NACO In A New Light

with the NAC Orchestra

2021-09-10 20:00 2021-09-10 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: NACO In A New Light

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29162

NAC Livestream

Our return to the shared concert experience, and the opening of our season, begins with a program moving from darkness to light.  Throughout the centuries, the trumpet has provided a clarion call to humanity—to fight, to worship, to acclaim, or to celebrate. Principal Trumpet Karen Donnelly has composed a moving hymn for solo trumpet which leads us into the beauty and sorrow of Trevor Weston’s “Ashes” for unaccompanied voices.  Commissioned in 2002 for the...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, September 10, 2021
8 PM EDT
NAC Livestream

≈ 90 minutes · No intermission

Repertoire

Karen Donnelly

To Rise

Throughout the centuries, the trumpet has provided a clarion call to humanity—to fight, to worship, to acclaim, or to celebrate. Principal Trumpet Karen Donnelly has composed a moving hymn for solo trumpet.

Trevor Weston

Ashes

In the haunting sound world of Ashes (2002), a work for a capella choir, Trevor Weston sought to convey the “profound images resulting from the destruction of the World Trade Towers” on September 11, 2001. Among them, he notes, was a scene, shown on various news programs, of “individuals running toward a camera on a sunny New York street chased by a cloud of ashes and rubble. The cloud eventually envelops the street, the sky, and all in its way creating a haunting nuclear winter-like stillness.” “Sorrow itself,” he observes, “overtakes our being, leaving us frozen and still in disbelief.”

The text of Ashes consists of verses selected from Psalm 102 (see below). For Weston, “they present in a very poignant way the loneliness and isolation associated with suffering that is common to all humans. These verses at the same time combat loneliness by connecting our human emotional experiences with animal and natural imagery. ‘Misery loves company’ because sorrow is best dissipated when we no longer feel alone.”

I have watched, and am even as it were a sparrow, that sitteth alone upon the housetop.
I am become like a pelican in the wilderness,
and like an owl that is in the desert.
Hear my prayer, O Lord, and let my crying come unto thee. My days are gone like a shadow, and I am withered like grass. For I have eaten ashes as it were bread,
and mingled my drink with weeping;
Hear my prayer, O Lord, and let my crying come unto thee.

Weston describes the unfolding of his piece as follows: “In an attempt to represent a universal expression of human sorrow, Ashes opens with chant-like material because unaccompanied vocal music is common to all cultures. The semi-chorus represents the direct inner thoughts of isolation that are amplified by the larger chorus. Within the drama of this work, the chorus builds a “tall” chord consisting of two notes for each part, symbolically the two towers, and then dissolves them with individual expressions of sorrow.”

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Vivian Fung

Prayer

Composed in just a few days in June 2020, Prayer, Vivian Fung describes, is “in essence, an aberration, for under no other circumstance in the past (or probably in the future) have I worn my heart on my sleeve as transparently as I have with this piece. In times of crisis and peril, we have but the reliance of faith—from the profound faith in humanity, faith in love, and faith that we will persevere and get through this with dignity, to the mundane faith that I would complete the piece within the extraordinary conditions that faced me—with a young child at home 24/7, a bronchial infection, and a very tight timeline (ultimately, a matter of days) to complete the piece in a manner feasible for COVID remote performance requirements.” It was premiered online on June 22, 2020, by the CBC Virtual Orchestra representing 28 orchestras from 10 Canadian provinces, conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Prayer (2020) begins with long static notes intoned by the lower instruments of the string, woodwind, and brass sections. Gradually, they—and as other instruments join in—unveil the main theme that is the inspiration and basis for the work: the chant melody “O pastor animarum” (“O Shepherd of our souls”) by 12th century composer Hildegard of Bingen, whom Fung calls her “composer heroine.” The original text is as follows:

O Shepherd of our souls, O primal voice, whose call created all of us;
Now hear our plea to thee, to thee, and deign to free us from our miseries and feebleness.

As the chant unfolds, rapidly oscillating motives are added to the texture, creating a shimmering effect. They gradually amass into a subtly vibrating entity that swells and subsides, like a sigh. The woodwinds and strings then take up an ascending motive, which becomes the backdrop to a brass chorale with the chant theme. A full orchestral scale leads to a massive climax, a mass plea, after which the strings release an anguished cry. Prayer concludes with final statements of the chant’s opening notes, subdued but hopeful.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Gabriel Dharmoo

Ninaivanjali

Gabriel Dharmoo’s Ninaivanjali was originally composed in 2012 for 10 instruments, but the version performed tonight is for orchestra, which was completed in 2015. As Dharmoo explains, the title of the work is “a Tamil expression meaning ‘In memory of’, used to pay tribute after someone’s death. This piece is dedicated to ghatam virtuoso N. Govindarajan, my Indian rhythm teacher, who passed away in May 2012. In addition to being an excellent teacher, fully devoted to sharing his knowledge, Govind was an endearing and admirable man, full of goodness and joie de vivre.”

