G’ZAAGIIN: I Promise You a Forest

2022-05-21 15:00 2022-05-22 15:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: G’ZAAGIIN: I Promise You a Forest

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29347

In-person event

Without words ● 18 months and older A joyful mix! A Polish-born director, an Indigenous performer and a musician from Abitibi: three women who join forces to create an enthralling forest show. At the foot of the majestic trees, we are all children of the world.  Imagine a show, but in the form of a forest, a parent-child gathering under a quiet canopy. You’re part of the set; you can sit and listen to the warm and soothing voice of...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
May 21 - 22, 2022

≈ 30 minutes · No intermission

The rustle of the trees

Last updated: May 16, 2022

Imagine a show, but in the form of a forest, a parent–child gathering under a quiet canopy. You’re part of the set; you can sit and listen to the warm and soothing voice of Franco-Anishinaabeg actor and musician Emily Marie Séguin. You can also let your body resonate to the incredible range of sounds produced by Abitibi cellist Marie-Hélène Massy Emond … but it’s not only the strings of her wooden instrument that make music!

What about the water that thaws, trickles, and feeds the forest—who will play that part? Behind his console, a clever sound technician uses his singing bowls and microphones to contribute to building this forest filled with sounds, textures and flavours to be enjoyed with all the senses and at all ages.

The Voyageurs Immobiles team promises you a forest, but not just any forest: one in which you participate, one that’s born from the meeting of a drum, a cello and melting ice, one that will leave you feeling a little happier and more alive!

A house that isn’t ours

Interview with the creators

Tell us about this very special and unusual meeting between the three of you: Milena Buziak, an immigrant director from Poland; Marie-Hélène Massy Emond, a cellist from Abitibi; and Emily Marie Séguin, a Franco-Indigenous artist. What’s the connection?

We’re connected by our need to create a fairer, greener, more livable world for humans, plants and animals alike. Ours is a living art, so it’s important for us to create a microcosm in which we not only talk about creation, but also practise interculturalism, inclusion, mutual listening. We’re also connected by territory. We come from very different places, and we’ve been fortunate to be allowed to occupy unceded Anishinaabeg territories: the Kinawit cultural site in what is now called Val-d’Or, urban forests in what is now known as Ottawa, the banks of the Kitchi Sibi (Ottawa River)..., always in the spirit of coexisting with nature and living things, of walking gently on the back of the Earth. This project leads us, step by step, to question ourselves, to take a stand on political, social, ecological and economic issues, and to surpass ourselves in the tenderness of a well-supported creation.

The creative process

(Excerpts from the company’s information kit)

Meeting – We’ve done several creative residencies since 2020. We’ve met in rehearsal spaces, but also in various forests to connect with our creative raw material. Anishinaabe Aki, the unceded territory of the Anishinaabeg people, has become the gentle cradle of our project.

Discovering – We kept quiet to listen to the energy of nature. We made noise with it! We freely explored the theatrical and musical possibilities of organic matter, water, our voices and our instruments. When you use the bow on the drum, whales appear! When you whistle into the cello, an icy wind starts to blow!

Mingling – We opened our trio to other creators and communities, including the Anishinaabeg of Kinawit. Over shared meals, fires and songs, we passionately discussed our political and social concerns, our differences and similarities, and what it means to “promise a forest” to children. We also shared our favourite spots to gather mushrooms and Labrador tea. We gave experimental performances to small invited groups to refine the work and to get a feel for our young audience.

Communicating – We created a friendly show where children and their parents are an integral part of the adventure. With us, they ARE the forest. Together, we listen to each other, we respond to each other, at the level of each person’s experience. With you, we are the soundscape of this forest. We unfold a world alive with sounds, images and sensations, an imaginary space that gives no answers, no lessons, but opens up possibilities. Because that’s what it’s all about, when you foolishly decide to promise a forest to future generations!

Voyageurs Immobiles, compagnie de création

Reflecting the notion of spectators who travel the world through the imagination without ever leaving their seats, Voyageurs Immobiles is built around the astonishing paradox of motion and immobility. Founded in 2009, the creative company emphasizes the inner journey of the actor and the audience. It brings together artists from different cultures to work on contemporary projects, in an effort to blur the boundaries between countries and artistic disciplines in order to facilitate encounters, question our present and promote dialogue. Language is never a barrier, but a creative catalyst. Constantly reflecting on the place of art in our society as well as on the responsibility of the artist, the company’s creations appeal to the intelligence, imagination and emotions of audiences of all ages.

