en tombant, ils la soulèvent et la tendent vers le ciel. »

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley


Orchestre du CNA

PREMIERS VIOLONSYosuke Kawasaki (violon solo)
​Jessica Linnebach(violon solo associée)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistante violon solo)
**Elaine Klimasko
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Frédéric Moisan
*Oleg Chelpanov
*Martine Dubé
*Erica Miller
◊Katelyn Emery
◊Marianne Di Tomaso
◊Danielle Greene
◊Zhengdong Liang
◊Maria-Sophia Pera
◊Yu Kai Sun

SECONDS VIOLONS
Mintje van Lier (solo)
Winston Webber (assistant solo)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
**Edvard Skerjanc
Karoly Sziladi
Leah Roseman
Emily Westell
*Andéa Armijo Fortin
*Renée London
*Heather Schnarr
◊Jeanne-Sophie Baron
◊Kimberly Durflinger
◊Lindsey Herle
◊Austin Wu
◊Jingpu Xi
◊Xueao Yang

ALTOS
Jethro Marks (solo)
David Marks (solo associé)
David Goldblatt (assistant solo)
Paul Casey
**Ren Martin-Doike
David Thies-Thompson
◊Tovin Allers
◊Daniel McCarthy
◊Alexander Moroz
◊Emily Rekrut Pressey

VIOLONCELLES
​Rachel Mercer (solo)
Julia MacLaine (assistante solo)
Timothy McCoy
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
*Karen Kang
◊Peter Ryan
◊Tsung Yu Tsai

CONTREBASSES
*Joel Quarrington (solo invité)
Hilda Cowie (assistante solo par intérim)
Vincent Gendron
Marjolaine Fournier
​*David Fay
*Paul Mach
◊Philippe Chaput
◊Logan Nelson
◊Hector Ponce

FLÛTES
Joanna G'froerer (solo)
Stephanie Morin
◊Christian Paquette
◊Arin Sarkissian

HAUTBOIS
Charles Hamann (solo)
Anna Petersen
◊Myriam Navarri
◊Kira Shiner

CLARINETTES
Kimball Sykes (solo)
Sean Rice
◊Juan Olivares
◊Timothy Yung

BASSONS
Christopher Millard (solo)
Vincent Parizeau
*Joelle Amar
◊Chia Yu Hsu
◊Thalia Navas

CORS
Lawrence Vine (solo)
Julie Fauteux (solo associée)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron
◊Connor Landers
◊Corine Chartré Lefebvre
◊Roberto Rivera
◊Shin Yu Wang

TROMPETTES
Karen Donnelly (solo)
Steven van Gulik
*Michael Fedyshyn
◊Jose Juan Hernandez Torres
◊Daniel Lehmann

 

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (solo)
Douglas Burden
Colin Traquair
*Steve Dyer
◊Micah Kroeker
◊Wing Kwong Tang
◊Collins Sanders

TUBA
Chris Lee (solo)
◊Alec Rich

TIMBALES
Feza Zweifel (solo)
*Alexander Cohen

PERCUSSIONS
**Jonathan Wade
*Andrew Johnson
◊Michael Carp 
◊Jacob Kryger

HARPE
Angela Schwarzkopf* 
 

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE PRINCIPALE
Nancy Elbeck

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE ADJOINT
Corey Rempel

CHEF DU PERSONNEL
Meiko Lydall

*Musiciens surnuméraires
** En congé
Les membres de l’Orchestre sans fonction attitrée sont cités en ordre alphabétique
◊ Les participants et participantes du Programme de mentorat

Menu