For Ninaivanjali, Dharmoo notes, “I was inspired by the three main sound sources of South Indian Carnatic music: melody—flexible, sophisticated, and ornate; rhythm—complex and subdivided; and drone—stable harmonic reference point in the background.” Throughout the work, these elements are combined, often playfully, with various techniques and avant-garde sound effects of contemporary Western art music.

Dharmoo is particularly fascinated by the expressive qualities of melody, and all of those in Ninaivanjali, he explains, “with the exception of the last, are freely inspired from the behaviour of the lines in Carnatic music. The final melody is directly based on the section in Sree raga from Patnam Subramaniam Iyer’s Navaragamalika, a work that has marked my last trip to India in 2011.” On the same trip, he also learned many rhythmic formulas from his teacher Govind, to whom he pays homage by creating “rhythmic drones” built on these patterns in camouflage, to form the backdrop for the melodies of Ninaivanjali.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovsky

Symphony No. 4

I. Andante sostenuto – Moderato con anima
II. Andante in modo di canzona
III. Scherzo: Pizzicato ostinato
IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco

Tchaikovsky composed his Fourth Symphony in 1877, amidst a major turning point in his life. The movements were sketched in May and June, but their completion was interrupted by his disastrous marriage to Antonina Milyukova; the composer, who was homosexual, suffered a nervous breakdown. He eventually emerged out of the crisis, no doubt helped by Nadezhda von Meck, an extremely wealthy widow and an enthusiast for Tchaikovsky’s music, who began to provide him with an annual allowance that enabled him to focus entirely on composing without financial concerns. Under this arrangement, Tchaikovsky completed his Symphony No. 4 in January 1878.

The work follows an emotional journey of “darkness to light” or “victory over struggle”, not unlike Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5; indeed, Tchaikovsky admitted, in a letter to composer Sergei Taneyev, that his Fourth was obviously “a reflection” of Beethoven’s C minor symphony. It opens with an ominous brass fanfare (“Fate”, as Tchaikovsky described it to von Meck), which becomes a recurring “motto” in the work. Notably, in the first movement, it returns dramatically at key moments; listen throughout for its brutal intrusion, just when the music seems to become more optimistic and overcome its nervous anxiety. The second movement begins as if resigned over what has come before—a melancholy melody first presented by the oboe. But all does not seem to be lost, as a hopeful new theme in the middle section develops into a passionate orchestral outpouring.

The Scherzo, plucked entirely by the strings, offers a playful respite. It frames a central Trio, featuring an elegant dance for the woodwinds that becomes awkwardly fast when it is humorously interrupted by the brass playing the Scherzo’s theme as a march. The finale starts with a full-orchestra crash (cymbals and bass drum included!); a running whoosh of a theme follows, and then a naïve though somewhat sombre tune, based on the Russian folksong “In the field a little birch tree stood”. Alternating with returns of the first theme, the folk tune is developed in extended episodes, the second of which breaks into the menacing motto fanfare of the first movement. This time, however, it poses no more threat, and the symphony rushes, unfettered, to an exuberant close.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal Choir Roster

Soprano 1
Stephanie Manias*
Megan Chartrand

Soprano 2
Marie Magistry
Geneviève Gates-Panneton

Alto 1
Marie-Andrée Mathieu
Alexandra Asher

Alto 2
Josée Lalonde*
Elizabeth Ekholm

Tenor 1
Michiel Schrey*
Kerry Bursey

Tenor 2
Jean-Sébastien Allaire
Justin Jaela

Bass 1
Normand Richard*
Alain Duguay

Bass 2
John Giffen
François-Nicolas Guertin

*Chorus soloist

Menu

L’OCNA comme jamais

avec l'Orchestre du CNA
Karen Donnelly

To Rise

De tout temps, la trompette a représenté un appel à l’action pour l’humanité : un appel au combat, à la dévotion, à l’acclamation ou encore à la célébration. La trompette solo Karen Donnelly a composé un hymne émouvant pour trompette solo.