The company’s original shows have been presented on tour in Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, France and Belgium, and have been supported at various levels by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the Cole Foundation, the MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels), LOJIQ (Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec), the Fondation des Sourds du Québec, the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, and other public and private organizations.

French Theatre team

Mani Soleymanlou: Artistic Director 

Robert Gagné: Administrative Director 

Mélanie Dumont: Associate Artistic Director 

Guy Warin: Assistant Artistic Director and Project Manager 

Véronique Lavoie-Marcus: Coordinator, Children and Youth Activities and Project Manager 

Annick Huard: Associate producer of Zones Théâtrales and Project Manager

Judith Poitras: Administrative Assistant 

Elyse Gauthier: Education Officer 

Élise Lefebvre: Technical Director 

Cynthia Shaw: Technical Director for G’zaagiin, I Promise You a Forest

Jean-Paul Nguyen: Marketing Strategist 

Katrine Duguay: Associate Marketing Officer 

Camylle Gauthier-Trépanier: Communication Strategist 

Mireille Allaire: Senior Manager, Strategy and Communication

Menu

G’ZAAGIIN : Je te promets une forêt

Le crépitement des arbres

Imagine un spectacle, mais en forme de forêt, un rassemblement parents-enfants sous une tranquille canopée. Tu fais partie du décor, tu peux t’asseoir et écouter la voix chaude et authentique d’Emily Marie Séguin, comédienne et musicienne d’origine française et anishinaabe. Tu peux aussi laisser résonner partout dans ton corps l’incroyable palette de sons de la violoncelliste abitibienne Marie-Hélène Massy Emond... Parce qu’il n’y a pas que les cordes de son instrument en bois qui font de la musique! 

Et l’eau qui dégèle, ruisselle et alimente la forêt, qui la jouera? Derrière sa console, un rusé bruiteur active ses bols sonores et ses micros pour contribuer au tissage de cette forêt remplie de sons, de textures et de saveurs à déguster avec tous les sens et à tout âge.

L’équipe de Voyageurs Immobiles te promet une forêt, mais pas n’importe laquelle, une à laquelle tu participes, une qui naît de la rencontre d’un tambour, d’un violoncelle et de la glace qui fond, une dont on ressort un peu plus heureux et vivant!

Une maison qui ne nous appartient pas

Entrevue avec les créatrices

Parlez-nous de cette rencontre si spéciale et inusitée entre vous: Milena Buziak, metteure en scène immigrée de Pologne, Marie-Hélène Massy Emond, violoncelliste abitibienne, et Emily Marie Séguin, artiste franco-autochtone. Qu’est-ce qui vous lie? 

Ce qui nous lie, c’est le besoin de créer un monde plus juste, plus vert, plus habitable, autant pour les humains que pour les plantes et les animaux. Nous pratiquons un art vivant, et donc il est important pour nous de former un microcosme dans lequel non seulement nous parlons de la création, mais encore nous vivons l’interculturalisme, l’inclusion, l’écoute de l’autre. Ce qui nous lie, c’est aussi le territoire. Nous qui venons d’endroits bien différents, nous avons occupé avec bienveillance des territoires non cédés anishinaabeg : le site culturel de Kinawit à ce qu’on appelle aujourd’hui Val-d’Or, des forêts urbaines à ce qu’on connaît comme Ottawa, les berges de la Kitchi Sibi (rivière des Outaouais)..., toujours dans cet esprit de cohabiter avec la nature et le vivant, de marcher avec tendresse sur le dos de la Terre. Ce projet nous amène, d’étape en étape, à nous remettre en question, à prendre position sur les enjeux politiques, sociaux, écologiques, économiques, et à nous dépasser dans la douceur d’un enfantement bien accompagné.

