Appalachian Spring

Caroline Shaw

Entr’acte for string orchestra

American composer Caroline Shaw’s Entr’acte was inspired by a specific moment of transition in the second movement of a Haydn string quartet. As she describes: 

“It was written in 2011 after hearing the Brentano Quartet play Haydn’s Op. 77 No. 2—with their spare and soulful shift to the D-flat major trio in the minuet. It is structured like a minuet and trio, riffing on that classical form but taking it a little further. I love the way some music (like the minuets of Op. 77) suddenly takes you to the other side of Alice’s looking glass, in a kind of absurd, subtle, technicolor transition.” 

In a theatrical production, such as a play or opera, the word “entr’acte” indicates an interval between two acts. Historically, this pause, signalled by the closing of curtains, was to facilitate changes in scenery and costumes in preparation for the next act. Eventually, “entr’acte” also came to mean a musical piece or dance inserted for performance during this pause; indeed, such works were distinctly intended to create a break in the action or mood. Shaw’s piece is thus aptly titled, in its exploration of transitional moments to “absurd, subtle, technicolor” ends.  They are brought to particularly sharp relief in the string orchestra version she created in 2014 that you’ll hear in tonight’s concert. 

Entr’acte begins with a pulsating heartbeat motif, which unfolds in a sweeping manner as the main theme of the minuet. In the minor mode, it has a somewhat mournful quality. Later, it seems to disintegrate into dissonance, then into pitchless noise, through which the full-bodied bowed version alternately emerges with increasing emphasis. The central trio section brings fresh contrast, starting with a plucked melody, to sound “like granite”, in a brighter major mode. Things then seem to get surreal, as motifs are developed. First violins and cellos in a duet of long notes over plucked triplets in the second violins and violas lead into a passage of pizzicato counterpoint. The mood intensifies into an acid bright moment featuring sustained chords in the violins over rippling viola arpeggios; it darkens, becoming more anxious, but then the tension is released through a flurry of plucked strings. Via ethereal harmonics and sighing gestures, the minuet returns. After its reprise, the music ascends into the ether, leaving a lone cello strumming an extended sequence of chords like, as Shaw indicates it to be played, “recalling fragments of an old tune or story.” 

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley 

MARTIN

Concerto for seven wind instruments, timpani, percussion, and string orchestra

I. Allegro 
II. Adagietto 
III. Allegro vivace 

Swiss composer Frank Martin wrote his Concerto for seven wind instruments, timpani, percussion, and string orchestra in 1949, the fulfilment of a commission by the Bernische Musikgesellschaft, who requested an orchestral piece from him. It received its premiere in the same year, conducted by Luc Balmer. Martin felt he composed best when given certain creative parameters. For this work, he determined them himself—create a concerto featuring soloists from each of the seven orchestral woodwind and brass families. This was no small challenge, for he had to both display and integrate the vastly different timbres, techniques, and characters of the various solo instruments, along with the forces of a string orchestra.  

The resulting work—in the three-movement fast-slow-fast plan of concerto form—is a meticulously crafted, virtuosic tour-de-force. Within the movements, the general structure typically alternates between sections highlighting individual soloists, various groupings of two to three instruments, and larger ensemble groupings (such as woodwinds, brass, and strings). Overall, the Concerto has a playful quality—as if the instruments are having a stimulating conversation and us listeners are reveling their banter. 

A syncopated rhythmic gesture opens the first movement; it becomes a recurring motif, interjecting between the individual entries of the solo instruments: oboe, clarinet, then trumpet, horn, and trombone in imitation, flute, and later, bassoon. The string orchestra and the soloists, either individually or in groups, then engage in interplay and build tension, which is eventually released by the timpani in a brief but emphatic solo. Against spiky strings, trombone and oboe present lyrical melodies, leading to a return of the opening gesture; the solo entries are reprised, in more condensed form. Once more, the two groups—soloists and strings—interact, with greater intensity this time. They drive to a bigger peak, after which the woodwinds close with a gentle postlude. 

