Cher Tchekhov

The latest Michel Tremblay

Cher Tchekhov © Illustration Pony
Cher Tchekhov © Jean-François Gratton
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
  • In-person event

  • Français
  • Ages 14+

  • Approx. 1 hour  and  45 minutes
Performance options Start time Language Availability
Friday, November 18, 2022 1:00 pm French sold out

“From Three Sisters to The Sisters-in-Law ”

This performance is presented under the reserve of a minimum number of registrations. 

It’s fall, but the weather is still nice. A table has been set outside. The turkey is roasting in the oven. Everything is all set for a family dinner—except that the playwright wants to rework his play. He wants to comment on it and rewrite it in real time, as a group of actress siblings, their author brother and a critic engage in a verbal sparring match. 

Some of you have seen all of Michel Tremblay’s plays. You’ve been moved by them because they speak to you of a Quebec you know. Some of you have seen (or sung along with) Les belles-sœurs, you’ve read Chroniques du Plateau-Mont-Royal. Some of you know Michel Tremblay by name only. You’ve probably come across several of his characters without knowing it. 

In Cher Tchekhov (“Dear Chekhov”), Tremblay (re)examines an old script that was left unfinished. A tribute to the author of The Cherry Orchard and The Seagull, which prompts him to slow down his dialogue and introduce “secondary characters who don’t have much to do, but who are interesting all the same,” in the playwright’s own words. 

Will the play stand up in performance? The question obsesses him. Or rather obsesses Jean-Marc, the narrator and Tremblay’s alter ego. Tremblay is also present to some extent in Benoît, the author brother. The one who settles his accounts with an utterly detestable young critic, the current flame of Benoît’s sister, the Great Actress. The one who’s given her career a boost by working with a trendy millennial director, trashing Chekhov and her mother’s memory in the process.

Yes, Michel Tremblay is in total control of his art. Yes, Serge Denoncourt has assembled a brilliant cast to stage this “mirror held up to theatre”, this “Chekhovian reflection of what we are.” You already want to see it, don’t you? 

  • Adults

    One free adult chaperone ticket for every 15 student admissions purchased. Special Needs Assistants are admitted free of charge. Any additional chaperones are allowed at the discretion of the National Arts Centre and are charged $15 (HST included). 

  • Payment deadlines

    Full payment is required by the payment deadline (5 weeks before the performance). The NAC reserves the right to cancel any orders submitted but not paid for by the payment deadline.  

  • Seating

    There are no reserved seats for NAC student matinee performances. Instead of tickets you will receive a letter of admission and groups will be seated on a first-come, first-served basis at the performance.  The letter of admission will be issued upon receipt of full payment. 

If you have any questions, please contact us at education@nac-cna.ca

  • Written by Michel Tremblay
  • Directed by Serge Denoncourt
  • With Mikhail  Ahooja, Anne-Marie  Cadieux, Henri  Chassé, Maude  Guérin, Patrick  Hivon, Gilles  Renaud, Isabelle  Vincent + 1  other  performer
  • Assistant director Marie-Christine Martel
  • Sets Guillaume Lord
  • Lighting Martin Labrecque
  • Original music Laurier Rajotte
  • Costumes Sylvain Genois
  • Makeup Amélie Bruneau-Longpré
  • Props Julie Measroch
  • Stage manager Andrée-Anne Garneau
  • Produced by Théâtre du Nouveau Monde

Join our email list to stay up-to-date on our Schools and Home Learning programming

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. The Music Alive Program is made possible thanks to the leadership support of National Partner, The Azrieli Foundation, and Major Supporters, The Slaight Family Foundation and TD Bank Group. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Cher Tchekhov

Le tout dernier Michel Tremblay

Cher Tchekhov © Illustration Pony
Cher Tchekhov © Jean-François Gratton
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
  • Événement en personne

  • Français
  • 14 ans et plus

  • Durée 1 heure  et  45 minutes.
Performances Heure de début Langue Disponibilité
vendredi 18 novembre 2022 13 h 00 Français Épuisé

“Des Trois sœurs aux Belles-sœurs”

Ce spectacle est présenté sous réserve d'un nombre minimal d'inscriptions.

