Traffic disruptions - Canada Day weekend

NACO Live: The Rite of Spring

with the NAC Orchestra

2022-06-09 20:00 2022-06-10 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: NACO Live: The Rite of Spring

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30031

In-person event

NACO Spring Offer: Bring a friend to a NACO concert in the 2021-2022 season and receive 50% off both of your tickets – that’s two seats for the price of one! Offer valid for a limited time and only for select NACO performances. Discount available on regular priced tickets only and cannot be combined with other offers. Conductor: Alexander Shelley 
Guest artist: Colin Currie (chamber percussionist) World premiere; Commissioned for Colin Currie by...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
June 9 - 10, 2022
This event has passed
Music Classical music
  • ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR Aeriality
  • Nicole Lizée Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes
  • Stravinsky The Rite of Spring
  • In-person event

NACO Spring Offer: Bring a friend to a NACO concert in the 2021-2022 season and receive 50% off both of your tickets – that’s two seats for the price of one! Offer valid for a limited time and only for select NACO performances. Discount available on regular priced tickets only and cannot be combined with other offers.

Conductor: Alexander Shelley 
Guest artist: Colin Currie
 (chamber percussionist)

World premiere; Commissioned for Colin Currie by Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra and BBC Radio 3

The NAC Orchestra is delighted to perform the world premiere of Canadian composer Nicole Lizée’s Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes, featuring Colin Currie, a solo and chamber percussionist at the height of his powers.

Nicole’s work effortlessly merges worlds that aren’t necessarily found together in music, reaching beyond the classical realm to capture devotees from Gen X and beyond.

“This new work for solo percussion and orchestra from the extraordinary Nicole Lizée fills me with great excitement,” says Colin. “Maestro Shelley and I were both delighted when we hit upon a mutual admiration for her music some years ago, so to have this project come to fruition in Ottawa is a marvellous outcome.”

Aeriality, by Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdóttir is a spellbinding creation – “a big spinning planet of a work” (Washington Post) – that utilizes the great, primordial force of an orchestra. In her own words, Aeriality “refers to the state of gliding through the air with nothing, or little, to hold on to.” The result is a feeling both of unease and freedom as the instruments of the orchestra stream together to form a single force.”

Legend has it that the premiere of Igor Stravinsky’s volcanic The Rite of Spring famously caused a riot at which 40 people had been arrested by the end of the first part.

Abstract, edgy, modern, and magical, The Rite of Spring was written for the 1913 Paris season of Ballet Russes, but Stravinsky’s music has achieved far greater recognition than the ballet it was written to accompany and is revered as one of the twentieth century’s most influential musical works.

As part of NACO's inaugural Mentorship Program, the Orchestra is bringing in 50 of the world's rising stars—outstanding players who embody the next generation of orchestral artists—to perform Stravinsky's great work. With over 100 musicians on stage, these incredible performers are sure to bring the heat! 

Menu

Perturbations à la circulation - Fête du Canada

OCNA en direct: Le Sacre du printemps

avec l’Orchestre du CNA

2022-06-09 20:00 2022-06-10 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : OCNA en direct: Le Sacre du printemps

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30031

Événement en personne

Offre printanière de l’OCNA : Invitez un ami à un concert de la saison 2021-2022 de l’OCNA et recevez une réduction de 50 % sur vos deux billets – c'est deux places pour le prix d’une! Offre valable pour une durée limitée et uniquement pour certains spectacles de la saison de l’OCNA. La réduction est valable uniquement sur les billets à prix courant et ne peut être combinée avec d'autres...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
9 - 10 juin 2022
Cet événement est passé
Musique Musique classique
  • ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR Aeriality
  • Nicole Lizée Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes
  • Stravinsky Le Sacre du Printemps
  • Événement en personne

Offre printanière de l’OCNA : Invitez un ami à un concert de la saison 2021-2022 de l’OCNA et recevez une réduction de 50 % sur vos deux billets – c'est deux places pour le prix d’une! Offre valable pour une durée limitée et uniquement pour certains spectacles de la saison de l’OCNA. La réduction est valable uniquement sur les billets à prix courant et ne peut être combinée avec d'autres offres.

Chef d’orchestre : Alexander  Shelley
Artiste invité : Colin Currie
(percussionniste de chambre)

Première mondiale; Commande de l’Orchestre du CNA et BBC Radio 3 pour Colin Currie

L’Orchestre du CNA est fier de présenter la première mondiale de l’œuvre Blurr is the Colour of My True Love’s Eyes de Nicole Lizée, mettant en vedette Colin Currie, percussionniste de chambre et soliste au sommet de son art.

L’œuvre de Nicole fusionne sans effort des mondes qui vont rarement de pair en musique, allant au-delà du classique pour attirer des adeptes de la génération X et des suivantes.

“Cette nouvelle œuvre pour percussionniste solo et orchestre de l’extraordinaire Nicole Lizée me remplit d’excitation”, se réjouit Colin. “Le maestro Shelley et moi-même étions tous deux ravis lorsque nous nous sommes découvert une admiration mutuelle pour sa musique il y a quelques années. La réalisation de ce projet agrave Ottawa est donc un heureux dénouement.”

Aeriality, de la compositrice islandaise Anna Thorvaldsdóttir, est une création envoûtante – « une œuvre immense et tournoyante » (Washington Post) – qui tire parti de l’imposante puissance primordiale d’un orchestre. La compositrice explique que pour elle, Aeriality « évoque le fait de planer sans avoir rien, ou presque, à quoi s’accrocher ». En découle un sentiment de malaise mais aussi de liberté, « les instruments de l’orchestre se superposant jusqu’à ne former qu’une seule et même force ».

Selon la légende, la première de l’œuvre volcanique Le Sacre du printemps d’Igor Stravinsky aurait causé une émeute au cour de laquelle 40 personnes se seraient fait arrêter avant même la fin de la première partie.

Abstrait, avant-gardiste, moderne et magique, Le Sacre du printemps a été composé pour la saison de 1913 des Ballets russes à Paris. La musique de Stravinsky jouit toutefois d’une reconnaissance bien plus grande que celle du ballet qu’elle accompagne, et est considérée comme l’une des œuvres musicales les plus influentes du vingtième siècle.

Dans le cadre du Programme de mentorat de l'OCNA, l'Orchestre fait appel à 50 étoiles montantes internationales incarnant la prochaine génération de musiciens d'orchestre, pour interpréter l'immense oeuvre de Stravinsky. Avec plus de 100 musiciens sur scène, cette interprétation du Sacre du printemps de Stravinsky vous frappera en plein coeur.

Menu