Zal Sissokho

Zal Sissokho

Fridays at the Fourth

2022-02-11 20:30 2022-02-11 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Zal Sissokho

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30111

In-person event

This concert is the fruit of a musical project that I nurtured over a long period of time. The idea was born during a trip to Seville, when I first became interested in the sounds of flamenco. I was fascinated by the playing techniques of the musicians I met in Andalusia, and became set on creating music that would combine flamenco with the Mandinka culture of my native West Africa. When I was offered an artistic residency by the Centre des musiciens du monde in 2018, I approached Caroline...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, February 11, 2022
8:30 PM EST
Zal Sissokho
Francophone Music World music
  • In-person event

This concert is the fruit of a musical project that I nurtured over a long period of time. The idea was born during a trip to Seville, when I first became interested in the sounds of flamenco. I was fascinated by the playing techniques of the musicians I met in Andalusia, and became set on creating music that would combine flamenco with the Mandinka culture of my native West Africa. When I was offered an artistic residency by the Centre des musiciens du monde in 2018, I approached Caroline Planté, a musician with more than 25 years’ experience as a composer, soloist and performer, but also one of the few women around today who plays the flamenco guitar professionally. Other collaborators on this project include Miguel Medina on percussion and Jean Félix Mailloux on double bass. I am infinitely grateful for their contributions to this intimate, acoustic ensemble. With this creation, I sought to expand the limits of my instrument, the kora, as far as possible.

Kora player, singer and songwriter Zal Sissokho was born in Senegal and arrived in Montreal in 1999. He has recorded several albums and performed on stage, both as a soloist and with other artists such as Les frères Diouf, Celso Machado, Constantinople, Fakhass Sico, Lilison di Kinara, Richard Séguin, Takadja and Muna Mingole. He has participated in several major musical projects, including the Cirque du Soleil show “O” in Las Vegas, and has contributed to the soundtracks of such films as L'autre Maison (Mathieu Roy) and Un dimanche à Kigali (Robert Favreau). Since 2001, he has received several grants from the Canada Council for the Arts and the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

- Zal Sissokho

Zal Sissokho
Menu

Zal Sissokho © Hervé Leblay

Zal Sissokho

Vendredis à la Quatrième

2022-04-29 20:30 2022-04-29 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Zal Sissokho

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30111

Événement en personne

Ce concert est l’aboutissement d’un projet musical longuement mûri. C’est dans le cadre d’un voyage à Séville que cette idée est née, alors que j’ai commencé à m’intéresser aux sonorités du flamenco. Fasciné par les techniques de jeu des musiciens rencontrés en Andalousie, mon objectif était alors de créer une musique qui marierait à la fois ce flamenco et la...

Read more

Quatrième Salle,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
vendredi 29 avril 2022
20 h 30 HAE
Cet événement est passé
Zal Sissokho © Hervé Leblay
Francophone Musique Musique du monde
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Ce concert est l’aboutissement d’un projet musical longuement mûri. C’est dans le cadre d’un voyage à Séville que cette idée est née, alors que j’ai commencé à m’intéresser aux sonorités du flamenco. Fasciné par les techniques de jeu des musiciens rencontrés en Andalousie, mon objectif était alors de créer une musique qui marierait à la fois ce flamenco et la culture mandingue d’Afrique de l’Ouest dont je suis issu. Ainsi, lorsqu’une résidence artistique m’a été offerte par le Centre des musiciens du monde en 2018, j’ai fait appel à Caroline Planté, musicienne qui compte plus de vingt-cinq ans d’expérience comme compositrice, soliste et interprète, en plus d’être l’une des rares femmes de notre époque à jouer de la guitare flamenca professionnellement. Se sont également ajoutés à ce projet Miguel Medina aux percussions ainsi que Jean Félix Mailloux à la contrebasse, dans une formation que j’ai voulu intimiste et acoustique. À travers cette création, j’ai souhaité repousser au maximum les limites de mon instrument : la kora.

Joueur de kora, chanteur et auteur-compositeur, Zal Sissokho est né au Sénégal et arrivé à Montréal en 1999. Il s’est produit de nombreuses fois sur disque et sur scène, tant en solo qu’auprès d’autres artistes comme Les frères Diouf, Celso Machado, Constantinople, Fakhass Sico, Lilison di Kinara, Richard Séguin, Takadja et Muna Mingole. Il a participé à plusieurs projets musicaux d’envergure, dont le spectacle O du Cirque du Soleil à Las Vegas, en plus d’avoir contribué à la musique de productions cinématographiques telles L’autre Maison (Mathieu Roy) et Un dimanche à Kigali (Robert Favreau). Depuis 2001, son travail a été plusieurs fois soutenu par les Conseil des arts du Canada et Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

- Zal Sissokho

Zal Sissokho © Hervé Leblay
Menu