Co-presented by the NAC and Aroha Fine Arts

Arohafest Diwali Celebration

Free Events

2022-10-15 13:00 2022-10-15 18:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Arohafest Diwali Celebration

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31938

In-person event

Co-presented by the National Arts Centre and Aroha Fine Arts, ArohaFest Diwali Celebration is the only bilingual festival featuring the music, dance, visual, and culinary arts of India in Canada. Enjoy free day-time activities such as Bollywood, Lavani, and Bhangra dance workshops, immersive music concerts, a visual arts exhibit, as well as a virtual culinary segment. 1:00 PM “The Essence of Yoga” Lecture & Workshop Sangeeta Raju, Odissi classical Indian dance artist and...

Read more

Peter A. Herrndorf Place,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
Saturday, October 15, 2022
1 PM EDT
Special Events Dance Workshops Culinary events Visual Arts Holidays Festival events
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

Co-presented by the National Arts Centre and Aroha Fine Arts, ArohaFest Diwali Celebration is the only bilingual festival featuring the music, dance, visual, and culinary arts of India in Canada. Enjoy free day-time activities such as Bollywood, Lavani, and Bhangra dance workshops, immersive music concerts, a visual arts exhibit, as well as a virtual culinary segment.

1:00 PM “The Essence of Yoga” Lecture & Workshop

Sangeeta Raju, Odissi classical Indian dance artist and certified Yoga instructor, will explore the evolution of Yoga. She invites participants to experience some of the foundational roots and history of this age-old movement and spiritual practice.

1:45 PM  Bollywood workshop

The dancers of ArohaFest invite participants to learn a fun and engaging choreography drawing from the world’s largest cinema and entertainment industry. Set to lively music, and with movements that are sure to energize and inspire, there is something for all to enjoy within this exciting workshop! Bring your flowy skirts, scarves, flashy jewelry, and let’s dance to the energetic sounds of Bollywood!

2:30 PM Bhangra Folk Dance Workshop

The Ottawa-based dynamic duo, BhangraScape, will provide an overview of Bhangra, the world-renowned folk-dance originating from the Indian state of Punjab. The beating of the Dhol drums, and the passionate performers will surely leave you with a spring in your step!

3:15 PM  Lavani Folk Dance Workshop

Ottawa’s very own, Akshata Rao, founder of Meraki Performing Arts, will introduce participants to the mesmerizing folk dance from Maharashastra known as Lavani. Through intricate, sensuous, and dynamic movements, this dance form’s rich history and significance to the Marathi people will seep into your dance party repertoire!

5:30 PM Semi-Classical Music Concert

With over 50 years of performance experience, and a profound understanding of the "Ghazal” vocal recitation form, Hardeep Buckshi brings a unique and highly energetic concert to the NAC public spaces. Accompanied by the wonderful musicians Samuel Thomas on piano, Derrick Jaikaran on tabla, and Santosh Shail on guitar, the quartet will present rhythmic and melodic musical passages whisking you away to India, during the festive time of Diwali.

1:00 – 6:00 PM Visual Arts Exhibit

Water Fountain by Azrieli Studio - Our wonderful group of local visual artists depict the colours, textures, and cultural richness of India on canvas. Dhanashri Bapat, Clarisse Cheseaux, Pooja Grover, Lily Lachapelle, Rashmi Rekha, Johanne Richer, and Suman Sundram are eager to share their works with audiences around the water fountain by the Azrieli Studio!

1:00 – 6:00 PM Henna Painting

Ottawa-based Henna artist, Kruti Vaddoriya, brings a quintessential element to any Indian celebration. Immerse yourself in Diwali celebrations by having your hands painted with one of her intricate designs.

1:00 – 6:00 PM Online Cooking Segment (30 min)

Explore the flavours of India with the Executive Chef of East India Company Restaurants, Nitin Mehra. His virtual cooking segment will allow you to create authentic Indian recipes from home.  

Menu

Co-présenté par le CNA et Aroha Fine Arts

ArohaFest Célébration Diwali

Activités gratuites

2022-10-15 13:00 2022-10-15 18:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : ArohaFest Célébration Diwali

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31938

Événement en personne

Co-présenté par le Centre national des Arts et Aroha Fine Arts, ArohaFest Célébration Diwali est le seul festival bilingue présentant la musique, la danse, les arts visuels et culinaires de l'Inde au Canada. Profitez d'activités gratuites pendant la journée, comme des ateliers de danse Bollywood, Lavani et Bhangra, des concerts de musique immersive, une exposition d'arts visuels, ainsi qu'un segment culinaire virtuel....

