Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
Laura Niquay © Monse Muro

Laura Niquay

Fridays at the Fourth

2022-11-24 20:30 2022-11-24 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Laura Niquay

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30429

NAC Livestream

Laura Niquay presents Waska Matisiwin (Circle of Life), a sensitive and grandiose work that reveals her folk-grunge universe better than ever. From childhood, nourished by the sounds of her family's classical guitars in the small community of Wemotaci in Mauricie, Laura picked up a guitar and began to compose her own songs. She distinguishes herself by her incomparable voice and by singing in her native language: Atikamekw. Chosen on the Polaris Long List earlier this year and celebrated by...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, November 24, 2022
8:30 PM EDT
NAC Livestream
Laura Niquay © Monse Muro
Francophone Music Singer/Songwriter Pop Rock Folk
  • NAC Livestream

Laura Niquay presents Waska Matisiwin (Circle of Life), a sensitive and grandiose work that reveals her folk-grunge universe better than ever. From childhood, nourished by the sounds of her family's classical guitars in the small community of Wemotaci in Mauricie, Laura picked up a guitar and began to compose her own songs. She distinguishes herself by her incomparable voice and by singing in her native language: Atikamekw.

Chosen on the Polaris Long List earlier this year and celebrated by the critics, her new album has been finely crafted over several years with her sidekick Simon Walls as producer and the Nomadic Music team as producer, resulting in a multi-layered, luminous, complex opus. With collaborations from Shauit, Anachnid, RedTails Spirit Singers, Gotta Lago, Eadsé, Kanen and Soleil Launière the diversity of Indigenous voices and sounds shine through brighter than ever. On stage, with six musicians, the show is festive and makes us live a roller coaster of emotions, the public being guided by Laura's calm and authentic words, as she takes the time to transmit the values of her culture. A nomad well anchored in her time, a quiet force that is forging a place for herself at the heart of the contemporary Quebec musical landscape.  

Laura Niquay © Monse Muro
Menu

Laura Niquay © Monse Muro

Laura Niquay

Vendredis à la Quatrième

2022-11-24 20:30 2022-11-24 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Laura Niquay

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30429

Événement Facebook Live

Laura Niquay présente Waska Matisiwin (Cercle de Vie),  une œuvre sensible et grandiose qui nous dévoile mieux que jamais son univers folk-grunge. Dès l’enfance nourrie par les sons des guitares classiques de sa famille, dans la petite communauté de Wemotaci en Mauricie, Laura attrape à son tour une guitare pour composer ses propres chansons. Elle se démarque par sa voix incomparable et en chantant dans sa langue autochtone:...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 24 novembre 2022
20 h 30 HAE
Facebook Live
Laura Niquay © Monse Muro
Francophone Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Pop Rock Folk
  • Événement Facebook Live

Laura Niquay présente Waska Matisiwin (Cercle de Vie),  une œuvre sensible et grandiose qui nous dévoile mieux que jamais son univers folk-grunge. Dès l’enfance nourrie par les sons des guitares classiques de sa famille, dans la petite communauté de Wemotaci en Mauricie, Laura attrape à son tour une guitare pour composer ses propres chansons. Elle se démarque par sa voix incomparable et en chantant dans sa langue autochtone: l’atikamekw.

Choisi sur la Longue liste Polaris cette année et célébré par la critique, son nouvel album a été finement travaillé pendant plusieurs années avec son acolyte Simon Walls à la réalisation et l’équipe de Musique nomade à la production, pour donner lieu à un opus aux multiples couches, lumineuses, complexes. Avec les collaborations de Shauit, Anachnid, RedTails Spirit Singers, Gotta Lago, Eadsé, Kanen et Soleil Launière la diversité des voix et des sons autochtones rayonnent plus que jamais. Sur scène, avec six musicien-nes, le spectacle est festif et nous fait vivre une montagne russe d’émotions, le public se laissant guider par le discours calme et authentique de Laura, qui prend le temps de bien transmettre les valeurs de sa culture. Une nomade bien ancrée dans son temps, une force tranquille qui se forge une place au cœur du paysage musical québécois contemporain. 

Laura Niquay © Monse Muro
Menu