WolfGANG Sessions

NACO at the Fourth
SEBASTIAN FAGERLUND

Octet Autumn Equinox

Finnish composer Sebastian Fagerlund (b. 1972) is considered one of the most important European composers of his generation. His compositions, which include operas, orchestral, chamber, and solo works, reflect his interest in large-scale forms and an in-depth view of music, with which he expresses fundamental questions and existential experiences. Musical drama combined with powerful expression and lively communication, as well as an openness to various musical traditions are hallmarks of his works.

Fagerlund gives the following description of his Octet, entitled Autumn Equinox (2016): 

The additional name of my Octet, “Autumn Equinox”, comes from the relation the piece has to my new opera, Autumn Sonata. I worked on the opera over two and a half years and during that time I also started working on the Octet. Some of the moods and musical materials from the opera are therefore distantly present in the Octet—kind of as a reflection.

When [violinist] Liza Ferschtman asked me to compose an Octet, the thought of tackling the traditional “Schubert Octet” instrumentation [clarinet, bassoon, horn, two violins, viola, cello, and bass] felt almost overwhelming but I have been enormously inspired by Liza´s and her colleagues wonderful musicianship and that gave me the impulse for composing this intensive and sometimes almost explosive chamber ensemble piece."

The Octet consists of three movements. In the beginning of the first movement all the basic musical material for the whole piece is presented. As in many of my latest works (both orchestral and chamber musical) the musical materials are very rhythmically charged and energetic. Overlapping and colliding they constantly create new multilayered situations that emerge and unfold in the music.

The second movement presents a very static sound world where harmonic and melodic structures from the first movement are slowed down and expanded. The movement ends with a quote from musical material from the opera. In the third movement all the rhythmic and energetic musical material return with force. I feel, though, that working with the opera has given me a new insight into the use of melody and long expressive musical arcs and this is something which I think is present in this composition in general as well.

Program notes compiled by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

CLAUDE VIVIER

Piece for Violin and Clarinet

One of Canada’s internationally renowned and most frequently performed composers of the 20th century, Claude Vivier (1948–1983) completed 50 works during his brief but brilliant career. (His life was tragically cut short when he was murdered in Paris at age 34.) He composed Piece for Violin and Clarinet in 1975, as one of a commission of seven pieces for the prestigious Tremplin International Music Competition in Canada for young performers. As musicologist Bob Gilmore has noted, it is the final, “intriguing afterthought” to the set, and “as befits a set of competition pieces, each work is a far-going exploration of its featured instrument, providing an opportunity to show off the performer’s technique to best advantage.”

This relatively early work shows Vivier’s mastery of—and creativity with—the unique timbres of each instrument of the duo, individually and in combination. The general arc of the piece follows the violin and clarinet, moving together and in dialogue, from the lower registers of their instruments to ethereal heights by the end. There’s an improvisatory quality in the way they muse on and explore various motivic ideas—a single note, at first, then progressing to expansive scale patterns, as in the climatic centre of the piece. Soft, mysterious melodic passages are sometimes suddenly interrupted by—or erupt into—outbursts, and then, just as quickly, dissipate into the ether. Overall, the mood is somewhat haunting, reflective, and otherworldly, seeming to, as Gilmore has described Vivier’s music, “inhabit a twilight realm between reality and the imagination.”

Program note by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

KEIKO DEVAUX

Bioluminescence for brass septet

*NAC Commission/World Premiere

The music of Canadian composer Keiko Devaux (b. 1982) embraces a love of electroacoustic sounds and methodology by manipulating and distorting acoustic sound with digital tools, and then transcribing or re-translating these back into musical notation and the acoustic realm. In 2020, she was announced as one of the NAC’s new Carrefour Composers, a program in partnership with the Canada Council. Her first commission as Carrefour Composer is for brass septet. Bioluminescence (2021) has members of the NACO brass use multiphonics, a technique of producing two or more pitches simultaneously, to sonically evoke the glow of fireflies. She provides the following commentary about the piece:

“I have always been drawn to the elusive and dynamic quality of bioluminescence. An adaptation of marine and terrestrial organisms that serves varied functions, it expresses itself in countless complex beautiful ways, and has evolved numerous times. Earlier in history human encounters with various forms of luminescent emitting organisms were hypothesized to be perhaps even of the spirit world. The bioluminescence at the surface of the water took on multiple hypotheses as well: the reflection of stars, fire from undersea volcanoes, lights from phantom fishing boats.  In Japanese folklore it was sometimes referred to as Onibi, a type of atmospheric ghost light that carries the spirits from humans and animals: the 'burning sea' as voyagers often referred to it.