In Martin’s words, the Adagietto, marked “mysterious and elegant”, is “based entirely on a steady two-time beat, which serves as an accompaniment to the melodic elements: sometimes serene, sometimes dark and violent. A lyrical phrase first heard in the bassoon’s upper register is repeated by the trombone with a gentle nobility at the conclusion.” The movement’s basic structure is delineated by an expressive melody played by the violins, later returning twice, the final time reaching an impassioned climax.  

The energetic final movement features a recurring light-stepping ascending theme, introduced by the oboe, that alternates with episodes during which the soloists are given opportunity to shine. Listen especially for the timpani’s extended moment in the spotlight. Later, the lyrical bassoon melody from the Adagietto returns in augmented form; solo horn plays it first, then the violins against a march-like backdrop that builds, culminating in a full orchestral statement of the main theme. In the coda, the ensemble is taken up in an accelerating, whirling dance that draws the Concerto to a brilliant finish.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley 

DERRICK SKYE

Prisms, Cycles, Leaps

Prisms, Cycles, Leaps by American composer Derrick Skye is an orchestral piece, he says, that “bridges the space between the music of the Balkans, the Volta Region of Ghana and North Indian Hindustani classical music.” As he further explains:

“The time signature of the piece is in a foundational 3/2, but shifts its emphasis to 6/4, 12/8, and 7/8 +5/8 in different sections by using polyrhythmic ostinatos that are found in Ghanaian religious drum ceremonies. The melodic lines of Prisms, Cycles, Leaps combine elements of Balkan music and Hindustani classical music. While the melodic lines use an ornamentation specific to Bulgarian women’s choir music (similar to accaciaturas found in Baroque music), the larger form of the melodic lines resembles the tihai rhythmic cadence and the long phrases found in improvised Hindustani classical music. Tihai is a thrice-repeated rhythmic phrase that is used to end a section or conclude a piece in Hindustani classical music. The title Prisms, Cycles, Leaps references a search for beauty in life and nature through multiple and varied yet cyclical experiences.” 

The work, which he completed in 2015 and premiered by the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, was, he has noted, “the result of many years of experimentation, training, and research, and is the first in a series of works of a similar theme.” The complex integration of the various musical traditions Skye describes above unfolds in several large sections. Within this structure are smaller segments differentiated further by the juxtaposition of melodic and rhythmic lines that create distinctively shifting “grooves”, underscored by changes in instrumentation.  

Prisms, Cycles, Leaps gets going with a propulsive rhythmic ostinato and a flute motif; it steadily builds to a jubilant dance, with violins becoming prominent. Four minutes into the piece, solo instruments—English horn, trumpet, oboe, flute, piccolo, violins—take up a melody in turn. The metre shifts as a nebulous transition eventually leads into a period of sonic brilliance. Claps and lower strings then drive the music forward, as piano, violins, and percussion, among others, are added to the texture. The mood suddenly brightens, and from a backdrop of optimistic violin motifs, a sustained, chorale-like melody emerges. For a moment, it relaxes in peace, but the rhythmic ostinatos start again, bringing about another cycle of instrumental solos. In the concluding minutes, trombones intone a grand descending scale after which the orchestra blazes and shimmers, finally evanescing into the ether. 

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley 

Copland

Suite from Appalachian Spring

Aaron Copland had long admired the innovative artistry of American dancer Martha Graham, who in 1931 had choreographed the dance solo Dithyrambic to the composer’s Piano Variations. Over a decade later, in 1942, an opportunity finally arose for the two of them to collaborate—a commission by the eminent music patron Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge for a half-hour long ballet. Copland worked on the score (originally for 13 instruments) over the next two years; in 1944, the ballet, entitled Appalachian Spring (which Graham had taken from a poem by Hart Crane), was premiered at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. A critical success, it won the Pulitzer Prize and the New York Music Critics’ Circle Award the following year. Six months after the ballet’s premiere, Copland arranged the music into a suite for orchestra, which was first performed by the New York Philharmonic conducted by Artur Rodzínski, in October 1945. It is in this form that Appalachian Spring is best known today. 