Parcours

(extraits du dossier de présentation du spectacle, produit par la compagnie)

Se rassembler – Nous avons fait plusieurs résidences de création depuis 2020. Nous nous sommes retrouvées dans des lieux de répétition, mais aussi dans diverses forêts pour nous connecter avec notre matière première créative. Anishinaabe Aki, le territoire non cédé des peuples anishinaabeg, est devenu le doux berceau de notre projet. 

Se découvrir – Nous avons fait silence pour écouter l’énergie de la nature. Nous avons fait du bruit avec elle! Nous avons exploré, avec une liberté totale, les possibilités théâtrales et musicales de la matière organique, de l’eau, de nos voix et instruments. Jouer l’archet sur le tambour, ça fait surgir des baleines! Siffler dans le violoncelle? Un vent glacial se lève!

Se mélanger – Nous avons ouvert notre trio à d’autres créateurs et créatrices, et à différentes communautés, notamment les Anishinaabeg présents à Kinawit. Autour de repas partagés, autour de feux et autour de chants, nous avons discuté passionnément de nos préoccupations politiques et sociales, de nos différences et similarités, de ce que ça implique de “promettre une forêt” aux enfants. Nous avons aussi échangé nos lieux de cueillette préférés, de champignons et de thé du Labrador. Nous avons offert à de petits publics invités des représentations expérimentales afin de peaufiner le travail et de prendre le pouls de nos jeunes spectateurs. 

S’adresser – Nous avons créé un spectacle convivial où les enfants et leurs parents font partie intégrante de l’aventure. Ils SONT la forêt avec nous. Ensemble, nous nous écoutons, nous nous répondons, à la hauteur du vécu de chacun et chacune. Avec vous, nous sommes le paysage sonore de cette forêt. Nous déployons un univers foisonnant de sons, d’images et de sensations, un espace imaginaire qui ne donne pas de réponses, pas de leçons, mais qui ouvre sur les possibles. Parce que c’est bien de ça qu’il s’agit, lorsqu’on fait le pari fou de promettre une forêt aux générations futures!

Voyageurs Immobiles, cie de création

Depuis 2009, Voyageurs Immobiles, Cie de création, s’est bâtie sur le paradoxe du déplacement et de l’immobilité, privilégiant le voyage intérieur de l’acteur et du public. Nos créations ont été présentées en tournée au Québec, en Ontario, au Manitoba, en France et en Belgique et soutenues à différents niveaux par le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, le Conseil des arts de Montréal, la Fondation Cole, le MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels), LOJIQ (Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec), la Fondation des Sourds du Québec, la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et autres organismes privés et publics. 

À l’image du spectateur campé dans son siège qui parcourt le monde grâce à l’imaginaire, Voyageurs Immobiles s’est bâtie autour de cet étonnant paradoxe : déplacement et immobilité. Fondée en 2009, la compagnie de création rassemble des artistes de diverses cultures autour de projets contemporains, et désire transgresser les frontières entre les pays et les disciplines artistiques pour provoquer des rencontres, interroger notre présent et engendrer le dialogue. La langue n’est jamais une barrière, mais une force de créativité. En constante réflexion sur la place de l’art dans notre société ainsi que sur la responsabilité de l’artiste, les créations de la compagnie éveillent l’intelligence, l’imagination et le ressenti du spectateur, peu importe son âge.


L’équipe du Théâtre français

Mani Soleymanlou : Directeur artistique 

Robert Gagné : Directeur administratif 

Mélanie Dumont : Directrice artistique associée, Volet enfance/jeunesse 

Guy Warin : Adjoint à la direction artistique et chargé de projets 

Véronique Lavoie-Marcus : Coordonnatrice des activités pour l’enfance et la jeunesse et des projets spéciaux 

Annick Huard : Productrice associée des Zones Théâtrales et chargée de projets

Judith Poitras : Adjointe administrative 

Elyse Gauthier : Agente d’éducation 

Élise Lefebvre : Directrice technique 

Cynthia Shaw : Directrice technique du spectacle G’zaagiin, Je te promets une forêt

Jean-Paul Nguyen : Stratège en marketing 

Katrine Duguay : Agente associée de marketing 

Camylle Gauthier-Trépanier : Stratège en communication 

Mireille Allaire : Gestionnaire principale, Stratégie et communication

Menu