Fireflies, a commonly studied form of terrestrial bioluminescence, also carry symbolism of the spirit world and the elusive light. The unpredictable flashing rhythms further feed into the sensation that they are not really there. As the majority of these bioluminescent creatures emit light only in quiet, dark areas, or in the deep dark waters of the open ocean, it is a phenomenon to seek out, to remain quiet, and patiently wait for. It is a special event, with unpredictable qualities, and a fragile complexity.

This work Bioluminescence takes inspiration from this marvel of an experience to explore the world of brass multiphonics. Multiphonics, particularly those in the brass family, carry these same qualities of complexity, fragility, and patience. The organization both rhythmically and spatially in this work aims to evoke, in a very abstract manner, the slow glowing and pulsating organisms in the deep sea. However other mannerisms, such as the group synchronization habits and rhythmic adaptation by proximity, evoke certain characteristics of certain firefly species. Bioluminescence is a homage to these pulsating and glowing gestures in nature, and in music.”

Program notes compiled by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Menu

Les sessions WolfGANG

L'OCNA à la Quatrième

Autumn Equinox, octuor

Le compositeur finnois Sebastian Fagerlund (né en 1972) est considéré comme l’un des plus éminents compositeurs européens de sa génération. Allant de l’opéra à la musique d’orchestre en passant par la musique de chambre et les solos, ses œuvres témoignent de son intérêt pour les projets d’envergure et pour une vision approfondie de la musique. Dans ses créations, il formule des questions fondamentales et des expériences existentielles. Sens du drame musical, expressivité, communication dynamique et ouverture aux différentes traditions musicales sont les maîtres-mots de ses œuvres.

L’artiste décrit son octuor, Autumn Equinox (2016), en ces termes :

L’autre nom de mon octuor, « Autumn Equinox », est tiré de son lien avec mon nouvel opéra, Autumn Sonata. J’ai travaillé sur cet opéra pendant plus de deux ans et demi, tout en commençant à élaborer l’octuor. Certains éléments dans l’ambiance et la musique de l’opéra sont donc vaguement présents dans l’octuor, comme des reflets.

Quand [la violoniste] Liza Ferschtman m’a demandé de composer un octuor, l’idée de m’attaquer à l’instrumentalisation traditionnelle de l’octuor de Schubert [clarinette, basson, deux violons, alto, violoncelle et contrebasse] était presque trop intimidante, mais le sens de la musique de Liza et de ses collègues m’a énormément inspiré. Cela m’a poussé à composer cet ensemble de musique de chambre intense et parfois presque explosif.

L’octuor comprend trois mouvements. Au début du premier, tous les éléments musicaux fondamentaux de l’œuvre entière sont présentés. Comme dans plusieurs de mes dernières compositions (autant pour orchestre que pour musique de chambre), les éléments musicaux sont forts en rythme et en dynamisme. Les superpositions et les rencontres entre ces éléments créent des moments composites qui apparaissent et se déploient dans la musique.

Le second mouvement possède un univers sonore statique où la structure harmonique et mélodique du premier mouvement est reprise, ralentie et élargie. Le mouvement s’arrête sur une mention d’un élément musical de l’opéra. Dans le troisième mouvement, tous ces éléments musicaux rythmés et dynamiques reviennent en force. J’ai l’impression, d’ailleurs, que l’élaboration de l’opéra m’a donné une nouvelle vision de l’utilisation de la mélodie et des longs phrasés expressifs. C’est quelque chose qui, je crois, transparaît dans cette composition.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley

CLAUDE VIVIER

Pièce pour violon et clarinette

Au nombre des compositeurs du Canada les plus mondialement renommés et les plus joués du XXe siècle, Claude Vivier (1948-1983) a achevé 50 œuvres au cours de sa brève mais brillante carrière. (Sa vie a pris fin tragiquement lorsqu’il a été assassiné, à Paris, à l’âge de 34 ans.) Il a composé sa Pièce pour violon et clarinette en 1975, dans le cadre d’une commande de sept pièces pour le prestigieux concours de musique canadien Tremplin international pour jeunes interprètes. Comme le souligne le musicologue Bob Gilmore, cette composition est la dernière de la série, fruit d’une fascinante réflexion « après coup », et « comme il sied à un ensemble de pièces de concours, chaque œuvre constitue une exploration poussée de l'instrument en vedette, offrant une occasion de mettre en valeur la technique de l'interprète. »