Trevor Weston

Ashes

Dans l’univers sonore envoûtant d’Ashes (2002), une œuvre pour chorale a capella, Trevor Weston souhaitait évoquer les « images troublantes résultant de la destruction des tours du World Trade Center », le 11 septembre 2001. Parmi elles, une scène, diffusée par plusieurs bulletins de nouvelles, montrait « des gens courant vers la caméra dans une rue ensoleillée de New York, pourchassés par un nuage de cendres et de gravats. Le nuage finit par envelopper la rue et le ciel, créant un silence troublant digne d’un hiver nucléaire. » « La douleur elle- même », fait remarquer l’artiste, « envahit notre être, nous laissant glacés et frappés de stupeur. »

Les paroles d’Ashes consistent en des vers tirés du Psaume 102 (plus bas). Pour Trevor Weston, « elles évoquent de manière poignante la solitude et l’isolement associés à la souffrance qui est commune à tous les humains. En même temps, ces versets combattent la solitude en liant l’expérience émotionnelle humaine au monde animal et à l’imagerie naturelle. La solidarité vient à bout du malheur, parce qu’il est plus facile de chasser la tristesse lorsqu’on ne se sent plus seul. »

Je veille, et je suis comme l’oiseau solitaire sur un toit.
Je ressemble au pélican du désert,
je suis comme le chat-huant des ruines.
Seigneur, entends ma prière, et que mes appels au secours parviennent jusqu’à toi! Car mes jours s’évanouissent en fumée, mes os sont brûlants comme de la braise. Je mange de la cendre comme du pain,
Et je mêle mes larmes à ce que je bois,
Seigneur, entends ma prière, et que mes appels au secours parviennent jusqu’à toi!

L’artiste explique le déroulement de la pièce de la manière qui suit : « Dans une tentative de représenter l’expression universelle de la tristesse humaine, Ashes s’ouvre avec des chants rappelant des incantations, car la musique vocale non accompagnée est commune à toutes les cultures. La petite chorale représente les pensées intimes directement liées à l’isolement, qui sont amplifiées par la grande chorale. L’œuvre atteint son paroxysme au moment où la chorale produit un “grand” accord constitué de deux notes pour chacune des parties, symbolisant les deux tours, puis les dissout dans des expressions individuelles de tristesse. »

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Vivian Fung

Prayer

Vivian Fung a composé l’œuvre Prayer en l’espace de quelques jours seulement, en juin 2020. Dans ses mots, la pièce est « dans son essence, une aberration. Dans aucune autre circonstance dans le passé (ou dans le futur, probablement) n’ai-je montré mes émotions de manière aussi transparente que dans cette pièce. En temps de crise et de danger, nous pouvons seulement compter sur la foi – la foi en l’humanité, la foi en l’amour et la foi que nous persévérerons et que nous nous en sortirons avec dignité. Il y avait également l’espoir plus banal que j’allais réussir à terminer la pièce dans les circonstances extraordinaires auxquelles j’étais confrontée : avec un jeune enfant à la maison 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, une infection des bronches et une échéance très serrée (une question de jours, ultimement). Et je devais composer une pièce pouvant être présentée de manière virtuelle, dans le respect des exigences liées à la COVID-19. » L’œuvre a été jouée pour la première fois en ligne le 22 juin 2020 par le CBC Virtual Orchestra, composé de 28 orchestres provenant de 10 provinces canadiennes, sous la direction de Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Prayer (2020) s’ouvre avec de longues notes statiques entonnées par les instruments les plus graves des sections des cordes, des bois et des cuivres. Graduellement – et à mesure que les autres instruments se joignent à eux –, ils révèlent le thème principal qui constitue l’inspiration et la base de l’œuvre : la mélodie chantée de O pastor animarum (« Ô berger des âmes ») de Hildegarde de Bingen, une compositrice du XIIe siècle que Vivian Fung appelle « son héroïne ». Voici un extrait du texte original :

Ô berger des âmes
Ô première parole
par laquelle nous avons tous été créés!
Qu’il te plaise à présent
de daigner nous libérer de nos misères et de nos langueurs.

À mesure que le chant s’élève, des motifs oscillants et rapides viennent enrichir la texture, créant un effet scintillant. Ils s’accumulent graduellement pour former une entité vibrante qui enfle et s’estompe, comme un soupir. Les bois et les cordes entonnent ensuite un motif ascendant, qui crée, avec le thème du chant, la toile de fond de la chorale des cuivres. Une gamme ascendante, soutenue par l’orchestre entier, culmine par une supplication de masse, puis les cordes laissent échapper un cri angoissé. Prayer s’achève avec les derniers énoncés des notes d’ouverture du chant, sobre, mais optimiste.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Gabriel Dharmoo

Ninaivanjali

L’œuvre Ninaivanjali, de Gabriel Dharmoo, a originellement été composée en 2012 pour 10 instruments. Ce soir, nous vous présentons la version pour orchestre, composée en 2015. Comme l’explique le compositeur, le titre de l’œuvre est « une expression tamoule qui signifie “en mémoire de”, utilisée pour rendre hommage à une personne après sa mort. L’œuvre est dédiée au virtuose du ghatam N. Govindarajan, mon professeur de rythmique indienne décédé en mai 2012. En plus d’être un excellent enseignant, entièrement dévoué à la transmission de ses connaissances, Govind était un homme attachant et admirable, plein de bonté et de joie de vivre. »

À propos de Ninaivanjali, Gabriel Dharmoo explique : « J’ai été inspiré par les trois sources principales de sons dans la musique carnatique de l’Inde du Sud : la mélodie – flexible, sophistiquée et ornementée; le rythme – complexe et divisé, et le bourdonnement – un point de référence harmonique constant à l’arrière-plan. » Tout au long de la pièce, ces éléments sont combinés, souvent de manière ludique, à diverses techniques et à des effets sonores avant-gardistes provenant de la musique savante contemporaine occidentale.