Through his distinctive application of modernist elements such as static harmonies, extended tonality, and cross rhythms, Copland evokes in the music of Appalachian Spring a certain character of life in rural America—specifically, its spaciousness, simplicity, and down-to-earth quality drawn from American pastoral mythology as well as Anglo-American folk music. The Suite consists of eight sections (reduced from the ballet’s original 14 segments), which progress without break. Below is the ballet’s synopsis, for context, followed by the composer’s individual descriptions to each section of the Suite. 

* * *

Synopsis: A pioneer celebration in spring around a newly built farmhouse in the Pennsylvania hills in the early part of the last century. The bride-to-be and the young farmer-husband enact the emotions, joyful and apprehensive, which their new domestic partnership invites. An old neighbor suggests, now and then, the rocky confidence of experience. A revivalist and his followers remind the new householders of the strange and terrible aspects of human fate. At the end the couple are left quiet and strong in their new house. 

1. Very slowly. Introduction of the characters, one by one, in a suffused light. 

2. Fast. Sudden burst of unison strings in A-major arpeggios starts the action. A sentiment both elated and religious gives the keynote to this scene. 

3. Moderate. Duo for the Bride and her Intended—scene of tenderness and passion. 

4. Quite fast. The Revivalist and his flock. Folksy feelings—suggestions of square dances and country fiddlers. 

5. Still faster. Solo dance of the Bride—presentiment of motherhood. Extremes of joy and fear and wonder. 

6. Very slowly (as at first). Transition scene reminiscent of the introduction. 

7. Calm and flowing. Scenes of daily activity for the Bride and her Farmer-husband. There are five variations on a Shaker theme. The theme, sung by a solo clarinet, was taken from a collection of Shaker melodies compiled by Edward D. Andrews, and published under the title “The Gift to Be Simple.” The melody borrowed and used almost literally is called “Simple Gifts.”  

8. Moderate. Coda. The Bride takes her place among her new neighbours. At the end the couple are left “quiet and strong in their new house.” Muted strings intone a hushed prayerlike chorale passage. The close is reminiscent of the opening music. 

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley 


NAC Orchestra

FIRST VIOLINS
Yosuke Kawasaki (concertmaster)
Jessica Linnebach (associate concertmaster)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistant concertmaster)
Elaine Klimasko**
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Leah Roseman
John Corban*
Martine Dubé*
Erica Miller*
Heather Schnarr* 

SECOND VIOLINS
Mintje van Lier (principal)
Winston Webber (assistant principal)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
Frédéric Moisan
Edvard Skerjanc**
Karoly Sziladi
Emily Westell
Andréa Armijo-Fortin*
Renée London*
Sara Mastrangelo*
Sarah Williams*

VIOLAS
Jethro Marks (principal)**
David Marks (associate principal)**
David Goldblatt (assistant principal)
Paul Casey**
Ren Martin-Doike
David Thies-Thompson
Kelvin Enns*
Kate Moran*
Sonya Probst*

CELLOS
Rachel Mercer (principal)
Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)**
Timothy McCoy
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
Desiree Abbey*
Fanny Marks*

DOUBLE BASSES
Max Cardilli (guest principal)*
Hilda Cowie (acting assistant principal)
Marjolaine Fournier
Vincent Gendron

FLUTES
Joanna G’froerer (principal)
Stephanie Morin

OBOES
Charles Hamann (principal)
Anna Petersen

ENGLISH HORN
Anna Petersen

CLARINETS
Kimball Sykes (principal)
Sean Rice

BASSOONS
Darren Hicks (guest principal)*
Christopher Millard (principal)**
Vincent Parizeau

HORNS
Lawrence Vine (principal)
Julie Fauteux (associate principal)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron

TRUMPETS
Karen Donnelly (principal)
Steven van Gulik
Michael Fedyshyn*

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (principal)
Colin Traquair

BASS TROMBONE
Douglas Burden

TUBA
Chris Lee (principal)

TIMPANI
Feza Zweifel (principal)

PERCUSSION
Jonathan Wade
Matthew Moore*
Louis Pino*

HARP
Angela Schwarzkopf*

PIANO
Frédéric Lacroix*

ELECTRIC BASS
John Geggie
 

PRINCIPAL LIBRARIAN
Nancy Elbeck

ASSISTANT LIBRARIAN
Corey Rempel

PERSONNEL MANAGER
Meiko Lydall

ASSISTANT PERSONNEL MANAGER
Laurie Shannon

*Additional musicians
**On leave
Non-titled members of the Orchestra are listed alphabetically

Menu

Printemps des Appalaches

Caroline Shaw

Entr’acte pour ochestre à cordes

L’Entr’acte de la compositrice américaine Caroline Shaw est inspiré d’un moment de transition précis dans le deuxième mouvement d’un quatuor à cordes de Haydn. Comme elle l’explique : 

« Je l’ai composée en 2011 après avoir entendu l’interprétation de l’op. 77 no 2 de Haydn par le Quatuor Brentano et sa transition libre et expressive vers le trio en ré bémol majeur du menuet. La structure est celle d’un menuet et trio : une improvisation partant de la forme classique, mais poussée un peu plus loin. J’aime la façon dont certaines musiques (comme les menuets d’op. 77) vous emportent soudain de l’autre côté du miroir par une transition insolite, subtile et haute en couleur. »

Dans les productions de théâtre, comme les pièces ou les opéras, le mot « entr’acte » désigne l’intervalle entre deux actes. Cette pause caractérisée par les rideaux fermés a longtemps servi à faciliter les changements de décor et de costumes pour l’acte suivant. Au fil du temps, par métonymie, l’entracte a fini par désigner une musique ou une danse faite pour être interprétée durant cette pause parce qu’elle marquait une césure claire dans l’action ou dans l’ambiance. D’où le titre de l’œuvre de Shaw, qui explore les moments transitoires menant vers des fins « insolites, subtiles et hautes en couleur ». D’ailleurs, le moment de répit tranche particulièrement dans la version pour orchestre à cordes, créée en 2014, que vous l’entendrez interpréter en concert ce soir. 

Entr’acte commence par un motif pulsatif de battements de cœur qui se déploie en vrille comme le thème principal du menuet. En mode mineur, l’œuvre se fait quelque peu élégiaque. Plus tard, elle se désintègre jusqu’à la dissonance, puis évolue en un bruit atone duquel la version jouée vigoureusement à l’archet émerge par intermittence, avec une intensité croissante. La section centrale du trio apporte un contraste rafraîchissant, s’ouvrant sur une mélodie en cordes pincées qui devient ensuite « comme du granite » dans un mode majeur plus joyeux. L’atmosphère devient irréelle au fur et à mesure que les motifs se développent. Les premiers violons et violoncelles entonnent un duo de longues notes sur un fond de triolets, joués sur les cordes par les seconds violons et altos; on progresse alors vers un passage de pizzicato en contrepoint. Amplifiée, l’ambiance évolue vers un moment d’une clarté incisive, les accords soutenus portés par les violons au-dessus des arpèges ondulants des altos. Alors qu’elle s’assombrit et tire sur la tourmente, la tension se relâche dans une floraison de cordes pincées. Le menuet revient à grand renfort d’harmoniques éthérées et de mouvements soupirants. Après cette reprise, la musique s’élève vers des sommets; reste un violoncelle solitaire jouant une longue séquence d’accords qui, suivant les instructions de Shaw, « évoquent les fragments d’une vieille chanson ou d’une vieille histoire ».

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

MARTIN

Concerto pour sept instruments à vent, timbales, percussions et orchestre à cordes

I. Allegro
II. Adagietto
III. Allegro vivace

Le compositeur suisse Frank Martin crée ce concerto pour sept instruments à vent, timbales, batterie et orchestre à cordes en 1949, à la suite d’une commande d’œuvre pour orchestre du Bernische Musikgesellschaft. La première se tient la même année, sous la direction de Luc Balmer. Martin estimait composer beaucoup mieux sous certaines conditions de création. Pour cette œuvre, il fixe donc ses propres contraintes : créer un concerto avec des solistes pour chacun des sept instruments à vent et cuivres. Un défi de taille, car il devait à la fois faire ressortir et harmoniser les éléments sensiblement différents des instruments en solo (timbres, techniques et caractères) et les forces d’un orchestre à cordes. 