Cette œuvre relativement précoce témoigne de la maîtrise qu’avait atteint Vivier des timbres particuliers à chaque instrument du duo, séparément et ensemble, et de l’utilisation créative qu’il en faisait. L’arc général de la pièce suit le violon et la clarinette, évoluant ensemble et en dialogue, depuis les registres inférieurs des instruments jusqu’à des hauteurs éthérées vers la fin. Il y a une qualité d’improvisation dans la façon dont ils sondent et explorent différentes idées motiviques – une seule note, au début, puis des modèles de gammes expansives, comme au point culminant de la pièce. Des passages mélodiques doux et mystérieux sont interrompus, par moments, par de brusques emportements, ou font irruption au cœur de ces emballements soudains, avant de se fondre dans l’éther aussi vite qu’ils sont apparus. Dans l’ensemble, le climat est assez envoûtant, méditatif et détaché des contingences terrestres, donnant l’impression, selon le mot de Gilmore évoquant la musique de Vivier, « d’habiter un royaume crépusculaire entre la réalité et l’imagination ».

Note de programme par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais)

KEIKO DEVAUX

Bioluminescence pour septuor de cuivres

*commande du CNA/première mondiale

La musique de la compositrice canadienne Keiko Devaux (née en 1982) repose sur un amour des sons et des méthodes électroacoustiques. L’artiste manipule et déforme des sons à l’aide d’outils numériques, transformations qu’elle exprime sous forme de transcriptions écrites ou qu’elle retraduit sous forme acoustique ou sur une partition. En 2020, elle a été choisie parmi les compositrices de la nouvelle résidence Carrefour du CNA, un programme conçu en partenariat avec le Conseil des arts du Canada. Sa première commande à ce titre est une œuvre pour septuor de cuivres. Dans Bioluminescence (2021), les membres de l’Orchestre du CNA produisent des sons multiphoniques sur les cuivres, une technique où deux notes ou plus sont jouées en même temps, pour recréer l’éclat des lucioles par le son. Keiko Devaux évoque son œuvre en ces mots :

« J’ai toujours été attirée par l’aspect insaisissable et dynamique de la bioluminescence. C’est un mécanisme d’adaptation des organismes marins et terrestres qui a plusieurs fonctions. La bioluminescence s’exprime d’innombrables manières, aussi complexes que magnifiques, et n’a eu de cesse d’évoluer. Autrefois, on estimait même que les rencontres entre les humains et les différentes formes d’organismes émettant de la lumière tenaient peut-être du monde spirituel. Plusieurs hypothèses sont également nées de la bioluminescence qui existe à la surface de l’eau : le reflet des étoiles, le feu des volcans sous-marins, les lumières d’un bateau de pêche fantôme. Dans le folklore japonais, on parle parfois d’Onibi, une lumière fantôme et atmosphérique qui transporte les esprits des humains et des animaux : les voyageurs parlent d’une « mer qui brûle ».

Les lucioles, des organismes terrestres bioluminescents qui sont communément étudiés, symbolisent également la spiritualité et la lumière fugace. Leurs clignotements au rythme irrégulier renforcent cette impression qu’elles ne sont pas vraiment là. Puisque la plupart de ces créatures n’émettent de la lumière que dans des endroits calme et sombre ou dans les eaux profondes et obscures en haute mer, la bioluminescence est un phénomène qui se cherche, qui s’observe en silence et qu’on attend patiemment. C’est un événement spécial, de nature imprévisible et d’une complexité fragile.

Bioluminescence s’inspire de cette merveilleuse expérience pour explorer le monde des sons multiphoniques sur les cuivres. La multiphonie, surtout chez les cuivres, présente ces mêmes caractéristiques de complexité, de fragilité et de patience. L’organisation de cette œuvre, autant rythmique que spatiale, évoque d’une manière très abstraite les organismes qui clignotent et luisent faiblement dans les profondeurs de l’océan. Cependant, certains éléments de sa structure, comme cette manie de se synchroniser en groupe ou d’adapter le rythme selon la proximité, évoquent des caractéristiques appartenant à quelques espèces de lucioles. Bioluminescence est un hommage à ces éléments qui vibrent et brillent dans la nature et dans la musique. »

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley

Menu