Read more

Place Peter A. Herrndorf ,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
samedi 15 octobre 2022
13 h HNE
Cet événement est passé
Événements spéciaux Danse Ateliers Cuisine Arts visuels Fêtes Festival
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Co-présenté par le Centre national des Arts et Aroha Fine Arts, ArohaFest Célébration Diwali est le seul festival bilingue présentant la musique, la danse, les arts visuels et culinaires de l'Inde au Canada. Profitez d'activités gratuites pendant la journée, comme des ateliers de danse Bollywood, Lavani et Bhangra, des concerts de musique immersive, une exposition d'arts visuels, ainsi qu'un segment culinaire virtuel.

13h00 Lecture et Atelier «  L’essence du Yoga »

Interprète de danse classique indienne Odissi, et enseignante de Yoga certifiée, Sangeeta Raju explore l’évolution du Yoga. Elle invite les participants à en apprendre plus sur la fondation et l’histoire de cette pratique spirituelle et mouvementée.

13h45 Atelier de Bollywood

Les danseurs d’ArohaFest invitent les participants à apprendre une chorégraphie amusante et dynamique tirée de la plus grande industrie événementielle et cinématographique au monde. Avec une trame de fond sonore vibrante, ainsi que des mouvements énergisants, cet atelier saura plaire à tous! Portez votre jupe, votre foulard, et vos bijoux les plus colorés, et venez danser sur les rythmes du Bollywood!

14h30 Atelier de danse folklorique Bhangra

Le duo dynamique Ottavien BhangraScape vous propose un survol du Bhangra, la danse folklorique  reconnue à l’échelle internationale en provenance de l’état indien du Punjab. Les tambours Dhol et les artistes passionnées vous feront sauter de joie!

15h15 Atelier de danse folklorique Lavani

Fondatrice de « Meraki Performing Arts » et artiste de la région d’Ottawa, Akshata Rao vous offre une introduction à la danse folklorique fascinante du peuple Marathi de la région du Maharashastra, connue sous le nom de « Lavani ».  Les mouvements sensuels, complexes, et dynamiques, ainsi que l’histoire de cette forme d’art fera parti, désormais, de vos mouvements préférés de danse.

17h30 Concert de musique indienne  semi-classique

Avec plus de 50 ans d’expérience scénique et ayant une maîtrise approfondie de la récitation vocale du « Ghazal » , Hardeep Buckshi vous propose un concert unique et vibrant dans les espaces publics du Centre national des Arts. Accompagné de musiciens talentueux, Samuel Thomas au piano, Derrick Jaikaran au tabla, et Santosh Shail à la guitare, ce quatuor vous dévoilera des passages musicaux rythmés et mélodieux, vous faisant voyager en Inde lors de la grande festivité de la Diwali.

13h00 – 18h00 Exposition d’Arts visuels

Fontaine d’eau près du Studio Azrieli - Notre belle équipe d’artistes en arts visuels de la région mettent sur toile la richesse culturelle, les textures et les couleurs de l’Inde. Venez à la rencontre de Dhanashri Bapat, Clarisse Cheseaux, Pooja Grover, Lily Lachapelle, Rashmi Rekha, Johanne Richer et Suman Sundram.  Elles ont bien hâte de dévoiler leurs œuvres à la fontaine d’eau située près du Studio Azrieli!

13h00 – 18h00 Peinture Henna

L’artiste de Henna Ottavienne, Kruti Vaddoriya, apporte un élément essentiel commun à toutes célébrations de l’Inde à notre festival.  Vivez pleinement cette célébration de la Diwali en vous laissant peindre joliment les mains avec ses divers patrons élaborés.

13h00 – 18h00 Volet Culinaire En-ligne

Découvrez les saveurs de l’Inde avec le Chef exécutif des restaurants East India Company, Nitin Mehra.  Son segment culinaire présenté en virtuel vous permettra de réaliser des plats authentiques de l’Inde chez soi. 

Menu