Le résultat, un modèle de concerto en trois mouvements rapide-lent-rapide, est une œuvre savamment réalisée et un tour de force de virtuosité. Dans les mouvements, la structure générale typique alterne entre des sections qui mettent en avant les solistes, les différents groupes de deux ou trois instruments et les ensembles plus larges (comme les instruments à vent, les cuivres ou les cordes). Globalement, le concerto a un caractère espiègle : les instruments semblent avoir une conversation animée. C’est un badinage dont nous, membres de l’audience, pouvons nous délecter. 

Le premier mouvement s’ouvre sur une rythmique syncopée qui devient un motif récurrent faisant passer d’une intervention à l’autre les instruments en solo – d’abord le hautbois et la clarinette, puis la trompette, le cor et le trombone en imitation, et enfin la flûte suivie du basson. L’orchestre à cordes et les solistes, individuellement ou en groupe, interagissent et font grimper la tension, qui retombe finalement avec l’entrée en jeu de la timbale dans un solo bref, mais puissant. 

Soutenus par la vivacité des cordes, le trombone et le hautbois amènent des mélodies lyriques qui annoncent le retour du mouvement d’ouverture; les solos sont repris, sous une forme plus condensée. Une fois encore, les deux groupes (solistes et cordes) interagissent, quoiqu’avec une intensité renouvelée, emportant la musique vers un nouveau sommet. Les instruments à vent terminent ensuite sur un postlude tout en douceur. 

Selon Martin, l’Adagietto, « mystérieux et élégant », est « entièrement construit sur un rythme régulier en deux temps, qui sert d’accompagnement aux éléments mélodiques : parfois sereins, parfois sombres et violents. Une phrase lyrique, qu’on entend pour la première fois ans le registre supérieur du basson, est reprise avec une tendre grandeur par le trombone vers la conclusion ». La structure de base du mouvement est définie par une mélodie expressive jouée par les violons, laquelle revient ensuite deux fois, pour finir sur des sommets passionnés. 

Le mouvement final dynamique comprend un thème récurrent qui s’élève sur la pointe des pieds. Introduit par le hautbois, il est rythmé par des épisodes où chaque soliste a son moment de gloire. Tendez tout spécialement l’oreille au long passage de la timbale. Plus tard, la mélodie lyrique du basson dans l’Adagietto ressurgit sous une forme étendue. Le cor est le premier à la reprendre en solo, puis les violons s’en emparent et forment une toile de fond évoquant une marche dont l’intensité s’amplifie de plus en plus. Elle culmine par une expression du thème principal interprétée par l’orchestre tout entier. Lorsqu’arrive la coda, l’ensemble est pris dans une danse effrénée et tourbillonnante qui emporte le concerto vers une finale splendide.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

DERRICK SKYE

Prismes, cycles, sauts

Prisms, Cycles, Leaps du compositeur américain Derrick Skye, est une œuvre pour orchestre. Pour lui, elle « fait la passerelle entre la musique des Balkans, de la région ghanéenne de la Volta, et la musique hindoustanie de l’Inde du Nord ». Comme il l’explique :

« La signature rythmique de cette œuvre est une classique mesure à 3/2, qui se transforme ensuite en un 6/4, 12/8, 7/8 + 5/8 dans différentes sections, en utilisant les ostinatos en polyrythmie caractéristiques des tambours rituels entrant dans les cérémonies religieuses du Ghana. Les lignes mélodiques de Prisms, Cycles, Leaps combinent des éléments de la musique des Balkans et de la musique classique hindoustanie. Bien qu’elles utilisent un ornement propre aux chœurs féminins bulgares (rappelant les acciaccaturas de la musique baroque), ces lignes mélodiques, dans leur forme plus vaste, ressemblent à la cadence rythmique tihai et aux longues phrases qu’on retrouve dans les musiques traditionnelles improvisées hindoustanies. Dans ce genre musical, le Tihai est une phrase rythmique répétée trois fois qui sert à clore une section ou à conclure une œuvre. Le titre Prisms, Cycles, Leaps renvoie à une quête de la beauté dans la vie et la nature par des expériences à la fois variées et plurielles, mais aussi cycliques. »