C’est l’automne, mais il fait doux. Une table a été dressée dehors. La dinde rôtit au four. Tout est prêt pour un souper de famille. Sauf que le dramaturge veut retravailler sa pièce. La commenter et la réécrire en direct, pendant qu’une fratrie d’actrices, leur frère auteur et un critique se donnent la réplique. 

Toi qui as vu toutes les pièces de Michel Tremblay. Qui as été ému·e parce qu’elles te parlaient d’un Québec que tu connais. Toi qui as vu Les belles-sœurs ou chanté avec elles, qui as lu les Chroniques du Plateau-Mont-Royal. Toi qui ne connais Michel Tremblay que de nom. Tu as sûrement croisé sans le savoir plusieurs de ses personnages. 

Dans Cher Tchekhov, Tremblay se (re)penche sur un vieux manuscrit laissé en plan. Un hommage à l’auteur de La cerisaie et de La mouette, qui l’incite à ralentir ses dialogues et à introduire « des personnages secondaires qui n’ont pas grand-chose à faire, mais qui sont tout de même intéressants », dixit l’auteur.

Est-ce que la pièce sera jouable? La question l’obsède. Ou plutôt obsède Jean-Marc, le narrateur et alter ego de Tremblay. Tremblay qu’on retrouve aussi un peu dans Benoît, le personnage du frère auteur. Celui qui règle ses comptes avec un jeune critique parfaitement détestable, la flamme du moment de sa sœur, la Grande Actrice. Celle qui s’est offert un lifting théâtral avec un metteur en scène millénial à la mode en écorchant Tchekhov et la mémoire de sa mère au passage. 

Oui, Michel Tremblay est en totale maîtrise de son art. Oui, Serge Denoncourt s’entoure d’une distribution éclatante pour monter ce « miroir sur le théâtre », « miroir tchekhovien de ce que nous sommes ». Tu as déjà envie d’y être, n’est-ce pas? 

  • Accompagnateurs

    Billet gratuit pour un adulte accompagnateur par tranche de 15 entrées achetées pour les élèves. Admission gratuite pour les accompagnateurs d’élèves ayant des besoins particuliers. Des accompagnateurs supplémentaires pourront être admis à la discrétion du CNA au prix de 15 $ (TVH incluse).

  • Date limite de paiement

    Le paiement complet doit être effectué avant la date limite (5 semaines avant le concert). Le CNA se réserve le droit d’annuler toute commande qui n’aura pas été réglée à la date limite de paiement.

  • Places

    Il n’y a pas de places réservées pour ces concerts; au lieu de billets, vous recevrez une lettre d’accès, et les groupes seront placés au fur et à mesure de leur arrivée le jour du concert. Cette lettre vous sera remise dès la réception du paiement complet.

Pour toute question, veuillez nous contacter à education@nac-cna.ca

  • Texte Michel Tremblay
  • Mise en scène Serge Denoncourt
  • Avec Mikhail  Ahooja, Anne-Marie  Cadieux, Henri  Chassé, Maude  Guérin, Patrick  Hivon, Gilles  Renaud, Isabelle  Vincent et un autre comédien
  • Assistance à la mise en scène Marie-Christine Martel
  • Scénographie Guillaume Lord
  • Lumière Martin Labrecque
  • Musique originale Laurier Rajotte
  • Costumes Sylvain Genois
  • Maquillages Amélie Bruneau-Longpré
  • Accessoires Julie Measroch
  • Régie Andrée-Anne Garneau
  • Production Théâtre du Nouveau Monde

Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir les nouvelles de nos programmes pour la classe et la maison

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Le programme Vive la musique est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation Azrieli, partenaire national, ainsi que de la Fondation de la famille Slaight et du Groupe Banque TD, souscripteurs majeurs. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu