© Anne-Marie Baribeau

Aalaapi | ᐋᓛᐱ

Radio drama

2022-10-26 20:00 2022-10-29 21:20 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Aalaapi | ᐋᓛᐱ

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/25536

In-person event

Aalaapi | ᐋᓛᐱ—the title means “keeping quiet to hear something beautiful” in Inuktitut—is a plural work. It’s part radio documentary, consisting of the accounts of five young Inuit women talking about their daily lives between northern and southern Quebec, and part theatrical performance that invites contemplation, listening and connection. We are invited to be silent. To let the voices, the confidences come. To listen. Two friends, Nancy and...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
October 26 - 29, 2022
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
“A journey north of the 55th parallel.”
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 1 hour and 20 minutes · No intermission

Aalaapi | ᐋᓛᐱ—the title means “keeping quiet to hear something beautiful” in Inuktitut—is a plural work. It’s part radio documentary, consisting of the accounts of five young Inuit women talking about their daily lives between northern and southern Quebec, and part theatrical performance that invites contemplation, listening and connection.

We are invited to be silent. To let the voices, the confidences come. To listen.

Two friends, Nancy and Ulivia, share a cabin in a small village in Nunavik. On the local community radio, between PSAs, classic rock and jigs and reels, a documentary features the voices of other women talking—in French, English and Inuktitut—about their daily lives and their hopes. Images scroll across the house, which serves as a screen, accompanied by a soundscape of footsteps creaking on snow and the whistling of strong winds.

The idea for the Aalaapi | ᐋᓛᐱ project originated with Laurence Dauphinais, who directed the play, and Marie-Laurence Rancourt, who directed the radio documentary. Ms. Rancourt worked for eight months with Audrey, Samantha, Louisa, Mélodie and Akinisie, five students at Collège Montmorency in Laval, to gather the words needed to create the documentary. During the performance, other voices and other languages join with those of the young women to compose a sensitive portrait, punctuated by silences, of northern communities.

For the creation of the documentary, Audrey, Samantha, Louisa, Mélodie and Akinisie, five young women from Nunavik, agreed to tell their stories, to counter the sensationalism often present in media coverage of the peoples of the North. During their narrative, other voices and other words join those of these young women to compose a sensitive portrait, punctuated by silences, of Northern communities. 

We are invited to listen in order to see better. 

*Performed in English, French and Inuktitut with English and French surtitles 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Oct 24
Oct 25
Oct 26
  • 8:00pm Opening night
Oct 27
  • 8:00pm
Oct 28
  • 8:00pm
Oct 29
  • 4:00pm
Oct 30
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
  • Original concept Laurence Dauphinais et Marie-Laurence Rancourt
  • Directed by Laurence Dauphinais
  • With Nancy Saunders and Olivia Ikey Duncan
  • Sound documentary directed by Marie-Laurence Rancourt
  • Assistant director and stage manager Charlie Cohen
  • Sets Odile Gamache
  • Assistant set designer Nancy Saunders
  • Lighting Chantal Labonté
  • Sound design and production Joël Lavoie
  • Video Guillaume Vallée
  • Graphic design Camille Monette-Dubeau
  • Production director Sandy Caron
  • Production, sound documentary Magnéto
  • Created by Collectif Aalaapi
  • Produced by La Messe Basse
Menu

© Anne-Marie Baribeau

Aalaapi | ᐋᓛᐱ

Théâtre radiophonique

2022-10-26 20:00 2022-10-29 21:20 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Aalaapi | ᐋᓛᐱ

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/25536

Événement en personne

Aalaapi | ᐋᓛᐱ – « faire silence pour entendre quelque chose de beau », en inuktitut – est une œuvre plurielle. C’est à la fois un documentaire radiophonique, porté par les témoignages de cinq jeunes femmes inuites qui exposent leur quotidien entre le nord et le sud du Québec, et un spectacle théâtral qui invite à la contemplation, à l’écoute et à la rencontre. Nous...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
26 - 29 octobre 2022
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
«Voyage au nord du 55e parallèle. »
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • 14 ans et plus
  • ≈ 1 heure et 20 minutes · Sans entracte

Aalaapi | ᐋᓛᐱ – « faire silence pour entendre quelque chose de beau », en inuktitut – est une œuvre plurielle. C’est à la fois un documentaire radiophonique, porté par les témoignages de cinq jeunes femmes inuites qui exposent leur quotidien entre le nord et le sud du Québec, et un spectacle théâtral qui invite à la contemplation, à l’écoute et à la rencontre.

Nous sommes invité·e·s à faire silence. À laisser venir les voix, les confidences. À écouter.

Deux amies, Nancy et Ulivia, partagent une cabane dans un petit village du Nunavik. À la radio communautaire, entre les messages d’intérêt public, le vieux rock et les rigodons, un documentaire permet d’entendre d’autres femmes qui parlent de leur quotidien et de leurs espoirs en français, en anglais et en inuktitut. Des images défilent sur la maison, qui sert d’écran, alors que se déploient des paysages sonores faits de craquements de pas sur la neige et du sifflement de vents forts.

Les idéatrices du projet Aalaapi | ᐋᓛᐱ  sont Laurence Dauphinais, qui signe la mise en scène de la pièce, et Marie-Laurence Rancourt, qui a réalisé le documentaire radio. Elles ont rassemblé des artistes inuits et non-inuits qui avaient le désir de créer une œuvre autour des notions d’écoute, de partage et de silence en alliant la radio et le théâtre. Est né le Collectif Aalaapi.

Pour la création du documentaire, Audrey, Samantha, Louisa, Mélodie et Akinisie, cinq jeunes femmes originaires du Nunavik, ont accepté de se raconter, en réaction au sensationnalisme souvent présent dans la couverture des peuples du Nord. Au théâtre, d’autres voix et d’autres paroles se joignent à celles de ces jeunes femmes pour composer un portrait sensible, brodé de silences, des communautés nordiques. 

Nous sommes invité·e·s à écouter pour mieux regarder.

*Spectacle en français, en anglais et en inuktitut avec surtitres français et anglais 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
oct 24
oct 25
oct 26
  • 20 h 00 Première Discussion avec les artistes
oct 27
  • 20 h 00 Discussion avec les artistes
oct 28
  • 20 h 00 Discussion avec les artistes
oct 29
  • 16 h 00 Discussion avec les artistes
oct 30
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
© Anne-Marie Baribeau
  • Idée originale Laurence Dauphinais et Marie-Laurence Rancourt
  • Mise en scène Laurence Dauphinais
  • Distribution Nancy Saunders et Olivia Ikey Duncan
  • Réalisation du documentaire sonore Marie-Laurence Rancourt
  • Assistance à la mise en scène et régie Charlie Cohen
  • Scénographie Odile Gamache
  • Assistance à la scénographie Nancy Saunders
  • Lumière Chantal Labonté
  • Son et sonorisation Joël Lavoie
  • Vidéo Guillaume Vallée
  • Design graphique Camille Monette-Dubeau
  • Direction de production Sandy Caron
  • Production du documentaire sonore Magnéto
  • Création Collectif Aalaapi
  • Production La Messe Basse
Menu