Achevée en 2015 et interprétée pour la première fois par l’Orchestre de chambre de Los Angeles, l’œuvre est pour Skye la « consécration de longues années d’expérimentation, de formation et de recherche, ainsi que la première d’une série sur le même thème ». L’emboîtement complexe des différentes traditions musicales décrites plus tôt se développe sur de vastes sections. Au cœur de cette structure figurent des segments plus courts qui se distinguent par la juxtaposition de lignes mélodiques et rythmiques, ce qui crée des « rythmes » particulièrement mouvants, soulignés par des changements dans l’instrumentalisation. 

Prisms, Cycles, Leaps est propulsé dès le départ par un ostinato rythmique et un motif de flûte. L’œuvre évolue vers une danse jubilatoire où les violons prennent le devant de la scène. Après quatre minutes, les instruments solos – le cor anglais, la trompette, le hautbois, la flûte, le piccolo et les violons – s’emparent à leur tour de la mélodie. La mesure change : une transition nébuleuse emporte éventuellement l’œuvre dans un épisode d’une grande virtuosité sonore. La musique est ensuite alimentée par les tapements et les accords graves, tandis que le piano, les violons et les percussions, entre autres, s’ajoutent à la texture. Soudain, l’ambiance se fait légère; d’une trame de motifs de violon pleins d’optimisme s’élève une mélodie soutenue rappelant une chorale. Pour un moment, on retrouve la paix, avant que les ostinatos rythmiques ne reprennent, apportant un autre cycle de solos instrumentaux. Vers les dernières minutes, les trombones entonnent une gamme descendante grandiose, après quoi l’orchestre s’embrase et flamboie avant de s’élever vers des sommets. 

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Copland

Suite tirée de Appalachian Spring

Aaron Copland a longtemps admiré le talent artistique et novateur de la danseuse américaine Martha Graham, qui en 1931 a chorégraphié Dithyrambic, le solo de danse de Piano Variations, œuvre du compositeur. Plus d’une décennie plus tard, en 1942, une occasion de collaboration se présente : une commande pour un long ballet d’une heure venant de la grande mécène de la musique Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge. Copland travaille sur les partitions (à l’origine pour 13 instruments) pendant les deux ans qui suivent. En 1944, le ballet intitulé Appalachian Spring (nom que Graham tire d’un poème de Hart Crane) est présenté pour la première fois à la bibliothèque du Congrès de Washington D.C. C’est un franc succès! Copland remporte le prix Pulitzer et un prix du New York Music Critics Circle l’année suivante. Six mois après la première du ballet, il arrange la musique en une suite pour orchestre, qui est jouée pour la première fois par l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York, sous la baguette d’Artur Rodzínski, en octobre 1945. C’est surtout dans cette version que l’on connaît Appalachian Spring de nos jours.

Faisant appel à des éléments distincts du modernisme, comme les harmoniques statiques, les tonalités soutenues et les superpositions de rythmes, Copland évoque dans son œuvre une certaine particularité de la vie rurale américaine, soit l’espace, la simplicité et le réalisme que l’on peut tirer du mythe pastoral américain et de la musique folklorique anglo-américaine. La Suite fait huit sections (une version réduite des 14 segments du ballet initial) qui se suivent sans interruption. Pour le contexte, voici le synopsis du ballet suivi des descriptions du compositeur pour chaque section de la Suite : 

* * *

Une célébration pionnière du printemps, autour d’une ferme toute neuve dans les collines de la Pennsylvanie au tournant du siècle dernier. Deux jeunes, la future mariée et le mari, fermier, montrent les émotions, les joies et les appréhensions que leur nouveau partenariat domestique annonce. De temps à autre, un vieux voisin évoque la confiance houleuse de l’expérience. Un nouvel évangéliste et ses adeptes rappellent aux jeunes propriétaires les aspects terribles et étranges du destin humain. À la fin, le couple, silencieux et fort, demeure dans sa nouvelle maison.