Gabriel Dharmoo est particulièrement fasciné par les qualités expressives de la mélodie. De celles présentes dans Ninaivanjali, il dit « à l’exception de la dernière, toutes les mélodies sont inspirées de la manière dont les lignes de la musique carnatique se comportent. La mélodie finale se base directement sur la section en shrî râga de Navaragamalika, de Patnam Subramania Iyer, une œuvre qui m’a accompagné durant mon dernier voyage en Inde en 2011. » Lors de ce même voyage, Gabriel Dharmoo a aussi appris de nombreuses formules rythmiques auprès de son professeur, Govind, à qui il rend hommage en créant des « bourdonnements rythmiques » reposant sur ces motifs en camouflage, pour tisser la trame de fond des mélodies de Ninaivanjali.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Tchaïkovsky

Symphonie no 4

I. Andante sostenuto – Moderato con anima
II. Andante in modo di canzona
III. Scherzo: Pizzicato ostinato
IV. Finale : Allegro con fuoco

Tchaïkovsky compose sa quatrième symphonie en 1877, durant une période charnière de sa vie. Il esquisse les mouvements en mai et en juin, mais son travail est interrompu par son mariage désastreux à Antonina Milioukova. Le compositeur, qui est homosexuel, souffre alors d’une dépression nerveuse. Il réussit ultimement à s’en sortir, sans doute grâce à l’aide de Nadejda von Meck, une veuve richissime et une admiratrice de la musique de Tchaïkovsky. Elle commence à lui verser une allocation annuelle, ce qui permet au compositeur de se consacrer entièrement à la musique, à l’abri des préoccupations financières. C’est grâce à cet arrangement que Tchaïkovsky termine sa Symphonie no 4 en janvier 1878.

L’œuvre suit un cheminement émotionnel, qui s’apparente au passage de l’ombre à la lumière ou au triomphe face au conflit, un peu comme la Symphonie no 5 de Beethoven. En effet, Tchaïkovsky écrit, dans une lettre adressée au compositeur Sergueï Taneïev, que sa quatrième symphonie est incontestablement inspirée de la Symphonie en do mineur de Beethoven. Elle s’ouvre par une fanfare funeste de cuivres (« une force du destin », comme Tchaïkovsky explique à sa mécène), qui devient un leitmotiv de l’œuvre. Dans le premier mouvement, en particulier, elle revient de manière spectaculaire à des moments charnières : tendez l’oreille pour entendre son intrusion brutale, au moment où la musique semble devenir plus optimiste et triompher de son angoisse. Le deuxième mouvement commence, résigné devant ce qui l’a précédé : une mélodie mélancolique initialement entonnée par le hautbois. Mais tout n’est pas perdu, puisqu’un nouveau thème optimiste dans la section du milieu se mue en une effusion orchestrale passionnée.

Le Scherzo, joué entièrement par les cordes, offre un répit ludique. Il encadre un Trio central, une danse élégante pour bois qui devient maladroitement rapide avant d’être interrompue de manière humoristique par les cuivres qui entonnent le thème du Scherzo comme une marche. La finale commence par un fracas produit par l’orchestre tout entier (y compris les cymbales et la grosse caisse!); s’en suit un sifflement coulant, puis une mélodie naïve, mais sombre, inspirée de la chanson traditionnelle russe Dans le champ, le bouleau se dressait. Alternant avec des retours au premier thème, la chanson folklorique est amplifiée dans des épisodes étendus, dont le deuxième adopte la forme de la fanfare menaçante du premier mouvement. Cette fois-ci, toutefois, elle ne constitue plus une menace, et la symphonie se dirige, sans entrave, vers sa fougueuse apothéose.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.


Le chœur Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal

Soprano 1
Stephanie Manias*
Megan Chartrand

Soprano 2
Marie Magistry
Geneviève Gates-Panneton

Alto 1
Marie-Andrée Mathieu
Alexandra Asher

Alto 2
Josée Lalonde*
Elizabeth Ekholm

Ténor 1
Michiel Schrey*
Kerry Bursey

Ténor 2
Jean-Sébastien Allaire
Justin Jaela

Basse 1
Normand Richard*
Alain Duguay

Basse 2
John Giffen
François-Nicolas Guertin

*Choriste-soliste

Menu