1. Très lent. Présentation des personnages, un par un, sous une lumière tamisée. 

2. Vif. Explosion soudaine d’arpèges sur les cordes en A majeur pour lancer l’action. Un sentiment allègre et religieux donne le ton à cette scène. 

3. Modéré. Duo entre la fiancée et son prétendant – scène de tendresse et de passion. 

4. Assez rapide. Le nouvel évangéliste et ses adeptes. Ambiance folklorique – évocation de quadrilles et de violon country. 

5. Plus rapide. Danse solo de la mariée – pressentiment de maternité. Joie, peur et émerveillement extrêmes. 

6. Très lent (comme au début). Scène de transition qui fait écho à l’introduction. 

7. Calme et fluide. Scènes du quotidien des mariés. Il y a cinq variations sur le thème Shaker. Le thème, interprété par une clarinette en solo, provient d’une collection de mélodies Shaker assemblées par Edward D. Andrews, et publiées sous le titre « The Gift to Be Simple ». La mélodie qui lui est empruntée et qui s’en extrait presque littéralement est appelée « Simple Gifts ».

8. Modéré. Coda. La mariée prend sa place parmi les nouveaux voisins. À la fin, le couple, silencieux et fort, demeure dans sa nouvelle maison. Des cordes douces entonnent un passage qui rappelle une chorale, une prière silencieuse. La finale rappelle la musique d’ouverture. 

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.


Orchestre du CNA

PREMIERS VIOLONS
Yosuke Kawasaki (violon solo)
Jessica Linnebach (violon solo associée)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistante violon solo)
Elaine Klimasko**
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Leah Roseman
John Corban*
Martine Dubé*
Erica Miller*
Heather Schnarr*

SECONDS VIOLONS
Mintje van Lier (solo)
Winston Webber (assistant solo)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
Frédéric Moisan
Edvard Skerjanc**
Karoly Sziladi
Emily Westell
Andréa Armijo-Fortin*
Renée London*
Sara Mastrangelo*
​Sarah Williams*

ALTOS
Jethro Marks (solo)**
David Marks (solo associé)**
David Goldblatt (assistant solo)
Paul Casey**
Ren Martin-Doike
David Thies-Thompson
Kelvin Enns*
Kate Moran*
​Sonya Probst*

VIOLONCELLES
Rachel Mercer (principal)
Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)**
Timothy McCoy
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
Desiree Abbey*
Fanny Marks*

CONTREBASSES
Max Cardilli (solo invite)*
Hilda Cowie (assistante solo par intérim)
Marjolaine Fournier
Vincent Gendron

FLÛTES
Joanna G’froerer (solo)
Stephanie Morin

HAUTBOIS
Charles Hamann (solo)
Anna Petersen

COR ANGLAIS
Anna Petersen

CLARINETTES
Kimball Sykes (solo)
Sean Rice

BASSONS
Darren Hicks (solo invité)*
Christopher Millard (solo)**
Vincent Parizeau

CORS
Lawrence Vine (solo)
Julie Fauteux (solo associée)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron

TROMPETTES
Karen Donnelly (solo)
Steven van Gulik
Michael Fedyshyn*

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (solo)
Colin Traquair

TROMBONE BASSE
Douglas Burden

TUBA
Chris Lee (solo)

TIMBALES
Feza Zweifel (solo)

PERCUSSIONS
Jonathan Wade
Matthew Moore*
Louis Pino*

HARPE
Angela Schwarzkopf* 

PIANO
Frédéric Lacroix*

BASSE ÉLECTRIQUE
John Geggie
 

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE PRINCIPALE
Nancy Elbeck

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE ADJOINT
Corey Rempel

CHEF DU PERSONNEL
Meiko Lydall

CHEF ADJOINTE DU PERSONNEL
Laurie Shannon

*Musiciens surnuméraires
** En congé
Les membres de l’Orchestre sans fonction attitrée sont cités en ordre alphabétique

Menu